I’ve been up all night…

Spent much of the night prying photographs loose from the Newspapers.com archives, for MP cases that have NamUs pages but no pictures. My efforts yielded… three pictures. That’s all. But three pictures means three casefiles for the Charley Project, and perhaps the photos I found will eventually migrate to NamUs, so there you go.

It’s really frustrating when I know a ton of information about a case but I can’t put it on Charley due to lack of a picture. NamUs, for instance, has the case of an HIV-positive infant who was abducted by her babysitter back in the 1980s. Plenty of details, interviews with her parents, name and description of the babysitter (whose identity is known), etc — but I have no photo of the baby. (And without her AZT drugs, that baby is almost certainly dead now.)

There was another case I found where a teenager was washed away in a flood, along with the busload of people of he was sitting in. His was the only body not recovered, and for years afterwards his parents persisted in the hope that he might still be alive. It’s a very sad story and again, there are plenty of details. In fact, Newspapers.com actually had a picture of this kid, but it was of such poor quality that even I, with my utterly abysmal standards, could not accept it. So disappointing!

7 thoughts on “I’ve been up all night…

  1. L.B. May 12, 2017 / 2:14 pm

    A big thank you for uploading a photo of Charles Sanford; I’ve looked into his case for years and it’s the first image I’ve ever seen of him. Would love to see his case profiled on flashback Friday.

  2. Natalie May 12, 2017 / 2:43 pm

    Did they charge the babysitter?

    • Meaghan May 12, 2017 / 8:07 pm

      It doesn’t look like they ever found her.

  3. Brandi May 12, 2017 / 11:35 pm

    What’s the missing baby’s name?

    • Meaghan May 12, 2017 / 11:51 pm

      Nicole Miracle SantaCruz.

  4. terromangerro May 13, 2017 / 3:18 am

    Meaghan! Thank you for my only lol today (and I mean it literally, I did LOL, and it was the only time I did that today). Your use of embedded links is spot on today! From one dry, sarcastic person to another, I totally appreciate your sense of humor, and the fact that you can keep one while dealing with some not-so-funny cases.

    That’s me adding my /s (sarcasm font) in case my humor is so dry and sarcastic as well that it comes across as me just being a jerk. Not that I’m never a real jerk; I just reserve that behavior for bad drivers or random idiots I come across at the store, post office, etc.

    So back to the topic at hand, the sarcastic comment I wanted to share is that your abysmal isn’t too bad IMO, but your utterly sure fits the bill in a bad way. Thanks again for what you do!

  5. Kat May 17, 2017 / 10:09 pm

    I think there are a lot of us on here with the same sense of humor, because we have to. Not speaking for anyone, but after a few decades of researching depravity up close, though not in the capacity of others who comment, you have to have some sort of outlet. There’s no judging here, for sure. And it is not disrespect, either. I think with the internet there is a disconnect. I’m having the worst time posting here, so signing off..

Leave a Reply

