Yeah, so I’m going to a funeral

I'm feeling quite a bit better compared to last week and just in time too: on Monday my dearly beloved favorite author and mentor Robert Cormier's widow, Connie, passed away at the age of 90. I never got to go to his funeral so I am going to go to hers, to honor them both.

I met Connie in 2008 (only a month or so before I started this blog actually) and she invited me to their house and gave me a tour and showed me his office, which she'd kept pretty much how he'd left it since his death eight years earlier. Of course her husband had told her about me. We sat on her couch and talked for a few hours. She gave me homemade brownies; I gave her a potted plant. She was very kind to me and later told her daughter she'd enjoyed meeting me.

The viewing is Thursday afternoon/evening and the funeral is Friday. I hope to attend both. I will be leaving tomorrow to drive out to Massachusetts. There was a friend I thought I could stay with but that fell through so I've put my name in for an Airbnb reservation, a private bedroom in a house owned by a couple who sound like lovely people and have high ratings.

9 thoughts on “Yeah, so I’m going to a funeral

  1. Kat August 16, 2017 / 4:14 pm

    So sorry for your loss. There are people I would have loved to have met and never will, so at least you have that.

  2. J. Leon August 16, 2017 / 6:55 pm

    Please accept my condolences as well.

    And I’m sorry to have to deliver more bad news: They found Kara Kopetsky.

    http://www.kansascity.com/news/local/crime/article167627987.html#storylink=latest_side

    Not so bad news: The piece of dung who did her (and another girl last year who wasn’t missing long enough to make your site) is already behind bars. Hope their.parents hold out for nothing short of life without once plea negotiations start.

    • marsyao August 16, 2017 / 7:23 pm

      Does the state of Missouri not have the death penalty?

  3. Kat August 16, 2017 / 7:37 pm

    I think everyone was certain it was her after they IDed Jessica Runions, but it is good to have it totally confirmed that she is off the missing list. Thoughts to her loved ones.

  4. Perl August 17, 2017 / 12:00 am

    Oh! I remember you talking about him in the past. What a wonderful gesture to attend her memorial. Have a safe trip!

  5. Brian F Lockett August 19, 2017 / 11:34 pm

    Aren’t you somewhere in the midwest? That’s gonna be one HELL of a drive. Be careful and watch out for all of the crazies (other drivers, hitchhikers or whoever) that seem to populate all of our Intertstates these days. And try to stay awake through the flat, straight boringness you’ll encounter if you take an Interstate through IL or IN.

    • Meaghan August 19, 2017 / 11:52 pm

      I got back in the wee hours this morning. It was indeed a hell of a drive. But I’m glad I went; the Cormier family was delighted to see me and I got to honor them.

Leave a Reply

