Read a book about an old missing persons case

So the other night I read Pearl: Lost Girl of White Oak Mountain by Bill Yates, about the 1923 disappearance of three-year-old Pearl Turner from rural Arkansas. In spite of a widespread search and many false leads, she was never found. The book does a pretty good job telling the tale of her disappearance, and the author’s conclusions as to what happened are at the end.

Unfortunately I can’t add Pearl to Charley. I’m not sure I would anyway, given that the case is close to 100 years old and no one is investigating it anymore. (I mean, I did add the quite similar case of Hickle “Dick” Ware, but he disappeared fifteen years after Pearl did and I had a law enforcement agency for the case.) But I can’t because there are no photos of Pearl available. The little girl on the cover of the book isn’t her, only a child who strongly resembled her and was for awhile thought to be her.

I think Pearl just never had any pictures taken of her. She came from a sharecropper’s family and was one of several children. Portraits were probably an unaffordable luxury to them. (Sharecroppers were people who had no land of their own and farmed someone else’s land in exchange for a portion of the crop they produced. They were very poor.)

It’s not too bad a book anyway, especially if you’ve got Kindle Unlimited and can read it free with your subscription.

I haven’t been feeling very well. Right now my bipolar pendulum has got me in a depressive fit, and even knowing it’s just my brain not working right does not make it feel any better. I’m struggling to get much of anything done. Even standard activities of daily living.

7 thoughts on “Read a book about an old missing persons case

  1. Ellen Tallabas August 28, 2022 / 11:29 pm

    I read about Pearl in a missing persons story a while back in the paper. It was well done and so sad. Meaghan I wish I could help that pendulum swing evenly. You deserve to feel well. I will put you on my altar. Today, well tomorrow is the actual date August 29,2010 12 years since Tony disappeared. I call the missing persons dept. every few months and they always tell me how busy they are and really haven’t time for cold cases….. we are forgotten. Think of us today.

  2. lisad61275 August 29, 2022 / 12:21 am

    I suffer from depression too… it’s been rough lately. Big hugs and sending good healing vibes! Lisa

  3. MaryRuth August 29, 2022 / 12:49 am

    Thanks for all you do to help so many. I hope you are feeling some better soon.

  4. Sonya August 29, 2022 / 1:05 am

    Sorry to hear you’re having a rough time with depression. If I could snap my fingers and make you feel better, I definitely would. 🙂

Leave a comment