Another ET entry, and stuff

I had another Executed Today entry posted, this time out of Botswana: Kedisaletse Tsobane, who was hanged on September 19, 2008. He had killed his ten-year-old illegitimate daughter, supposedly to get out of paying child support. But the judges aren’t sure that’s the real reason he did it, because

a) Tsobane had not paid any child support at all since the girl’s birth, and no one seemed to be pressing him particularly hard to start doing so.
b) Even if he was under pressure to start making payments, he was only obligated to pay the equivalent of $4 a month, and I calculated that his total debt was only $480. Tsobane could afford to pay this. Botswana is one of the most prosperous nations in Africa and has a per capita income of nearly $18,000 annually.

So, although Tsobane’s actions were clear enough, and he confessed, the case is still a bit of a head-scratcher.

Anyway.

I did not get picked to serve on the jury. I have not had the world’s greatest week; my bipolar disorder has been kicking my butt and I’ve been having suicidal thoughts and stuff, to the extent that the people at my psychiatric clinic thought it might be best if I went to spend some time with Dad. He can stay with me and keep me safe, he’s a calming influence, and Mom got all the sharp knives in the divorce settlement.

I saw my psychiatrist, Dr. Bruno, yesterday. He’s taken me off that medication that’s making me fat and put me on another drug that doesn’t make you fat, and which might improve my mental state as well. We’ll see.

I returned to Michael that same day. We had missed each other a lot and it was so good to see him. I have been doing some behind-the-scenes Charley Project work today. Updates will resume tomorrow.

7 thoughts on “Another ET entry, and stuff

  1. Christie Groves September 22, 2017 / 11:24 pm

    Meaghan so sorry to hear this, I have suicidal thoughts and depression, it’s terrible! Mind is very bad daily, hourly and has been since I was a very small child. Both my Fathers Uncle and Grandfather killed themselves from the same affliction as well as alcoholism, I feel bad but my Dad has to come over to my house and get me out sometimes as it’s just not enough for me, my pets and I don’t really tell my friends. I have a hell of a time of it too. Glad to hear neither of us are alone and well, neither are out Fathers. Sometimes my Dad just makes me go get a meal with him and that can make all the difference for at least that short time. Feel better, you can always call me or email me id you need to!

  2. Christie Groves September 22, 2017 / 11:27 pm

    P.S. I feel Fat too, I gained like ten pounds or something over the last year from some meds as well, and the depression at my age 46 it’s no fun and I box to keep my mind from complete breakdown so the extra weight is not cool, plus- when I walk now my butt bounces up and down and is jiggly, which is even more depressing than the depression.

    • Meaghan September 22, 2017 / 11:28 pm

      I’ve gained 30 pounds in the last nine months. ☹️

  3. lisabwatson September 23, 2017 / 8:40 am

    Meaghan, we need you, all of us Charley fans, and all of the missing people you make us aware of. I’ve been on the depression cycle myself, it’s awful, you feel hopeless and I greatly admire your awareness of it and reaching out.

    Many, many people here think so much of you and what you do. It’s important and meaningful and so are you for doing it.

    Sending you many hugs and a shoulder whenever you need one to lean on.

    xo

    • Christie Groves September 23, 2017 / 12:38 pm

      LisaBWatson, you nailed it, she is awesome and has provided us a great tool to help find the missing and unidentified. xo

  4. Sonya September 23, 2017 / 4:01 pm

    Sorry you’ve been having a rough week, Meaghan. Have some well wishes from an internet stranger. 🙂

  5. laurenthian September 24, 2017 / 11:38 pm

    I hate that you are having a rough time. You are awesome! The fact that you maintain the Charley Project while grappling with your mental health amazes and inspires me. Your work on behalf of the missing has helped countless people.

    Thank you for existing and please continue to do so.

Leave a Reply

