Going through the FDLE database again

I’m going through the FDLE database (which has a new location btw) again, trying to find pictures for MPs which have none. Some of these MPs aren’t listed ANYWHERE except the FDLE, not even NamUs, and I aim to change that.

As I’ve said before, I’ve gotten pretty creative in finding sources for pictures. Today I’ll be posting at least one case where I got the MP’s pics off his own Facebook profile. There’s no news on this guy, he’s not in any other database — “few details are available” — but I’ve got pictures for him so up he goes.

It actually makes me really happy when I’m able to add a case that isn’t listed on any other major database. It’s providing valuable, even vital exposure for that MP’s case, and other people and databases can then take my information and use it as necessary.

2 thoughts on “Going through the FDLE database again

  1. Kelsie March 25, 2017 / 12:18 pm

    When a person is only listed as missing on one website how do you know they haven’t been found and that site wasn’t just behind in removing their case?

    • Meaghan March 25, 2017 / 9:17 pm

      I suppose I don’t, but there are a LOT of cases that are only on one website, and I’m not willing to refuse to list them on my own just on the off-chance that they’ve been found and the other website is out of date. I would only do that if I discover quite a lot of instances where that particular website is still showing people as missing who were found months or years ago. I would then view that website as unreliable and stop using it unless its info could be backed up by other sources.

Leave a Reply

