Think before you email, people

Got an email from somebody I don’t know saying she had been a witness at the trial and a lot of stuff I said was “very wrong” and I need to get my facts straight. She was pretty ticked off about it.

She failed to mention which case, however. I’ve got 9,500 of them, approximately. If there was a trial, it’s probably a MWAB case, which narrows it down to 575 cases. *headdesk*

“It would help,” I wrote back, “if you told me which case you’re talking about.”

4 thoughts on “Think before you email, people

  1. Amy October 27, 2016 / 9:27 am

    I don’t get it. If someone is going to berate you about all the things you have wrong, why not 1.) Tell you what case it is (as you stated) 2.) At the very least, give an account of the “correct” facts as they seem to know. 3.) How about something to back it up? Court transcripts, news articles, etc. I know you do research. It’s not like you pull your cases and information out of thin air. Your facts come from somewhere…..so they should have legit references to all the information you have “wrong”……….right? GTFOH with that!

    • Meaghan October 27, 2016 / 9:51 am

      Yeah, totally. I don’t mind being corrected if I’m wrong. In fact I prefer it, because I want the info on my site to be as accurate as possible. But as you pointed out, what this person is saying thus far makes it impossible for me to correct anything.

      This isn’t the same sort of situation, but a month or so ago I got a pretty snotty message from someone (not a relative or friend of the MP, just an interested party) about a “mistake” I made on a certain casefile. The reason I’m putting mistake in quotes is because it wasn’t one, exactly. The person was complaining because I’d written that the MP was wearing “brown boots.” Now, my statement was accurate. The boots were brown. But it turned out that they were actually two different shades of brown. They were mid-calf boots and foot part of the boots were medium-dark brown, but from the ankle to the top they were a lighter shade of brown. So my description wasn’t so much incorrect as incomplete.

      She supplied me with a photo of the boots, which I was grateful for and added to the MP’s casefile. But what really raised my hackles was her lecturing me, saying something like “I know you’re trying to help, but before you write about a missing person it’s very important to make sure you have all the true facts.”

      I gritted my teeth, reading that, and for the first time since I started running the Charley Project I felt tempted to play the “do-you-know-who-I-am” card. I mean, did she honestly think I didn’t care whether the information I posted was accurate?

    • Meaghan October 27, 2016 / 10:26 am

      Okay, she just wrote back telling me which one it was. I thanked her for bringing it to my attention and asked if she could help me further by telling me the errors I need to fix.

    • Meaghan October 28, 2016 / 1:43 pm

      She wrote again, apologizing for her rudeness and saying “I shouldn’t have told you how to do your job.” Wonders never cease! I always say you can catch more flies with honey than vinegar, which is why I try to respond politely to anyone who writes me.

Leave a Reply

