Two TV producers in two days

Yesterday a TV producer contacted me by email, saying he was looking to start a show about homicide victims’ loved ones “chasing after justice,” and asked if I could refer him to any loved ones. Today another TV producer emailed me asking if he could call, and so I gave him my number, and he called, and told me he wanted to start a show about recent-ish (within the past 10-15 years) unsolved disappearance/murder cases. It would be a form of reality television where the show would bring in an experienced PI to solve them.

These two shows may be one and the same. I’m not sure. In both cases I referred the producers elsewhere.

Anyway, when I was speaking to the producer on the phone today and he was making his pitch he said something like, “We aren’t talking about victims who were involved with drugs or prostitution or anything like that, we’re not doing those people.”

I bit back an inclination to snap at him. He is, after all, just the messenger.

But still…sigh.

11 thoughts on “Two TV producers in two days

  1. Kat August 15, 2017 / 9:44 pm

    Good to know nothing ever changes………….those ppl, indeed. Look, I won’t say that I don’t judge, but for heaven’s sake, let’s attempt to be human. From everything I see, there’s a lot of opioid abuse going on right now, that is going to lead to more MPs. I am terrified for my kids, but you can bet your behind I’ll do everything I can to solve cases for other families, even if it is something as simple as reading cases and passing others on to the Charley Project.

    • Meaghan August 15, 2017 / 11:47 pm

      When I think of heroin and oxy addicts I get a bit of a sense of “there but for the grace of god go I.” Think of the Great Headache Crisis when my doctor didn’t know what else to do but keep throwing opiates at me.

      I was developing a tolerance as fast as he could throw them too. To quote Guns n’Roses, “I used to do a little / But the little wouldn’t do it / So the little got more and more.” That’s just how people become addicted and it’s amazing it didn’t happen to me.

      My dad’s fiancée is a former addict as well, clean for thirty-ish years now.

  2. Christie Groves August 15, 2017 / 9:52 pm

    Jesus, what a D!CK!!! Refer him to me Meaghan I will do the freaking show, I have cases for him up the ying yang, and he will never know what hit him when I throw in a case like that.

    Here are some of the ones I have researched to the hilt and there are video’s about.

  3. Christie Groves August 15, 2017 / 9:53 pm
  4. Tracey Reitterer August 16, 2017 / 5:18 am

    Meaghan, should you speak to that producer again, please ask him what he meant by, “those people”, and why he feels their cases don’t deserve as much coverage as others. His attitude reminds me of all the groups of prostitute murders around the country by serial killers. More often than not, police don’t care about serious investigations into their deaths, simply because they see them as “throw away victims”, or “society’s rejects.” That really pisses me off because every working girl leaves behind mothers, fathers, sons, daughters & friends who love them as well. It’s truly sad what passes as “priorities” in this country’s “criminal justice” system. 😦

    • Meaghan August 16, 2017 / 5:36 am

      I already know what his answer would be: that the show has to attract advertisers to make money, and it needs viewers to attract advertisers, and no one wants to watch a show about the unsolved murders and disappearances of prostitutes and drug addicts. This man isn’t the problem, he’s a symptom.

      • Tracey Reitterer August 16, 2017 / 7:06 am

        In the words of Metallica, “Sad, but True” I’ve had similar things told to me by tv reporters when I ask them to run anniversary pieces on the missing. When I’d call in a couple per month, they’d tell me straight up, “Ma’am, these cases are sad & without endings. Our daily viewers don’t want to see stories like this all the time & if we continued to air them, we would lose viewers, advertisers, sponsors, etc.” While I understand what they’re saying & how it all comes down to $, it makes me angry as hell that we live in a country that prioritizes profit above compassion, empathy, public safety, etc. It’s no wonder families feel like they’re all alone when their loved ones go missing. 😦

  5. Tracey Reitterer August 16, 2017 / 6:32 am

    Meaghan, when the producers touch base with you again, would you please ask if they would consider shows with PI’s working with families on decades old missing person cases? I know every family of the missing feels the agony & loss of their loves ones disappearances, but the older ones get to me the most because they’ve waited the longest. I’ve been a mp advocate since 2005, and Bernadette Caruso, (missing from Balto, MD since Sept 1986) has been my pet case all these years. She had been missing for 18 years when I first met her family, and this September will mark her 31st anniversary. In the 12 years I’ve known them, I’ve contacted over 2 dozen crime & mystery shows and tried everything I can think of to get Bernadette case coverage outside of the Maryland area, to no avail. Her mom, Pat Stevenson, is now in her 80’s & it’s truly heartbreaking to watch her & the family cope year after year with no answers or resolution to her daughter’s case. They believe, without a doubt, Bernadette’s ex-husband is responsible, and even 31 years later, he’s being protected by the, “blue line” of LE, but perhaps skilled outside investigators & tips from the public would be the key to unraveling her case & bringing her home for proper burial.

    • Meaghan August 16, 2017 / 6:33 am

      They probably aren’t going to contact me again. I told them I couldn’t help and referred them to people who could.

      • Tracey Reitterer August 16, 2017 / 7:31 am

        Can you share with me their contact info so I can give them a try? So many families around the country could use their services, but I’m desperate to get Bernadette outside-of-MD coverage before her mom passes on. Despite what tv reporters tell me, I know the public cares about these cases. Not sure if you’ve watched The Keepers on Netflix this summer, but since it aired in May, over 100,000 people from around the world are now playing armchair detectives trying to solve Sister Cathy Cesnik’s 47 year-old murder. Prior to the documentary, no one outside the Baltimore area had ever heard of her case.

  6. whereaboutsstillunknown August 16, 2017 / 9:43 pm

    That is a horrible way of putting it, but I get it. I don’t think it’s necessarily prejudicial though.

    Some of my own pet cases involve prostitution and drug use, and of course I feel that all cases are equally important.

    However, if I were producing such a show (with PI and all), I think those cases would be questionable for me too. But not just those, also runaways and family abductions.

    The reason being, that while risky lifestyles do increase the chance of foul play, there is undoubtedly a significant percentage that are alive and don’t want to be found.

    It’s not unusual at all for people to stay out of contact with their families under these circumstances, just look at the homeless population in any major city. Whenever I see them, I wonder if they might be an MP who isn’t recognizable anymore. I wonder if anyone is looking for them at all.

Leave a Reply

