Does anyone recognize this woman?

[EDIT: Mystery solved! And I feel slightly annoyed with myself. See the comments section for deets.]

The other day WTVM did an article about missing people from Columbus, Georgia area. It talks about five people, but there’s an accompanying montage of photographs that shows SIX people. Five of them are the missing people mentioned in the article, but the sixth, a young black or biracial woman with a blonde afro, is not mentioned and I do not recognize her. I checked on NamUs and she doesn’t appear to be on there either; at least no one by that description is listed as missing from Columbus, Georgia.

In case the article goes away, I have the image shown below:

wtvm

It’s the woman in the top middle photo. I wrote to the reporter who wrote the article to ask who she is, but he didn’t get back to me. Does anyone know who she might be?

28 thoughts on “Does anyone recognize this woman?

  1. terromangerro November 13, 2017 / 8:39 pm

    Could it just be a second photo of the woman in the picture to the left of the one you mention? Looks like it could be.

    • Meaghan November 13, 2017 / 8:43 pm

      I don’t think so. Lorrene Reynolds is white for one thing and I’m pretty sure the other one is black or biracial. And it looks like Lorrene has a sharper chin than the other one, whose chin looks square-ish. I’ve seen multiple photos of Lorrene for what it’s worth.

    • terromangerro November 13, 2017 / 8:45 pm

      I know that Lorrene is listed as Caucasian in your entry, and she may have identified as such, but she may have mixed racial heritage and I do think that other picture could be her. Looks roughly the same era, possibly an earlier photo of her from high school, late 70s.

      • terromangerro November 13, 2017 / 8:47 pm

        Also meant to add that the baby fat we have when we are younger and lose in adulthood can make a chin appear sharper. Definitely was the case for me, my senior pictures show Med with quite a rounded baby face but now in middle age (and weighing more than I did in high school), I have an almost pointy chin. I had no idea it was under there! Can you take the question photo and do a reverse Google picture search? I know it’s possible, I just don’t know how.

      • Meaghan November 13, 2017 / 8:54 pm

        That was an excellent idea, but I tried it and got 0 results.

        I wonder if that photo of Lorrene was taken at a beauty pageant. You can’t see it cause it’s cropped out, but she’s wearing a tiara. And in one of the other photos I have of her she’s also wearing a tiara.

      • Meaghan November 13, 2017 / 8:48 pm

        Doesn’t explain away Lorrene’s sharper chin.

        It’s very unprofessional to just stick that photo in there without explaining who it is, even if it is a second photo of Lorrene. I wish the reporter would get back to me.

  2. terromangerro November 13, 2017 / 8:59 pm

    I did manage to take the photo montage you have here and edit it to have just the unknown person in it, and it’s saved to my iPad, but when I try to do a Google image search, it says I need to click on a camera icon to upload the image and I’m not seeing that icon. Maybe you can do it from your pc? It does say to use Chrome or Firefox but I have chrome and tried and can’t find that icon. I’m sure a Charley Irregular with more skills than me will see this and be able to do it no problem.

    • Meaghan November 13, 2017 / 9:01 pm

      I did a Google image search with just the unknown woman’s picture. 0 results.

      • terromangerro November 13, 2017 / 9:04 pm

        Wouldn’t at least the image that you found show up? Hmm. If it’s a yearbook photo (could be), a lot of old yearbook pics have been uploaded online. I’m surprised no results. Weird.

    • terromangerro November 13, 2017 / 9:03 pm

      I saw the tiara photos also. And I noticed she appears to be an adult in them, so those weren’t some basic child pageants, must have been some degree of higher level pageants. They can be serious, and expensive. Not saying the ones for younger kids aren’t, Today they are (ever watched Pageant Moms?) but in the early 80s I’d bet that the kid pageants weren’t nearly as expensive or involved.

      • Meaghan November 13, 2017 / 9:04 pm

        Were there integrated pageants in Georgia in those days do you think?

  3. christie groves November 13, 2017 / 9:05 pm

    It is her and her madden name is Lorrene Baker if you just google her name and say missing person but spell it with an N you will see that is her High School photo here is the link. https://www.google.com/search?q=Lorrene+Reynolds+Nissing+persons+Georgia&safe=active&tbm=isch&source=iu&pf=m&ictx=1&fir=6Pwfcv8JHg4XiM%253A%252C_Nol8hpMOmb4AM%252C_&usg=__EJ4d88NMo-E-jVZltGteP5MRedk%3D&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiYlua5_LzXAhVFy2MKHZdlBYUQ9QEIOzAD#imgrc=6Pwfcv8JHg4XiM:

      • Meaghan November 13, 2017 / 9:14 pm

        Quite so, Christie!

      • christie groves November 13, 2017 / 9:22 pm

        Can someone please help me, I don’t have time, as I am working this awful job right now and I am so far behind on entries for Meaghans persons not listed in NamUs as it is. I see this all the time, DNA on file at the Dept. where the missing person is but they have not got it over to NamUs. Can someone call as this poor Woman has her DNA on file but it’s not in NamUs and we need it there to get her identified and brought home. Sargent Randy Long: 706 225 4260 Columbus Police Department. Case Manager: Pamela Reed 817-666-5432 And Carrie Suntherland over at NamUs, carrie.sutherland@unthsc.edu
        Phone 817-202-5931. I have so many cases in right now for matches I think they stopped talking to me. I found a FBI Profile on the FBI data base where the Woman is said to be white but in NamUs she is Black, I contacted the FBI about and they told me everyone is retired from that case and that it’s on going and when new info happens they will update it, I emailed them back and told them I was certain that the retired officers and detectives working this UP case would want her to be identified as the correct ethnicity and that if she is Black then the FBI really needs to update their Website cause that is new info and she is someones loved one and they are waiting for her to come home.

    • Meaghan November 13, 2017 / 9:23 pm

      Muttergrumble. I understand people’s wish to identify as whatever race they like, if they’re biracial — particularly in the south when Lorrene was growing up — but it’s irresponsible to say in all the missing persons info that she’s biracial if she is actually of mixed race. Who knows if there’s a Jane Doe that hasn’t been considered for Lorrene because the DNA came back showing African-American ancestry and Lorrene’s info says she’s white?

      I’ll have to update her casefile. Much appreciation for your sorting that out for me. All people basically look alike to me and I have a hard time even recognizing people I know sometimes. Until you guys brought it up I never thought they could be the same person.

  4. terromangerro November 13, 2017 / 9:08 pm

    Good question about integrated pageants, I looked up Vanessa Williams to see what state she won out of before her 1984 Miss America win, but wiki doesn’t actually say anything about her state level wins. So she could have been Miss New York? A long ways from Georgia so I’m not sure.

  5. christie groves November 13, 2017 / 9:09 pm

    Sorry I meant Maiden and I emailed you Meaghan her info she is also on a Facebook page her friends from HS are looking for her.
    https://www.facebook.com/donnamchal…760958311776/1224524824268719/?type=3&theater

    This is Lorrene Baker in High School. I would appreciate anyone who knows Lorrene and wants to be Involved in this Missing Persons case to call, Sargent Randy Long: 706 225 4260. Especially if you knew her WELL!!

    • Summertime November 13, 2017 / 9:42 pm

      Saw this after I posted about seeing a Facebook account for Lorrene. It’s been way too long. I hope there is a resolution for you and the rest of her loved ones!

  6. Summertime November 13, 2017 / 9:19 pm

    I think it’s possible that the first two pictures are the same woman. It could have been an attempt to show two very different hairstyles she wore. The first pic is also a light skinned African American female with a very close resemblance, if not the same person, to the woman in the second pic.

    • Summertime November 13, 2017 / 9:24 pm

      Just to add…she may be erroneously listed as Caucasian, or may have identified as such, but she looks like several women in my family that are light skinned African Americans, including myself.

      • Summertime November 13, 2017 / 9:36 pm

        Excuse all the posts, but I just did a search for Lorrene Reynolds and came across a Facebook missing person account for her. Both pics in question are included, so they are the same woman. It actually states that the pic with the afro is from high school. I believe it’s set up by a friend.

      • christie groves November 13, 2017 / 9:52 pm

        It’s so sad it really is, her husband was probably the killer. There are so many of these stories where the car was left at the Airport, romantic of course to think someone flew off but in most of them the husband has or had something to do with it. Bless her friends for looking because if it were family she would have far more data entered.

    • Meaghan November 13, 2017 / 9:31 pm

      I assumed Lorrene had had a perm. I got one when I was about ten. I looked like a French Poodle!

  7. Sonya November 15, 2017 / 9:16 am

    I dunno. Between the two photos it looks like the same person facial features wise. But if she is biracial, how would her skin be that light in the photo on her page?
    http://www.charleyproject.org/cases/r/reynolds_lorrene.html
    I definitely mean no offense to anyone. And I feel really dumb asking this. But can a darker skinned biracial person’s skin lighten as they age? In the photo in the upper right on her charley project page, she looks so much paler than the first photo. I noticed because I’m very pale skinned(almost paper white), and I was thinking the photo in the upper right is almost as pale as I am.

    • Meaghan November 15, 2017 / 11:11 am

      She was a Mary Kay sales rep. I think the lighter skin was makeup.

      • Sonya November 16, 2017 / 10:57 pm

        Ah,okay, that makes sense. 🙂

Leave a Reply

