Something happened

You all might recall my nephew, Nick. In 2014 he was diagnosed with a brain tumor that, I heard, was supposed to kill him, except it didn’t. Then this past summer, he was in a car wreck and was ejected from the vehicle. 75% of that time that happens, the person dies. Nick lived. We all started saying that he had nine lives or something.

I’m not close to that branch of the family and rarely see them except on holidays. The last time I saw Nick was at Christmas. I think the only thing I said to him was something like “Wear your seat belt next time.” Which, I suppose, he must have heard a gazillion times before.

Well, my nephew died yesterday, at around one p.m. Alone, at home, and with no warning at all. We’re all stunned. He had never indicated that anything was wrong. He had bought a car, he had a girlfriend. No one knows why this happened and we may never know.

When I heard the news I was on my way to a comedy club with Michael and my father. I’d gotten free tickets for me and seven other people and we were all supposed to meet up at the club. Well, when Dad and I found out what happened we were suddenly not in the mood for comedy. So we went there, I got all my friends inside saying I couldn’t do it because of a family emergency, and then Dad and I left and took Michael’s car back to his house.

None of us knew of anything we could do that would help the situation. Mom (who was the one who told me) said not to call my brother yet. Dad and I wound up watching a TV documentary about jellyfish because we couldn’t think of anything else to do.

I can’t imagine the pain my brother and his wife and their other kids are going through right now.

Nick was 23 years old.

19 thoughts on “Something happened

  1. John smith January 31, 2016 / 1:27 pm

    I’m so sorry for your loss

  2. Shawnee January 31, 2016 / 1:53 pm

    I’m so sorry! Love sent to you!

  3. Crystal January 31, 2016 / 5:43 pm

    I’m so sorry for your loss. The brain trauma he suffered during his accident might have contributed to this. What a terrible thing.

    • Meaghan January 31, 2016 / 8:04 pm

      I’m sure it did. I hope that someday, somehow, his parents and brothers will come to realize this was not their fault.

  4. Catherine January 31, 2016 / 7:13 pm

    I am sorry. I will be thinking of you and your family.

  5. Monica January 31, 2016 / 7:36 pm

    Very sorry for your loss.

  6. Amy Smith February 1, 2016 / 5:08 am

    A friend from high school was in an accident a couple years ago. A few months after the accident she passed away in her sleep. No real explanation either. It was so hard to understand at the time. Seems like this might happen more often than I thought. Thoughts with you and your family.

    • Meaghan February 1, 2016 / 6:41 am

      Nick didn’t die in his sleep. We know how he died, we just don’t really know why.

  7. HennyLee February 1, 2016 / 9:37 am

    Meaghan – My Thoughts and prayers are with you and your family. It’s never easy to lose someone at any age… but when they are young it makes just that much harder. I hope your brother and his family are doing ok.

  8. Alice February 1, 2016 / 3:42 pm

    When I was 17, my brother died. He was also 17. He’d hung himself. I understand the pain and the unbearable agony you’re going through. I only hope that he’s at peace now.

  9. blankname February 1, 2016 / 7:30 pm

    I’m very sorry for your loss. Peace to you and your family.

  10. Lauren February 1, 2016 / 11:37 pm

    How horrible. I am so sorry.

  11. T.T. February 2, 2016 / 12:39 pm

    I am so sorry for your loss, Meaghan. May he rest in peace.

  12. cynthia herzog February 2, 2016 / 1:43 pm

    I am so sorry! It isn’t easy to say or think of comfort words when things like this happen, But be sure he is not suffering so if his time came it was for a good reason. (PS) Still devastated as to what happened to my sister Ada Odell

  13. Kat February 2, 2016 / 10:05 pm

    Condolences to you and your family. This has to be so hard after all he had overcome. So sorry.

  14. Jen February 20, 2016 / 11:08 pm

    Sorry for your loss, losses are never easy but they are especially hard when they are of that sort.

  15. Diana Diehl February 29, 2016 / 1:00 am

    So sorry. Maybe it was time that he was needed somewhere else. He sounds like an amazing person.

    • Meaghan February 29, 2016 / 5:40 pm

      I barely knew him. Although his family lived nearby, they’re very private people and don’t have much to do with the rest of us. Plus I’ve got six nephews and three nieces. I’m not really close to any of them, expect perhaps my sister’s son. He and I grew up together — she was only 19 when he was born and the father wasn’t there much, so she lived with me and my parents until he was seven or so. We were like siblings. I’m only seven years older than him. The oldest of my siblings’ offspring was born when I was four. It comes from being part of a large family (we are seven, and might have been more if Dad hadn’t put his foot down). My niece’s father is 20 years older then me.

      Part of me is glad that I didn’t know Nick so well, because that means his death hurts less. Another part is sad because now I will never have a chance to know him. Although his action has caused us all great pain, I don’t blame him. He was brain-damaged from both the brain tumor and the accident, and my own psychiatrist confirmed that there was not a whole lot that could have been done for him.

      Being the Designated Crazy Person in this family, when it came to suicide everyone, including me, figured I most at risk. The night when I found out it happened I kept saying to my dad, “It was supposed to happen to ME. Not Nick, ME.”

Leave a Reply

