Sigh, there are things people should know

I read a really long article that was recently published about a nearly twenty-year-old case of a missing child and learned a lot about her case that I hadn’t previously known. Not so much the details of disappearance, mind. There isn’t much: she just vanished into thin air basically, there are no leads and no suspects, and if anyone saw anything they’re not talking.

What I learned was some crucial physical/medical information. Such as the following:

  1. She had a malfunctioning bladder and, at the age of eight, still had to wear Pull-Ups (disposable, absorbent underpants which are normally worn by toddlers in the toilet training stage).
  2. Her kidneys didn’t work right either and she’d had to have surgery on them at least once. (I spoke to a relative on Facebook and she told me more details about this, saying the right kidney was underdeveloped from birth.)
  3. One of her kneecaps was out of place and she had to wear a leg brace as a result. (The relative I spoke to confirmed she was still wearing the leg brace when she disappeared.)
  4. Because of her state of health, the police don’t think she would have survived to adulthood without continuing medical treatment.

But what I want to know is: where was this information before now? The girl is listed on both the NCMEC and NamUsĀ and neither source says doodly squat about any of this. In fact it never came out at all before now, as far as I can determine.

If you ask me, it should have. This is pretty important information. I mean, if they find a body somewhere, an eight-year-old girl wearing Pull-Ups, that would be a huge thing right away. And if they find skeletal remains with no clothes or anything left, there’s that thing with the kneecap.

People need to KNOW these things. They shouldn’t have to wait almost 20 years for this information to come out.

Yeah, so it seems everyone hates the possible new background

Yeah, only 23% of the people liked the new background idea and those that didn’t like it seemed to really hate it. I liked reading the comments — especially the “pug that’s on drugs” one, that made me giggle a little.

What no one seems to realize is my current background image is a row of actual pictures of MPs from the Charley Project, except made black and white and then super pale and then with a cloud filter placed over them. I didn’t want the faces to be recognizable, but it seems I went a bit further than intended and they’re not even recognizable as faces.