Raymond Lamar Green and other missing babies

I found this article about Raymond Lamar Green, who’s been missing for nearly thirty years. He was only five days old when he was kidnapped from his mom’s apartment. I’m sure he’s alive and well somewhere but I doubt that’s much consolation to his mother, who was only fifteen years old when she had him. (And he was her second child!) I had found an old Newslibrary article about the case, which spelled his middle name “Lymar.” This new article has a sketch of the abductor. I’m a bit skeptical as to its reliability, as it was only made recently — that is to say, they’re working off memories from 1978. But it’s better than nothing.

While we are speaking of abducted babies, I’ll list them all again. (From memory. I may have missed one or two.) I include babies two and a half or younger, only cases where it looks like the baby was abducted by a stranger and it doesn’t look like the baby is dead or that the parents were involved.

Melissa Suzanne Highsmith, one year and three months, missing from Fort Worth, Texas since 1971. Taken by a babysitter her mom hired.
Joseph Hurtado, one year and nine months, missing from El Paso, Texas since 1974. Disappeared from his front yard while his mom was washing the car.
David Ezell Blockett, two weeks, missing from Newport News, Virginia since 1980. Abducted by a woman claiming to be a social worker. She tricked David’s mom into letting her take David and his older brother, but let the brother go.
Megan Ginevicz, two years and three months, missing from St. Ignatius, Montana since 1980. She disappeared playing in her family’s yard and the cops thought she’d just gotten lost or eaten, but who knows? I saw some web posts by her father where he claimed she’d been kidnapped and he knew who had done it and where she was now. He claimed to know her new name too.
Curtis Mackeever Fair, two years and two months, missing from Nampa, Idaho since 1980. Like Megan, he disappeared playing in his family’s yard in a rural area.
Shannon Patrick Ketron, eight months, missing from Cordell, Oklahoma since 1982. Unusual circumstances: mom says while she was parked on the roadside, a strange man knocked her unconscious and snatched Shannon.
Vinyette Trudy Teague, one year and six months, missing from Chicago, Illinois since 1983. Abducted during a party at her family’s apartment building.
Sean Wayne Evans, two years and five months, missing from Watertown, New York since 1984. The police thought he’d fallen into a nearby river, but there’s no hard evidence either way.
Donel Jacoby Minor, two months, missing from Inglewood, California since 1984. He was abducted by a man who posed as a photographer. He actually took pictures of Donel and left, then came back a few days later saying he had the proofs. He disappeared with Donel while Mom was in the other room.
Marlene Santana, three days, missing from New York City since 1985. Kidnapped at gunpoint just after her mom left the hospital with her.
Christopher Enoch Abeyta, seven months, missing from Colorado Springs, Colorado since 1986. The cops seem to think his parents did it, though there really isn’t much evidence towards any particular theory. He is six weeks younger than me.
Carlina Renae White, three weeks, missing from New York City since 1987. Taken from a hospital, where she was being treated for a high fever.
Vivian Paola Montanez Castellanos, one year and ten months, missing from Cucuta, Colombia since 1988. She was kidnapped for ransom. Her parents paid but Vivian was never returned. One of the kidnappers later said she’d been sold for adoption, possibly to the US, which is why she is on Charley.
Aaron Mitchell Anderson, one year and nine months, missing from Pine City, Minnesota since 1989. The police focused on an accidental drowning theory and never really investigated any other possibilities.
Andre Terrance Bryant, one month, missing from New York City since 1989. His abductors killed his mother to get him.
Shane Anthony Walker, one year and eight months, missing from New York City since 1989.
Christopher Milton Dansby, two years and two months, missing from New York City since 1989. He disappeared from the same park as Shane and was last seen in the company of the same two kids. In spite of this, the police don’t seem to think the cases are related.
Tavish Sutton, one month, missing from Atlanta, Georgia since 1993. Like Carlina he was taken from a hospital, where he was recovering from an operation.
Sabrina Paige Aisenberg, four months, missing from Valrico, Florida since 1997. In spite of all the controversy, I think her parents were completely innocent of involvement in her case.
Allyson Kathleen Dalton, two months, missing from Strasburg, Virginia since 1998. Abducted by whoever killed her mother. For some reason this case has never gotten much press attention.
Kamiyah Mobley, missing from Jacksonville, Florida since 1998. Abducted from the hospital just hours after birth.
Jacqueline Vasquez, three months, missing from Avondale, Arizona since 2001. Abducted from a swap meet while Mom was in the bathroom.
Bryan Dos Santos-Gomes, three weeks, missing from Fort Myers, Florida since 2006. Abducted by a woman who tricked Bryan’s mother into her car by asking for directions.

There’s every chance in the world that all of these children are alive and well today, but there’s also every chance that we will never know.

37 thoughts on “Raymond Lamar Green and other missing babies

  1. Princess Shantae May 10, 2010 / 9:40 pm

    Seems kinda fishy that Megan’s dad is supposed to know exactly who took her and what name she uses now and nobody else seems to. Wishfull thinking?
    I read the Shannon Ketron case and it reminds me of Diane Downs claiming somebody shot her and her kids when she did her herself.
    What are the chances of Carlina and Tavish being alive now if they were sick when they were abducted? Obviously the kidnapper couldn’t really take them to a doctor at least not nearby, for fear of being spotted?

    • forthelost May 10, 2010 / 10:23 pm

      It is policy at all hospitals that admit children that a baby two months of age or younger must be admitted if they have a high fever. Most of the time it’s not anything serious, but if it is the child needs care right away. They were giving her antibiotics but she might have just had a virus. The admit is called a “rule out sepsis.” If she truly didn’t have any bacteria in her system, she’d have gone home in a day or two.

      • gena April 24, 2012 / 9:34 pm

        That is entirely untrue. Hospitals have no such policy.

      • Meaghan April 24, 2012 / 9:38 pm

        Maybe they don’t now, but perhaps they did back in the 80s?

    • Meaghan May 11, 2010 / 1:03 am

      Tavish was recovering from quite minor surgery. I don’t think it would be a problem, unless complications set in.

      Bizarrely, Megan Ginevicz’s dad said her new name was Keri Russell. There is a famous actress by that name who is just two years older than Megan and looks a little like her. I don’t know if he meant that Keri or some other woman with the same name though.

      • NB November 20, 2012 / 12:22 am

        Te actresses eyes are green so it can’t be her.

    • Louis E. January 20, 2011 / 12:42 am

      Carlina has now reunited with her family,it’s all over the news.

  2. forthelost May 10, 2010 / 11:12 pm

    Oh, you forgot Jason Cannon and Wallace Guidroz.

    • Meaghan May 11, 2010 / 1:00 am

      They were a little older than two and a half though, closer to three.

  3. danielle May 11, 2010 / 1:12 am

    I am really hoping these babies were taken by women who really wanted their own baby but couldn’t and are therefore taken care of by the abductor.
    Seems strange that in some of these cases parents may be blamed even when they are innocent. Denial like, “this doesn’t happen in our neighborhood”….”no stranger could have done that..”

    This kind of choice people make never changes…so sad for the truely innocent parents.

  4. Kat May 11, 2010 / 1:51 am

    You always wonder what happens to these poor kids. I look at my son, due to my interest in MP and crime stuff I won’t even leave his window open at night, I’ll turn on the air, his room is across the house from ours,e ven with a monitor. I just invision every one of these kids as my own. So, so terrible. Some of these mentioned were older, if so, then Clark Hortato? I know the spelling is way wrong, can’t remember the name but he was taken out of his house in the middle of the night. Ransom note that was unusual. This case was profiled on like NBC mysteries or somthing. And that whole Megan G. thing is odd. Maybe that poor man just cracked. KR is from Felicity and Waitress.

  5. Jer May 11, 2010 / 4:40 am

    Looking at these cases reminded me of the Lisa Stasi case where a woman and her baby girl went missing in the mid-80’s. In that case, the baby girl was eventually found.

  6. Kat May 11, 2010 / 12:55 pm

    Thank you, Meaghan. I was too lazy to look it up myself. And yes, they did find Tiffany Stasi, I always wonder how that girl is doing. I hope she is ok, in couseling, etc. Wish they could find her mom.

  7. Bill May 11, 2010 / 2:30 pm

    When visiting a family with a newborn addition, it’s delightful to see all the proud relatives fussing over the baby, taking turns holding it and talking praises. It was common to hear someone say something like,
    “I wanna take this baby home with me.” or “I’m gonna steal this baby, watch out!”
    Everyone would smile at statements like this, knowing that person was “just being cute.” I would be afraid to say anything like that now days.

  8. Princess Shantae May 11, 2010 / 3:23 pm

    There was a story about Tiffany Stasi not so long ago, she’s in her 20s now and her name is Heather. She’s not doing too good from what it said. The whole business with her uncle having killed her and basically sold her to his brother’s family and getting in touch with her biological father just ruined her whole life.
    It’s weird when I hear people say well, let’s hope he or she was taken by somebody that wanted a baby so at least they’ll be taken care of. So maybe they will be taken care of better than if it was some pervert that took them, but how good a mother can a person be that thinks nothing of just taking somebody else’s baby and maybe hurting or killing the mother in teh bargain?
    I think Megan Ginevicz’s dad might be a little bit nuts, thinking his kid is Keri Russell, who just happens to be around Megan’s age and looks a little like she might grown up. It reminds me of this story I read over the weekend about this lady who is sort of stalkign David Lee Roth because she thinks him and Kerry Woods who directed Scream are one and the same person and that she was once married to him.

    • forthelost May 11, 2010 / 8:53 pm

      He said that was her name now. He didn’t say it was the actress specifically.

      • Princess Shantae May 12, 2010 / 1:07 am

        Still a pretty big coincidense that he used that same spelling and the ages are so close and they look similar. But mainly it’s fishy he claims to be so sure of who he thinks she is but aparently the case has not been cleared and it doesn’t look like his claims have been checked out. I’d like to think the cops would have at least taken Megan off the missing list if there was any truth to it.

      • Meaghan May 16, 2010 / 12:23 am

        Megan’s father had a link to a website he made about his claims. However, the board post in question was from like 1997 and the website was no longer extant, and I couldn’t find it at archive.org either. I was very disappointed.

  9. Kat May 11, 2010 / 5:01 pm

    Oy. Well, ok then. It’s sad to hear TS or Heather is not doing so well, I imagine that kind of stuff would eff you up. Every time I see that CCF on that case it creeps me out. I think I posted here about that song they play at the beginning a while back. And let’s not forget, Catherine Clampitt and Paula Godfrey are still missing as well. And in regards to MG family, I’d be nuts too. I’d love to see the divorce rate for missing kids. I think it is pretty high.

    • Meaghan May 11, 2010 / 8:14 pm

      Megan’s parents were already divorced when she was taken. I don’t know if anyone has done a study on divorces in missing child cases, but I read somewhere that 75% of modern marriages break up if one of their children dies. My parents must have beat the odds. One of my brothers died over twenty years ago, and they’re still together.

  10. Princess Shantae May 12, 2010 / 4:09 pm

    I came up with a couple more babies that were abducted and later turned back up alive. LeZhan Williams was only a couple months old and two girls shot his mother to death and burnt the house down. He turned up living right in his same neighborhood and nobody realized it even though his case got big media coverage in that area.
    And Crystal Anzalde (spelling?) was a year or so old when her baby sitter took off with her. Turned up several years later in Porto Rico.

  11. orla May 15, 2010 / 7:21 pm

    Meaghan – just wondering why you stated in your review of the Sabrina Aisenberg (sp) case that you didn’t think her parents had anything to do with it ?

    Just curious – parents are the first people I *suspect* when a newborn or small child goes missing from a bedroom in the middle of the night or some other such secure location.

    • Meaghan May 16, 2010 / 12:22 am

      I think her parents were railroaded, and I have yet to see any real evidence that they were involved in her case. All the “evidence” against them was manufactured by the police, and I think a terrible injustice was done in their case. The only worst thing than having your kid get kidnapped is getting blamed for it. I got into a discussion about the Aisenberg case on Websleuths once with some people who kept saying her parents had killed her, and the only thing they could come up with was “we think her parents acted funny after she disappeared.” Which means nothing at all. It’s not as if there is an instruction manual on how to behave in these situations.

      Of course the parents, and everyone close to the child, must come under suspicion. But if there is no evidence to implicate them, why should I assume they must have done something? And I am not one of those who goes around accusing other people on the basis of “feelings” or “hunches” without any facts.

      • orla May 16, 2010 / 10:47 am

        Yeah I think history is littered with people who have been convicted (at least in the court of public opinion) on a “hunch”.

        (Incidentally, does your hink – o – meter ever go off when you are preparing Charley case files ? )

      • Meaghan May 16, 2010 / 7:55 pm

        Oh yes, it does. But I keep it to myself, unless actual evidence comes up to implicate the people I feel hinky about.

  12. Denise Alves January 21, 2011 / 12:48 am

    Meaghan,
    My baby brother, Christopher is listed on your site. He was 7 months old when he was stolen from his crib. You mention “the cops seem to think his parents did it, though there isn’t much evidence toward a partiular theory”. Right after his disappearance the Detectives looked at family…as they should. Unfotunately they formed a myopic view early on and didn’t investigate the suspect the family gave them and to this day believes kidnapped their son. Details can be found on Christopher Abeyta’s facebook page including evidence. The current Detectives working Christopher’s case are working with the family now and I think realize the initial Detectives made some horrific mistakes investigating or should I say not investigating. I layed Christopher in his crib that night and was the first to see my Parents that morning. I slept in the next room over. I know my family was not involved in his kidnapping. I was one of their key witnesses and only interviewed one time for twenty minutes the morning of the disappearance. What kind of investigating is that? We can’t dwell on what wasn’t done, but only what is being done now. And finally steps are being made.

  13. latoya robinson January 21, 2011 / 8:19 pm

    My name is Lilian Davenport and am a victim of child abduction. I just found out that the people who by the way are criminals are not my parents, but don’t know how to go about finding my real family. I was hoping for your help please I am desperate to find my mother and father and two sisters Emily and Abigail my sisters may be being traffiked as well so they may not be aware of my existance but my father should be his name is David Davenport. I don’t know what to do
    please help sincerely,Lilian

    • rachel d June 4, 2012 / 4:37 pm

      where would david davenport be from any idea? what year do u believe you were abducted

    • rachel d June 4, 2012 / 4:47 pm

      i cant find anything on your disapearance for info

  14. Rick Sarallo April 20, 2012 / 5:06 pm

    I was good friends with Heather Robinson/Tiffany Stasi growing up. I’ve known her since she was about 12. I kept in contact with her up until about 2010, and from what I could see and tell, she was moving on with her life and was happy again.
    I’d really like to be able to see her again though, as she was one of my best friends growing up.

  15. melaniecarlos June 19, 2012 / 12:59 pm

    Rick, I work on a program for Discovery ID and was wondering if you could get in touch with me regarding this case. My email is mcarlos@sirensmedia.com. Thank you so much in advance. — Melanie

  16. Ashley macias piper September 5, 2012 / 10:57 pm

    I grew up 8 houses down from heather Robinson and couldn’t believe everything she had to go through! I wish I had a way to contact her, it’s been so long.

  17. Nicole O'Brien August 22, 2015 / 8:20 pm

    I think if everyone is a good friend you would respect her privacy…she will be in touch with who she wants to:) and Im sure she has no desire in discovery ID or any media.

Leave a comment