A list of kidnapping memoirs

For your edification, here’s a list of all the memoirs I can find that were written by victims of kidnapping. A lot of them are “by [kidnap victim] with [ghostwriter]” but I decided that counted. I also decided to include books by people whose kidnappings wouldn’t have wound up on Charley — like victims of terrorists.

The Birthday Party: A Memoir of Survival by Stanley M. Alpert
Buried Memories: Katie Beers’ Story by Katie Beers
Anatomy of a Kidnapping: A Doctor’s Story by Steven L. Berk
Even Silence Has an End: My Six Years of Captivity in the Colombian Jungle by Ingrid Betancourt
Price of Life by Nigel Brennan
I Choose to Live by Sabine Dardenne
A Stolen Life: A Memoir by Jaycee Dugard
Memoir of a Milk Carton Kid by Tanya Nicole Kach
Kidnapped: A Diary of My 373 Days in Captivity by Leszli Kalli
3,096 Days in Captivity: The True Story of My Abduction, Eight Years of Enslavement, and Escape by Natascha Kampusch
Finding Me: A Decade of Darkness, a Life Reclaimed: A Memoir of the Cleveland Kidnappings by Michelle Knight
Abducted by Charlene Lunnon and Lisa Hoodless
Scarred: A Memoir by George Mohlo
Kidnapped In Yemen: One Woman’s Amazing Escape from Terrorist Captivity by Mary Quin
Shattered: Reclaiming a Life Torn Apart by Violence by Debra Puglisi Sharp
My Story by Elizabeth Smart
Deliver Us From Evil: The True Story of Mexico’s Most Famous Kidnapping by Ernestina Sodi

Of these, I’ve only read Michelle Knight’s and Sabine Dardenne’s books. Someone mailed me a copy of the Jaycee Dugard book yonks ago, but it’s still sitting on my shelf unread because I am a lazy, ungrateful person.

6 thoughts on “A list of kidnapping memoirs

  1. Princess Shantae June 23, 2014 / 9:27 pm

    There’s In teh Lion’s Den” by Terry Anderson who was held prisoner in Lebanon for six years.

  2. vintage81 June 24, 2014 / 8:32 pm

    This is a great list, thanks for putting it together!

    -Brie

  3. Deb Cashion - Australia June 24, 2014 / 10:34 pm

    ” I know my name first name is Stephen” by Stephen Stayner. Not bad read.
    PS reading finding Everett Ruess right now…. it’s ok. Not great but OK.

    • Meaghan June 24, 2014 / 10:37 pm

      Stephen didn’t write that; Mike Echols did.

  4. Grace June 29, 2014 / 10:24 pm

    Huh, I always thought you had read Elizabeth Smarts!

  5. Sara January 31, 2015 / 10:48 pm

    “Every Secret Thing” by/about Patty Hearst – fascinating….

Leave a comment