Well, I’m up anyway

Yeah, still feeling horrible. The night before last, after I completed the previous entry, I was sick many times. I finally fell asleep around five a.m. and woke up in the early afternoon to the feeling of a large fluffy cat named Carmen lying on my back making biscuits and purring. I’m just going to say she knew I was sick and felt sorry for me, and not that she was trying to wake me up because I hadn’t fed them at ten a.m. like I usually do.

Carmen had mostly been ignoring me all week but Aria has been very snuggly, lying on top of me purring and licking my hands. I took this picture of her the other night.

aria10-2016

I stayed in bed all day yesterday, except to go to the bathroom and feed the cats, but I didn’t get sick again. Today I decided to get up, on the idea that I’m on the mend and the main reason I feel horrible now is that I’ve been lying in bed since Tuesday drinking almost nothing and eating even less and not showering or anything. Wednesday Michael made me a cup of chicken noodle soup, but I could only have like five spoonfuls and couldn’t keep it down. Last night he came home with Saltines for me and I had two. That’s the only actual food I’ve had since Monday.

So I’ve taken a shower, which felt good — I had felt really gross and icky — and now I’m sitting at my computer. My back still hurts and frankly the Tylenol 3 is not helping. Maybe if I stay out of bed it will stop hurting. Now that I’m up and not so smelly, Carmen has started meowing at me and rubbing herself against me again. I’m going to try a few more Saltine crackers.

Tuesday morning Dad called me and announced he’d gone out and bought me a car. I can pay him back with the insurance settlement. (I haven’t been able to talk to the insurance company this week due to my illness but I’ve got a bone to pick with them: they offered something like $100 for the inconvenience of me being without a ride for ELEVEN days, and NOTHING for the pain and suffering.) I had wanted to go car shopping with him and seek feedback from friends and stuff, but his selection sounds really nice: a 2006 Cobalt, half the age of my poor Buick. He says it’s orange, meaning it’ll be difficult to lose in a parking lot, LOL.

This afternoon he’ll drive the car over. I’ll have to drive him back to his apartment and then return on my own, a three-hour round trip. So you see why I needed to get my butt out of bed.

But if I keep improving I daresay I’ll be able to resume duties tomorrow. As for Ed’s podcast, it’s coming out next week.

13 thoughts on “Well, I’m up anyway

  1. Marshall Loveday October 22, 2016 / 1:58 pm

    Good choice your father made. The Cobalts are fairly inexpensive to purchase used, but they are also still pretty nice to drive, and reliable as well. A lot smaller than your Buick, thought. And I love that orange color Chevy had in 2006. Assuming it’s a 4-door sedan and not the 2-door hatchback, here’s what it would look like: http://images.gtcarlot.com/pictures/32062665.jpg

      • Marshall Loveday October 23, 2016 / 2:45 pm

        Very nice! By the way, the ‘official’ name for the color, from Chevrolet is ‘Sunburst Orange’. You will also see some other GM vehicles with the same color, like this Chevy HHR: http://images.gtcarlot.com/pictures/31175538.jpg

      • Meaghan October 23, 2016 / 10:11 pm

        When I was a child my dad had a pickup truck just about that exact color. I don’t remember if it was a Chevy.

        By the way I did get your Facebook thing about Ilene Rebecca Scott and I promise I’ll do something about her on my blog on the anniversary. I’ve started digging through newspapers.com about her disappearance and am going to do an update tomorrow. So far I’ve only found a little bit, but it’s worth adding to her casefile.

  2. Kat October 22, 2016 / 7:55 pm

    I cannot remember if this was which of the two Vegas trips my husband and I made (05 was to get married, 04? was to settle his mother’s estate) but one we drove a Cobalt, about that color. It was a great car. Tried to get one later on when we needed a new car but no luck price wise. Good for you. I hope you keep feeling better, ever find out what was going on? I hear you about the kitties, it got cold today here and I laid down for an hour, woke up and all six were on the bed!!!! I hope you keep doing well and the trip is ok.

    • Meaghan October 22, 2016 / 8:08 pm

      Made it back a little bit ago. Trip was fine and I actually got hungry for the first time almost all week and had a quick meal with Dad once we got to his place.

      On the way back though I encountered something that creeped me out quite a bit: parked in the grass on the interstate, an unoccupied car with the trunk popped open a bit and a thick reddish-brownish stain of something that had dripped from the lip of the trunk down to the bottom of the car. Looked a LOT like dried blood. I thought about investigating myself but wound up calling 911 and asking them to have a look at the suspicious vehicle. It was probably nothing but then again maybe not. They promised to send someone out to check.

  3. Doris October 22, 2016 / 8:43 pm

    I hope you are finally on the mend! I drove a cobalt similar to this and it was a great car… get some rest after your 3 hour drive and maybe eat a banana? Best wishes.

    • Meaghan October 22, 2016 / 10:34 pm

      More like an apple. Dad sent me home with a sackful.

  4. diamondlil16 October 23, 2016 / 1:11 am

    Cool car and color, Meaghan the sportser!

    So the medical professionals ruled out gallstones? If not that and it’s muscular, I’d see about them writing an Rx for Flexeril, and see about getting a TENS unit. Now pretty cheap at Wal-Mart and such. I also have one by ChoiceMMed (Electronic Pulse Stimulator). Also try baths with Epsom Salts and try taking 400 mg of magnesium at night. Alternate between heat packs and ice packs. And watch your posture in your chair. Preferably, get your sweetie to give you a nice back massage!

    • Meaghan October 23, 2016 / 3:52 pm

      They X-rayed me lying on my left side in the hospital so I think gallstones were ruled out. Who knows, maybe the back pain and vomiting were actually unrelated. There’s a bug going around and I have a local friend who’s been laid up for days puking his guts out.

      Unfortunately muscle relaxants — even Valium — simply don’t work for me at all. I get a professional massage once a month (as often as I can afford it) but the last one was last week. I’ve been hard at work on the computer for the past five hours or so and my upper back is starting to go now. And I’m nowhere NEAR done with today’s Charley Project stuff, never mind washing the dishes and cleaning the house which has become a tip in my illness.

  5. diamondlil16 October 23, 2016 / 1:17 am

    About that car, ew, glad you called it in. Maybe something like a deer in back, is it deer season yet where you live? And your dad rocks!

    • Meaghan October 23, 2016 / 1:33 am

      I’m not a hunter and don’t pay attention to the hunting seasons around here, but it was a small sedan, didn’t look like the kind of vehicle you’d go hunting in. I hope there was some innocent explanation and I don’t wind up reading about a ghastly murder in the news.

      I had to call 911 on the same interstate a few months back because there was a MATTRESS lying smack across the middle of the road, partially covering both lanes.

  6. Arge October 24, 2016 / 1:09 am

    I hope that you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

