Update on little girl stolen from Connecticut grave

ABC News says her name was Imani Joiner. She was born with a birth defect where her brain didn’t develop into two hemispheres like it’s supposed to. Wikipedia says some cases are mild, but most babies with this condition die before birth or shortly after. Imani survived two years and was locally kind of famous for that. I’ve read up a bit on a similar condition, anencephaly, where the brain basically doesn’t develop at all. Anencephaly is a rare, tragic and totally unpreventable event; I’m guessing holoprosencephaly is the same.

The cops think someone who had heard about Imani was trying to use her body in a religious ritual. The article doesn’t say outright, but it looks like they found the body and identified it, then realized it was stolen from a grave, rather than the other way around. I hope people who know the truth about this are speaking up, or will soon. I expect they will; this has undoubtedly caused a lot of public outrage.

Speaking of buried and disinterred children, this out of Oklahoma with shades of Adam Herrman: Investigators have no reason to doubt the remains found in Milton-Freewater belong to Oklahoma girl Cheyenne Wolf. She’s the little girl thought to have been killed and her body buried and unearthed nearly a-half-dozen times by her parents Abel and Denise Wolf.

Such stories to open your day with!

4 thoughts on “Update on little girl stolen from Connecticut grave

  1. Cheryl July 9, 2009 / 8:56 pm

    Totally off subject Meaghan but could you answer a question for me?

    In the Update section some of the names list UPDATE after them and some say RESOLVED (self explanitory). The names that are listed that have nothing written after them…what have you done to them….are they new cases?

    • Meaghan July 9, 2009 / 9:24 pm

      Yes, the unadorned names are new cases.

      At the very bottom of each casefile I say when it was added or last updated and what was done in the update. (Unless I haven’t updated the casefile since I started the site, in which case there’s nothing at the bottom.)

  2. Cheryl July 11, 2009 / 8:05 pm

    Laura Leanne Coulter.

    I noticed you updated her on the 8th. I clicked on her missing persons website and it looks like they may have found her today.

  3. Amber July 13, 2009 / 8:47 pm

    It’s tragic. Those poor parents. I imagine the police knew a grave had been robbed because the little girl’s body was embalmed or had autopsy scars. Sometimes I wish I believed in hell just so I could imagine the lunatics responsible would burn for all eternity.

Leave a comment