This is a bit peculiar

I just added today’s flotilla of case updates, including one Craig Mason. I couldn’t find any articles or anything for his 2016 disappearance, but I found one for his 2015 disappearance.

Yeah, he went missing for (I think) the first time a little over a year before he went missing in 2016. Something about how he was going to a job interview and doesn’t come back, they find his motorcycle “abandoned,” and then a week later he gets found in the San Bernardino National Forest and says he got lost hiking.

I wish I knew more about both disappearances. I’ve had plenty of people, adults among them, who voluntarily went missing on multiple occasions, but this is a new one. Was this hiking trip planned, for example? And I have NOTHING on the second disappearance other than the date and place. I doubt I’ll ever know.

7 thoughts on “This is a bit peculiar

  1. hennylee March 20, 2017 / 10:54 am

    I wonder if he had an early onset of Dementia? And was getting himself if situations that were then complicated by the issue.

    My brother in law was just diagnosed with dementia in 2015. It took a LOT of testing and doctor visits to figure out what the problem was… once it was finally diagnosed the doctors felt that he was already 3-4 years into it. And while you would think we would have noticed… it was 2014 that my sister (His wife) really started noticing some distinct changes (and started them on the journey to getting the diagnosis) – party because he was a very quiet guy and just had a naturally quiet and to himself personality so it wasn’t really in your face right away – and slowly things started showing through the cracks. Wonder if something similar could have been happening here with Craig?

  2. diamondlil16 March 21, 2017 / 3:17 am

    What a difference a smile makes. He has a great smile! A shame nothing more is known, even medical, if he may have had high or low blood sugar.

    And apparently no info on his vehicle or motorcycle with this last disappearance.

  3. diamondlil16 March 21, 2017 / 3:41 am

    Meaghan, where did you find the March 2016 entry? I downloaded the San Bernardino flyer but it was from 2015. I saw several mentions that he was found safe after that, but nothing with a 2016 entry anywhere of a second disappearance. I even searched his name to see if he was entered into the black and missing website.

    Here’s a Rim of the World mention of his disappearance in 2015 with update
    http://rotwnews.com/2015/02/05/missing-mans-motorcycle-found-in-twin-peaks/

    I wonder if the 2016 piece you found is a misprint.

  4. diamondlil16 March 21, 2017 / 4:59 pm

    Thanks for the link, you are correct. Too bad they didn’t bother using the updated photo that you included.

    Fyi I did call that San Bernardino number to see if it is still an active case, (since I know not all websites update on a regular basis) and omg, I was quizzed like I was a criminal! I said if they didn’t want the public to know, then why put it on a public website, I just wanted to know was this 2016 case still active. The woman said they could not comment on a voluntary MP unless I was law enforcement. She then said Hesperia was handling that and to call them. So that woman said the same thing. Neither would simply answer yes or no if still active, as voluntary was stressed.

    Also got the ‘since they can’t verify who I am, you could be the wife…’

    So, bottom line, that doj link is an active case and both departments were highly suspicious of my asking if it’s active.

    • Meaghan March 21, 2017 / 5:19 pm

      I wonder if the first disappearance was a dry-run for the second.

      • diamondlil16 March 21, 2017 / 7:28 pm

        Ah, interesting theory Meaghan! You may be onto something.

        I did mention your site and that your data base lists over 9000 cases, and that you strive to have accurate info but wanted to clarify if *their* site was up to date. It wouldn’t be fair to another still missing person have an entry delayed for someone else if the doj wasn’t current.
        But how the two dept females acted, made me later think gee, maybe he skipped town due to bill collectors, unpaid child support, who knows. Quite curt they were.

Leave a Reply

