MP of the week: Andrew Brown

This week’s featured missing person is Andrew Lee Brown. I have almost zilch on his case, which is really sad when you consider that he was only 18 months old when he disappeared. It was on July 24, 1987 in Colquitt, Georgia, a small town and county seat of Miller County, in the southwestern part of the state.

I have never been able to find anything about Andrew in news archives. Of course a name like “Andrew Brown” doesn’t exactly help matters. For what it’s worth, the NCMEC classifies his case as a non-family abduction.

If Andrew is still alive, he would be 31 today.

17 thoughts on “MP of the week: Andrew Brown

  1. marsyao February 28, 2017 / 10:06 pm

    I would think a 18 months old would be too little to paly in the yard alone, could soneone in his family do something to him and then make up this story? Did LE question his family members and exclude them as suspects ?

    • Meaghan February 28, 2017 / 10:22 pm

      Colquitt is a very small town; current population is less than 2,000. In those days it might have felt safe enough. Or perhaps there was someone watching him and they got distracted for a moment. I have no idea what the details were, and that’s the problem.

  2. marsyao February 28, 2017 / 11:41 pm

    Yeah, you do have a point, though it makes me even more suspicous, checking google maps, looks like this town was located in the middle of nowhere, what a chance an out of town stranger happened to come to the town at right moment and grap this toddler? If he was taken by someone in the town, in such a small town in whcih everyone must know everyone, how could no one know anything ?

    • aphra75 March 1, 2017 / 5:22 pm

      Yes, it’s definitely a small rural town, but it’s also not very far from the Alabama *and* Florida state lines. It’s only an hour or so from Tallahassee and I-10, a major east-west highway…you really never know. If a person was looking for a kid, and saw this one playing in the front yard, they could be out of the state in half an hour. I’m thinking there’s a good chance somebody took that kid, and he’s been adopted by a family and has no idea who he is.

      Then again, I’m also puzzled by the fact that there’s very little information on his case–where’s his family? Are they looking for him? What’s going on there? I guess we just don’t know.

      • marsyao March 1, 2017 / 7:22 pm

        If a stranger id it, That means that person would have to drive on local highway for more than a hour into a town he had never been to, before he or she had a chance to find a baby playing in the front yard unattended

    • Meaghan March 1, 2017 / 11:26 pm

      Let me tell you a story about something that happened to me when I was approximately three or four years old. I was born and raised in Venedocia, Ohio, a town which never had more than about 250 people living in it at the greatest, and has considerably less now. (It’s basically dying. I see a lot of houses where people used to live, now derelict, with broken windows and stuff. Sad. With gas at this price, no one wants to live a half-hour’s drive from anywhere.) My mom and dad, because of how small Venedocia was and because they were pretty much half-ass parents anyway, let me go anywhere I pleased from a very young age. There’s even a story that I slipped out of the house and went to play in the town park, stark naked, when I was barely old enough to walk, and no one even realized what had happened until a neighbor brought me home.

      I really did not realize anything was wrong at the time because I was, well, a toddler. I didn’t want to go with him because he had yelled at me. It wasn’t until over a decade later Anyway, my story goes like this: I was standing on the corner of Main Street, one block from my house, and there were some purple flowers blooming in a wooden tub in someone’s yard. A man was working in his driveway across the street, but I paid him no attention. I bent down to touch the velvety flower petals and then the man screamed at me, “DON’T TOUCH THAT!”

      I burst into tears at being screamed at by a strange man and immediately he came over and told me “It’s all right, calm down, I didn’t mean to yell at you, I just didn’t want you stealing flowers” and I was sobbing that I was only going to touch them, I wouldn’t steal them, and then he kept repeating that I needed to calm down and he was very sorry he yelled at me and to make up for that, if I would just go into his house he would give me a rose.

      Well, I didn’t want anything to do with him — not because I sensed that there was anything wrong, but because he had just screamed at me and I didn’t want to be around him, I wanted to go home and find my mommy and cry it out. So I told him, “I don’t want to. I want to go home.”

      But he didn’t listen, he kept repeating himself, telling me to come into his house and he would give me a wonderful rose for all to myself. And I kept repeating myself, still crying, still saying I wanted to go home, and he actually took my arm and started dragging me across the street towards his house, and then actually picked me up to carry me, but then I started kicking and screaming pretty much by instinct and he dropped me in a hurry and I bolted. Went running home, crying to my mom that a man had accused me of stealing flowers and had yelled at me.

      It wasn’t until, like, ten or twelve years later that I came to see just how incredibly suspicious the whole incident was.

      All the more so because I have another memory of being at the same street corner, a day or two later, and the man being out in his driveway again and calling across the street to me, “I still have that rose, if you want it.”

      Thank goodness I told him no.

      Sickos live everywhere.

      • Gypsy March 2, 2017 / 8:58 am

        As well, if it was a stramger from out of town, they could know someone in town, happen to be visiting, saw the little one. It could have been a crime of opportunity.
        The child then could have been sold to a family desperate for a child, no one the wiser.

      • marsyao March 2, 2017 / 9:19 am

        Did your parents do something about it ? Living in such a small town. They must know this guy. I was grown up in the 70’s in Shanghai, I could remember when I was a 9 year old, I need to take 2 buses everyday to commute between school and home alone everyday, and when I back home, my parent was still at work, so I would go to the kitchen and cook a pot of rice and then sit down to do my homework, waiting my parent to come home, I do miss these simple days,

      • Meaghan March 2, 2017 / 9:25 am

        My parents knew nothing about it at the time. I’m sure they knew the man and they might have done something about it if they had none, but all I said was a man had accused me of flower theft and yelled at me, not that he’d tried to basically kidnap me into his house.

      • marsyao March 2, 2017 / 11:12 am

        a stranger from out of town who knew someone in town, happen to be visiting ? Well, would that make them less a stranger to the town? But Yes, this kind of crime would always be a crime of opportunity. Since this happened in a small town, so I still believe there is much bigger a chance that the crime was committed by either his family or a local resident.

      • Gypsy March 2, 2017 / 10:48 pm

        They wouldn’t have to be known to town, just the person they were visiting.

      • marsyao March 3, 2017 / 8:41 am

        Then the person they were visiting would know them, hence the connection to this town, in such a small town, unless that local resident was also involved, how could they keep this a secret ?

  3. Celeste Keenan March 1, 2017 / 2:26 am

    Andrew is out there somewhere. Someone knows something.

  4. Kat March 1, 2017 / 1:44 pm

    I’ll OT here so M doesn’t have to post more stuff, small update on Tara Grinstead……..

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-4271644/Investigators-dig-search-Georgia-teacher-s-remains.html#comments

    ON topic, I agree with the above comments………..what are the stranger odds? Maybe it was one of those “accidents” that happen, kid got hurt, etc. After all, the whole town knows who killed Ken Rex McElroy, so how many other cases like that are floating around? I wonder how actively Andrew’s case is being investigated, too. The children are the saddest……….

  5. Orla March 1, 2017 / 4:20 pm

    Andrew’s case reminds me of Dontray Miguel Hunter’s case. Very similar in that an infant essentially was last seen in their own yard and then vanished.

    I will never understand how these types of cases didn’t create some sort of splash in the media.

    It’s only fairly recently within the last year or so that Dontray got an AP done and his case file was fleshed out a little in terms of who saw him last and he has been missing since 1975.

    It would be nice to have a few more details on who exactly was with or watching Andrew on the day in question.

    • Meaghan March 1, 2017 / 5:39 pm

      I think it’s entirely on the cards that Andrew’s disappearance DID get some press attention at the time and I just can’t find it because of the simple fact that his name is Andrew Lee Brown and there must be thousands of people by that name in the country, so articles about THIS Andrew in particular are hard to pick out from the crowd.

      • Orla March 1, 2017 / 5:53 pm

        I wonder.

        Perhaps there are more offline sources given the timeframe we are talking about.

        I wonder if the local paper or library would have more info? Presumably the local police has a file or some such.

        I take your point about the name in Andrew’s case for sure.

Leave a Reply

