I shall be internet-less for a few days

I had mentioned having woes with our service provider (which happens to be Frontier — after five solid months of over-billing us, you guys can go jump in a lake). We are switching to another provider (Xfinity, which also has a horrible record, but it’s the only other choice in this town) but it will take a day or two. So it looks like today and Wednesday there shall be no internet access at home. It’s probably been cut off already but as I’m at the library I don’t know. That is all.

9 thoughts on “I shall be internet-less for a few days

  1. Joanne Ouimet April 11, 2017 / 10:45 am

    Ok, do you live here in Rio Vista, CA? Lol. We have Xfinity. The only other provider her is Frontier! Haha

    • Meaghan April 11, 2017 / 12:36 pm

      I swear internet companies are a bit like airlines — there are only a few of them and they provide horrible service, which they can get away with because there are so few choices.

    • L April 11, 2017 / 5:20 pm

      You’re not too far from me. I just got “Unwired” internet and it is the best thing ever! I looked on the map though and their range of service ends right on hwy 12 between Terminous and Rio Vista so maybe soon it will be an option for you too since you are so close to their service area.

  2. Kat April 11, 2017 / 10:58 am

    I’ve never heard of Frontier here in this part of PA/MD, but I have heard of , Xfinity, we could get that if we wanted, people around here have it and I haven’t heard anything bad so…….may you’ll get lucky? Worst I EVER had was Comcast. I’ll go without rather than deal with them again.

  3. MJ April 11, 2017 / 12:48 pm

    Comcast and Xfinity are one in the same in the Scranton area, KAT. I once worked for a semi-local cable company and their service was (and probably still is) horrible. Every time there was a rain storm the internet would go out in one of their main service areas. It was like clockwork. I’ve had Comcast/Xfinity for over 3 years now at least and I haven’t had any problems. They all gouge you in price, but it’s been pretty reliable thus far. The only real pain was when I had to cancel my old service at my old apartment because I was moving in with my girlfriend.

  4. Kat April 11, 2017 / 1:54 pm

    We now get internet thru phone, I forget who it is now, and we have DirecTV, which is great but too much, thinking of Hulu or some such, I personally only watch elimination shows……..like Top Chef, Project Runway, etc. I got mad a weekly procedurals. THey were cancelled or too complicated. So we’ll see, we’re outside Harrisburg, PA.

  5. MJ April 11, 2017 / 2:04 pm

    Ah yes, I think DirecTV uses Verizon as its DSL internet provider. I haven’t ever heard anyone complain about that. I love elimination shows, too. Oh, and the Housewives, but just some, like Atlanta and Beverly Hills where they are extra super crazed. I like the Walking Dead, too. I am not much into sitcoms or continuing story shows but every once in awhile one catches my interest. I haven’t been to Harrisburg in easily 20 years.

  6. Folieadeuxnola April 11, 2017 / 3:22 pm

    I had xfinity for several years, minimal issues if I had one gave them a call and they would knock a few dollars off my bill. They always kept me the customer happy.

  7. Sheri April 12, 2017 / 4:50 pm

    Funny. When you first said you were having problems with billing from your service provider I thought, “It’s probably Frontier”.

Leave a Reply

