Congratulations to my friend Dan S. for solving a cold case

Dan S., a Florida journalist and Friend Of My Youth, found Juanita Bardin the other day. If the link to her casefile is broken (I’m planning on taking it down later today), Juanita disappeared from Vidor, Texas on May 17, 1993, at the age of 49.

Dan simply entered Juanita’s name into Google and poof, found her: a person with the same name and date of birth died in King County, Washington in 2012 and was buried in a common grave for the indigent.

He asked me to call it in for him, so I did. Confirmation came yesterday afternoon: it’s her. I talked to the Vidor police chief and he said he’d verified it by the tattoos.

Juanita has no family to grieve the loss/celebrate the finding. The closest relative the police chief could find was her ex-husband. She had one child, the daughter mentioned in the casefile, but her daughter died years ago — before Juanita did, and apparently without issue — so there’s no one left.

But at least she wasn’t murdered by Tommy Lynn Sells or anyone else, and at least the cops can stop looking for her.

Go Dan! *claps*

5 thoughts on “Congratulations to my friend Dan S. for solving a cold case

  1. Christie M Groves August 25, 2017 / 12:14 pm

    Meaghan: Can you find where she was buried, I live in King County I can go visit her grave and plant a nice year round plant for her there, maybe a few and clean her head stone.

  2. Christie M Groves August 25, 2017 / 12:22 pm

    OMG, I go there all the time to look at the flowers it’s literally ten mins away from me by the Airport, I will go and take pictures this weekend. I will ask for help finding it from Staff.

  3. marsyao August 25, 2017 / 1:02 pm

    She left her daughter’s home and never contact her in almost 20 years, I wonder whether there was something happened between them, her daughter did mention she did not want to stay with her family

  4. Jacqueline August 25, 2017 / 3:32 pm

    That’s very impressive. Congrats, Dan S.! You did a great job locating Juanita.

Leave a Reply

