A question

I was on Newspapers.com and ran the name of a person who disappeared in the early seventies. I knew she wore dentures, although she was only in her thirties. I just found out why: when she was in her twenties she was in a car accident and knocked out several of her teeth. I found an article about the accident; she was cited for driving without a license and failure to maintain a safe distance.

My question: does it make a difference how a person lost their teeth? Would they be able to tell by looking at a jawbone whether teeth merely fell out, or were pulled out, or outright knocked out? Cause if they can tell if teeth were knocked out, it’s worth mentioning that accident on her casefile.

Does anyone know? Thanks!

5 thoughts on “A question

  1. Sheila August 23, 2017 / 3:29 pm

    I would definitely think it makes a difference in skeletal remains.

  2. Mirada August 23, 2017 / 6:37 pm

    Depends on how you lost your teeth prior to dying. Extractions can create vertical marks in the jawbone, while teeth being knocked out woud leave horizontal marks. But after about six months, the mandibe or maxilla has started to be reabsorbed into the body and there woud be no evidence of any kind remaining.

    • Meaghan August 23, 2017 / 10:53 pm

      Thanks! I had actually read about the jawbones receding when teeth are lost but had forgotten about it.

  3. Christie Groves August 24, 2017 / 1:27 am

    I think I would mention it, I only say this because as a researcher trying to match Unidentified Human Remains to Missing Persons, I’d find this information valuable, knowing this may give someone the idea she, couldn’t afford dental care and lost her teeth do to poor hygiene, was transient at one point, did drugs, etc., that doesn’t mean I would make that assumption but it’s what you see in our line of work more often than not. Also, it’s been stated in Unidentified Human Remains, that “the Victim didn’t have any teeth, we are not sure if they wore dentures or animals carried them away” so for me, yes very helpful.

  4. Christie Groves August 24, 2017 / 1:37 am

    Dang I just thought should I ever be Mushroom hunting and find Dentures I better dig around for remains. Come to think of it, should I ever find Dentures I will just turn them in to the Police. May seem nuts but better safe than sorry.

Leave a Reply

