A word about Shannon McCullough

The Charley Project is designed for missing people and is not an appropriate place to put up fugitives, so I really wasn’t sure about whether I should add Shannon Dion McCullough to my site or not. In the end I made a judgement call and decided to do so. I wanted to explain my reasoning.

I’ve got plenty of people listed on my site who had charges pending against them when they went missing. Usually it’s minor charges. McCullough’s charge was pretty major, as you can see in his casefile, and he was facing 15 years or possibly even more if convicted. That made me hesitate about posting him, because I wondered if he was running from the law. If I was facing 15+ years I might be tempted to run.

(For what it’s worth, I saw a post on a web board from one of McCullough’s family members saying he’s really not a bad guy or a violent one and the man he beat half to death was a big bad dude who was in a biker gang and had threatened McCullough with a knife. But moving on…)

However, I ultimately decided to post him for the following reasons:

  1. He’s already listed as a missing person on multiple perfectly reputable databases.
  2. His vehicle was found abandoned — wouldn’t he have taken it with him if was trying to get away?
  3. I couldn’t find any evidence that he had a habit of running, and he’d been in court for a lot of things, including at least one prior felony.

So Shannon McCullough was obviously not a model citizen but he does seem to be genuinely missing.

8 thoughts on “A word about Shannon McCullough

  1. Kat May 3, 2017 / 10:24 pm

    There is more than one person on here with “criminal” or whatever issues, this guy is no worse and better than some on Charley. I think you did the right thing, I mean, he IS missing so…….you’ll get the usual flack and brush it off.

  2. L May 4, 2017 / 12:24 am

    My feeling is – He’s a person…He’s missing…He belongs here.

    • Meaghan May 4, 2017 / 10:20 am

      Well, I’m not putting the likes of Robert Fisher on here, ever. He’s wanted by the FBI for slaughtering his entire family and his name is even, I think, on the 10 most wanted list, but he’s on NamUs for some reason.

      • L May 4, 2017 / 5:01 pm

        Whoa…I had never heard of that name so I had to google him. That’s crazy! No one has seen him in 16 years, he’s violent and sounds like he’s paranoid to boot. Yeah, I agree maybe not adding this guy would be for the best.

  3. Kat May 4, 2017 / 9:40 pm

    THAT dude is a psycho. I kept thinking every time I saw him on AMW that he’d get caught but no luck so far. I would half think he’s dead. He’s not missing, he’s a fugitive of the worst sort. “Allegedly”.

    • L May 5, 2017 / 12:29 am

      I have to agree with you suggested Kat – I’m thinking there’s a good chance he’s dead too. He’s obviously the type that will just “go off” violently, and not one credible sighting in the 16 years he’s been missing? Yeah I’m thinking he must dead.

      • Kat May 5, 2017 / 1:01 pm

        Or very, very good at hiding. But at this point, I’d up it to 75% that he offed himself somewhere.

Leave a Reply

