No friggin’ way

I guaran-friggin-tee Marylinda Cordova was NOT 20 inches tall when she disappeared. That’s one and a half feet tall, and she was four. I think even infants are bigger than that. Even if it was a mistake and the submitter meant she was two feet tall, that’s still way too small. I found this chart saying the average height for a four-year-old girl is 37 inches — nearly twice what Marylinda’s is said to be.

I believe you have to have a height and weight when you enter a case into NamUs. My theory is that the submitter didn’t know and put in a wild guess.

I’m planning to put Marylinda up tomorrow. I will not include a height or weight. (The weight sounds more reasonable, only five pounds less than the average, so it will go in.) I’m hoping by this blog post to prevent people from emailing me saying I forgot to put those stats in.

4 thoughts on “No friggin’ way

  1. Kat July 2, 2013 / 8:30 pm

    Must be a typo. There was a man you posted months ago and I left a flip comment about how he was listed as 60, but I didn’t think so…looked more like 30/40.

  2. forthelost July 2, 2013 / 9:13 pm

    You have to leave a height and weight. If I don’t know it I try to estimate what might make sense for the person’s age, but some people might not bother. (I always make a note if the height, weight, or DOB is approximate.)

  3. Princess Shantae July 3, 2013 / 7:58 am

    The worst is when they have a height range that is like “between five feet and six feet.” That tells you nothing at all other than the person wasn’t a dwarf or a giant.

    • Meaghan July 3, 2013 / 9:06 am

      The Florida Department of Law Enforcement also has a mandatory height thing. I think their default is 5’0, 100 pounds. It’s kind of silly when you see, say, a four-year-old listed as 5’0 and 100 pounds on FDLE.

Leave a comment