Not sure what to do with this one

CDOJ has got a case in their database that puzzles me: one “Anuradha Fnu“, missing from Fremont, California on March 24, 2015.

The thing is, I’m quite sure that’s not her name. The letters “FNU” are used on official documents in this country to stand for “Family Name Unknown.”

I Googled “Anuradha” and that seems to be a common first name in India. That makes sense for this woman; CDOJ says she’s Indian.

I tried Googling “Fnu India” in hopes of discovering that “Fnu” was also a real Indian name, but nope. Instead I found this page written by this poor sap who moved from India to the U.S. only to have his surname mistakenly listed as Fnu on all his documents. (His real surname was listed as part of his first name.) He wrote his story to tell other people in the same situation how to correct the mistake.

I don’t know whether I should just put this woman up on Charley as “Anuradha Fnu” or whether I should just list her as “Anuradha” and explain that her last name isn’t available.

Thoughts, anyone?

9 thoughts on “Not sure what to do with this one

  1. whereaboutsstillunknown August 26, 2017 / 2:40 pm

    I just did a Google search of the first name and Fremont. It brought up about 10 of them, all with different surnames. If you have an address or age I might be able to eliminate some of them.

    There is also one that just comes up as Anuradha A.

    When I was typing the name into Google, Anuradha Suresh came up in the drop down before I was done typing which indicates that others have been searching that name.

    I don’t know if any of that is helpful but wanted to post it just in case.

    • Meaghan August 26, 2017 / 2:41 pm

      She was born on August 30, 1989. Will be 28 in a few days. Got no address for her.

      • whereaboutsstillunknown August 26, 2017 / 3:06 pm

        Hmm, a lot of the ones in public records either have no age listed at all or are much older. The younger ones I found have Facebook pages but have posted more recently than the missing date.

        In the process I did find a couple articles from last month about Sheri Muhleman, in case you haven’t seen them yet.

      • Meaghan August 26, 2017 / 3:06 pm

        I don’t think I have.

  2. Alana August 26, 2017 / 4:52 pm

    I say you just go with her first name and mention that there is no clarification about her family name, until the CDOJ and the government gets that information.

  3. Leslie Ewald August 26, 2017 / 8:44 pm

    I agree with Alana. That sounds reasonable.

  4. JK August 27, 2017 / 2:12 am

    I thought fnu was first name unknown? Could Anuraduh be her last name?

    • Meaghan August 27, 2017 / 2:13 am

      I thought it meant First Name Unknown too, but the Indian guy whose story I linked to says that’s a common misconception and it really means Family Name Unknown.

  5. JESMess August 28, 2017 / 2:53 pm

    Could she be Indonesian? According to Wikipedia on common Asian surnames, most Indonesians do not use surnames.

Leave a Reply

