Kristina Sandoval’s remains found

Kristina Sandoval disappeared from Greeley, Colorado on October 19, 1995. Her husband, John Sandoval, was later convicted of murder, but his conviction got overturned on appeal (something I hadn’t known).

Well, on the eve of his second trial, John took a plea deal and lead the police to her remains. I must say his method of disposal was very clever. Per the article:

The remains of Kristina “Tina” Tournai Sandoval have been exhumed from where he buried her beneath the concrete vault in a grave in Sunset Memorial Park where a World War II veteran was later interred.

I’ve actually said that if I had a choice, that’s how I would dispose of a body.

John is going to have to serve 25 years in prison, and he’s 52 now, so he’ll be an old man when he gets out, if he lives that long. Prison health care being what it is.

I’m just glad Kristina’s family has her back and at least the bastard admitted to what he did, at last. I’ll remove her casefile later.

7 thoughts on “Kristina Sandoval’s remains found

  1. fluttergirl March 31, 2017 / 8:45 pm

    The article says his sentence was backdated to his original conviction date, in August, 2010. That means he could be out in 18 years. He’s 52 now, so he’ll be around 70 when he’s up for parole. That’s not terribly old. Personally, I hope he dies a slow, horrible death in prison.

    This is the first time I’ve actually heard about someone burying a body under a pre-need grave. She was almost 2 feet under. They usually dig the grave the night before a funeral. How long was he planning her murder?

    • Meaghan March 31, 2017 / 9:14 pm

      The guy whose grave it is, I wonder if his family was notified about this. If I were them I’d be super creeped out.

      • fluttergirl March 31, 2017 / 9:22 pm

        The article says that they authorized an exhumation within 90 minutes of being contacted. The VFW handled a reburial ceremony the next day.

  2. fluttergirl March 31, 2017 / 9:36 pm

    I guess I should read the article thoroughly before commenting. The creep WORKED at the cemetery in 1995. And the police received tips that she might be buried there in 1995 and 2005, but they didn’t attempt any exhumations. There were three graves that were open when Tina disappeared. Do LE usually ask the family for permission for an exhumation before requesting a court order? I imagine this isn’t something that happens often. Honestly, if LE approached me about someone possibly being buried under my dad, I’d happily let them dig. Wondering if someone was buried under my dad would bother me more than an exhumation. Then again, I’m not religious, so maybe there are reasons families wouldn’t want their loved ones disinterred, even if it was for a good reason.

    This is really messing with my head. I spend a lot of time documenting cemeteries. The security around my local cemeteries is minimal (Austin, TX). Digging a shallow grave under an already dug grave doesn’t seem like it would be very difficult. I’ve read the thing about “if you kill someone accidentally, bury them 7 feet deep and then bury a dead animal 3 feet deep.” It makes me wonder how often people have actually done this.

    • Tracey Reitterer April 1, 2017 / 1:32 am

      Flutter, I believe the scumbag who killed Robyn Gardner in Aruba several years ago did the same thing you mentioned. I read a couple articles stating an elderly husband & wife saw someone fitting his description all sweaty & dirty, furiously digging in the dirt in the pet cemetery on the northern part of that island after Robyn went missing. I think he was weazelly enough to bury her under one of those pet graves, thinking authorities would never look there & tracking dogs would never pick up her scent cuz of so many animal carcuses. So far, he’s gotten away with murder cuz Aruban police are lazy as hell.

  3. Tracey Reitterer April 1, 2017 / 1:20 am

    I’m glad Kristina’s family has her body back for proper burial, but if I were them, I’d sue the hell out of CO authorities for prolonging their agony an extra 11 years while they sat on their asses & refused to check out the tip about her grave. Instead, they took the lazy way out, which afforded that POS husband a plea deal to a lesser charge. SICKENING!

  4. Vicky April 1, 2017 / 3:12 am

    Really gave him 10 yrs with 18 to do. Stupid stupid stupid

Leave a Reply

