Suspicious vehicle update

On October 23, I posted a comment on my blog entry for October 22 saying I’d seen a suspicious vehicle parked along the interstate with a stain of something on the back, dripping from the trunk to the ground, that looked a lot like dried blood. It seriously creeped me out and though I knew there was probably an innocent explanation, I called 911 to report it.

Some people have asked me for updates on that. I didn’t expect to hear anything more about it, and in fact I didn’t hear anything, but yesterday I was on the interstate again and passed the same car parked in the same place. The trunk was closed this time around. And the dried whatever-it-was was clearly dark orange, not brownish-red as I’d thought before, and it looked much more like paint than blood.

When I saw the car the first time, the sun was setting and I was going westbound. The back end of the car was facing east, and was thus in shadow. The second time I saw it, it was broad daylight. Given the fading light, I can see why I got the color wrong at first.

So anyway, false alarm. I’m glad! (Though I do wonder why the car has been parked there for so long and hasn’t been towed. Shrug.)

3 thoughts on “Suspicious vehicle update

  1. Margie October 27, 2016 / 5:07 pm

    Better safe than sorry!

    I was at a cemetery a few towns over from where I live taking pictures for Find A Grave. I found a knife between the headstones. It looked like some sort of hunting knife with a long blade and had a male’s name written on it. Because I probably read too much true crime, my mind started racing. What if there had been a murder in this cemetery and the perp lost his knife after his murder? I decided to take it to the local police department but I did not know where it was. I had to stop and ask a man who was working in his yard where the nearest police dept. was because I found a knife in the cemetery and I wanted to turn it in. He probably thought I was strange. He told me I had to go to another town 15 miles away to get to the PD.

    I finally found the PD. (I live in rural Texas and did not have a GPS then.) I expected that I would just hand over the knife and tell them where I found it. No such luck. I had to wait until an officer came in from the field and I had to give him the details. He asked me if I had touched the knife with my bare hands and fortunately I was able to tell him I did not and picked it up with a cloth I had in the car. The town is small and the officer recognized the name on the knife and called the male it belonged to right in front of me and chewed him out. Probably some young punk partying at the cemetery and lost his knife. But you never know!

  2. Tracey Reitterer October 28, 2016 / 11:53 pm

    I’m curious to know why the police left an abandoned vehicle on the interstate for 5 days. I wonder if anyone ever went out to investigate your call after all.

    • Meaghan October 29, 2016 / 8:56 am

      Dunno. It didn’t even have an orange ribbon thing tied on it.

Leave a Reply

