Been gone for exactly a year, but I don’t know if she’s officially an MP

This article caught my attention: A year ago, a woman went missing in Juneau. Her family hasn’t given up hope. Basically, a woman from Dillingham, Alaska named Lori Dee Wilson was at an inpatient drug rehab in Juneau, Alaska when she hopped out the window into the ether.

I would normally be looking to add her right about now, but I can’t find her listed as missing either on NamUs or on the Alaska State Troopers page of MP bulletins, and the article gives her father’s phone number to contact with any information, rather than the Juneau police department. Which makes me wonder if she’s officially listed as missing.

The article does say “Juneau police have twice appealed on their social media channels for Lori Dee to contact her family” and that “Police have also chased down leads from people who say they’ve seen Lori Dee” and “Juneau patrol officers are on the lookout” for her. So I’m not sure. The article itself actually describes her disappearance as a “gray area” where law enforcement is concerned.

Although Lori Dee Wilson went missing voluntarily, I think she certainly SHOULD be listed as an MP. For three reasons:

  1. It’s been a year.
  2. She’s a drug addict, which means that by definition, she’s endangered.
  3. MOST OF ALL, she needs a life-sustaining medical procedure and if she doesn’t get it soon she’ll die.

So is she officially an MP or not? Inquiring minds wanna know.

15 thoughts on “Been gone for exactly a year, but I don’t know if she’s officially an MP

  1. diamondlil16 March 25, 2017 / 3:11 am

    I’d list her. It may be the family is unaware of NamUs to enter her case. She now has had two articles in main stream media

    The 2016 article
    http://www.alaskapublic.org/2016/06/20/dillingham-woman-missing-after-leaving-juneau-treatment-center-in-march/

    Poor thing, about that awful injury as a child.
    She may have succumbed to the scarring in her throat or overdosed, but surely LE would be aware of any unidentified female remains if any have been found in the past year.

    • Meaghan March 25, 2017 / 4:04 am

      I should think the scarred esophagus would be a major identifying characteristic.

  2. Julie Konen March 25, 2017 / 9:05 am

    They describe this gray area of missing people with addictions to drugs as if there’s many cases of it. That makes you wonder how many there truly are, as I’m sure they don’t have record of these people that they’re kind of sort of not looking for. The families must be distressed.

    • Meaghan March 25, 2017 / 9:20 am

      I’ve heard them described as “the unreported missing.” Drug addicts, mentally ill people, homeless people, drifters. They account for many of the unidentified dead out there.

    • Meaghan March 25, 2017 / 9:16 pm

      Actually I was just schooling a girl about this on FB. She was going on about how none of these girls got Amber Alerts and how clearly race was a factor in who got an Amber Alert and I produced multiple years of reports showing that more than half the missing kids who got an Amber Alert were racial minorities.

  3. whereaboutsstillunknown March 25, 2017 / 8:45 pm

    Im sure some families don’t report them missing because contact was sporadic and they have no reason to think somethings happened to them.

    I’d guess there are also cases where having the person back would cause some turmoil so they don’t try.

    I’ll bet there will come a time when vital/public records can be matched up by an automated system and will be able to list people who are unaccounted for. (Like people who were born but aren’t listed as deceased and haven’t used their SSN in decades.

    • Mia March 27, 2017 / 4:50 pm

      I agree with you. I know someone with a daughter who has been a severe addict for a long time. When she does drop out of sight, it’s generally because she’s met up with another “contact.” He worries about her constantly, but her being gone also means she’s not coming to his house, causing trouble and upsetting her children.

    • terromangerro March 28, 2017 / 7:49 pm

      There are also definitely instances where a family member attempted to make the report but no jurisdiction would take it and instead send them elsewhere, just to be told to go back to the first department. Especially with a transient, that could happen often. Police departments don’t have to take the report even if they are asked to. What a shame.

      • Meaghan March 28, 2017 / 7:56 pm

        Yeah, I know of a case — I think it’s on Charley, or it was — where a guy lived in one part of Washington and disappeared from another part, and both cities refused to take a report. Finally the guy’s son was able to get the police in IOWA to take a report because the son lived there and I guess he must have begged them or something, but how on earth are the police in Iowa going to be able to effectively investigate a guy who disappeared from Washington?

  4. Kat March 28, 2017 / 9:33 pm

    There are a ton of cases on here where an MP went missing one place and NY, CT, CA, TX, etc. police are investigating. I’ve always wondered about that. I mean, don’t they have enough to do with their own state?

    • Meaghan March 28, 2017 / 10:01 pm

      I’m going to put up such a case tonight. MP, a resident of Texas, went missing from Oklahoma, and the police in his hometown in Texas are investigating.

  5. Kat March 28, 2017 / 11:23 pm

    There are a lot of those! I don’t quite get it, but I’m sure there is a formula I’m missing. BTW, did you see my older comment on the Bryant boy? Just curious.

  6. Michael Cartier March 30, 2017 / 9:17 am

    I’d list her. Websites such as Charley are the only chance some have to be found. I’m really surprised at how many LE agencies are lax when it comes to MPs. I was nearly abducted as a child. If it were myself who was missing, I’d want my face everywhere.

  7. Kat April 3, 2017 / 9:28 pm

    Going through cases, odd, though maybe not with so many missing , that there would be two with esophagus injuries, also Jonathon Tyrone Granson-Bradley, May 5, 2005.

Leave a Reply

