Making a FreeThink video

So, about that FreeThink documentary short about the Charley Project — I’m so proud of it, here it is again:

I got contacted by FreeThink on April 1. They came over like a week or so later, three guys: one for camera, one for sound, and a director. They spent two days at the house filming, and paid for my lunch. They were really cool people and I liked them.

Getting filmed is exhausting frankly, and I wasn’t even acting. I was just going about my daily business and/or being interviewed about my favorite topic in the world. I have a much greater appreciation for how hard actors and actresses work.

Like, the scene with me pouring Cheerios. They wanted to show my “morning routine.” Well, some allowances had to be made, because my actual morning routine involves me staggering out into the kitchen with bed hair and pajamas and sleep crud in my eyes and of course no makeup, and I was not willing to be filmed thus. So I was fully dressed, with makeup and hair done nicely. Artistic license!

Then when I initially poured the Cheerios into the bowl they were all like “put them back in the box and do it again, we didn’t get that right.” I was like “okay, but you’d better be sure about things before I pour the milk cause that I cannot do over.”

They used a drone to shoot the footage of me walking Kinsey (she was a good sport, all the pets were) and we went to the library on the second day to shoot “B roll” footage there. I think they must have filmed at least three takes of me walking inside and down that huge hallway.

After all the filming was done it took many weeks for them to edit all the footage and pare it down to the required length, and they asked my opinion of the rough cuts and edited it again. I think it turned out wonderfully.

10 thoughts on “Making a FreeThink video

  1. Leslie Ewald July 7, 2019 / 6:51 pm

    That’s so funny they made you pour the Cheerios back into the box. I thought your hair and makeup looked beautiful, but the big takeaway is how natural you are when being interviewed. The finished product is very professional.

  2. Janny July 8, 2019 / 10:59 am

    That was a great video. You looked so natural the whole process. Loved the parts where you were walking alone as it added the feeling of mystery to the video. Great job!! Thank you for sharing and caring.

  3. Catherine July 8, 2019 / 1:16 pm

    This turned out awesome!!!!!

  4. Saltyprior July 8, 2019 / 1:53 pm

    Loved it! Thank you for sharing it.😊

  5. CC Calhoun July 8, 2019 / 3:48 pm

    You looked great and the you really looked and sounded professional. Keep up the good work!

  6. lisabwatson July 8, 2019 / 4:55 pm

    I thought it was fabulous! You sounded completely natural, well-informed and you looked lovely. It was very well done and I hope it brings loads of publicity to missing people.

  7. Patrick Kerrigan July 8, 2019 / 8:36 pm

    Many years ago, I was used for a training video, while working as a Building Protection Officer at the then Standard Oil of Indiana corporate headquarters in downtown Chicago. This was a 84 story office building. A great view from the roof.

    They were filming me making rounds, and in one situation I was to walk up and lock a set of doors. I did it once and the lighting was off, so it took them several hours to fix the lighting. It was on the midnight shift, so I sat on the floor. So, I understand them wanting you to repeat certain things until they got it right.

    However, the most exciting thing of sorts, was the night, we discovered five sticks of dynamite, in a paper bag stuffed under a bench in the front plaza of the building. I was supposed to be on outside patrol, but one of the officers was running late. The 4-12 shift lead engineer heard on the radio going home about bombs going off at office buildings in New York City. So he called the midnight shift lead engineer.

    He notified our supervisor and he and another officer when outside to start checking. The officer spotted the package, since it was under the bench, that was normally surrounded by other plants. It seemed out of place, so we notified the Chicago Police Department. The bomb squad responded and recovered the dynamite which luckily never exploded. The dynamite had been placed there by the FALN a Puerto Rician terrorist group. We received several visits from the FBI, who were able to get a description of a possible suspect from a computer employee.

    The other crazy thing, was that I spent many nights on outside patrol around the building, due to the dynamite. One night plain clothes Chicago Police officers were sitting in their unmarked police car above the plaza. They talked with me and filled out a Field Contact Card, as proof they had spoken to me at the building where they were supposed to be.

    Well, those officers were from the Intelligence Unit. One of them was my boss as a police officer and detective with the VA Police.

  8. Connor G. July 9, 2019 / 1:22 am

    You truly are an angel sent from heaven. Thank you so much for everything you do. God bless your beautiful soul. You’re an amazing woman!

  9. Richard, the Netherlands July 14, 2019 / 7:27 am

    I only just now watched the video and it’s really a great one…..congratulations. By the way: the guy doing the spoken comments has an excellent voice for that job. Reminds me of the voice from ‘disappeared’.

  10. Aurelie July 23, 2019 / 5:52 am

    You’re doing an amazing job, and you deserve that kind of tribute.

Leave a comment