Select It Sunday: Leon Moncer

This week’s Select It Sunday case was chosen by Julie W.: it’s her father, Leon Arthur Moncer, who disappeared from Bellaire, Ohio at the age of 21. It was February 18, 1982 — 35 years ago yesterday.

Leon’s case has a number of odd aspects to it — some indications of foul play, but also indications that he may have just left on his own. He has been declared legally dead, but his family still hopes for answers.

(And can I have some more Select It Sunday suggestions? I’m running dry.)

22 thoughts on “Select It Sunday: Leon Moncer

  1. Shari February 19, 2017 / 7:01 pm

    The report states he left behind his cigarettes and then states his cigarettes were in the car. Were they the same brand? Also…not sure a car would idle that long without engine burning up or running out of fuel. My son accidentally left his car tunning at work one day and after 8 hrs the engine was ruined. Possible I guess but makes me wonder.

  2. Celeste Keenan February 19, 2017 / 9:03 pm

    What about Kimberly Alice King who went missing from Warren Michigan?

  3. Joanne Ouimet February 19, 2017 / 9:28 pm

    Can you do a post about Aleah Beckerle? I’ve been following her story since day 1. She was 19 when she was abducted from her bed. Aleah is black, and severely disabled. She cannot feed herself, walk or talk, and has to wear diapers. Whoever took her, did not take her wheelchair or seizure medications.

    Her mother, who had recent surgery, supposedly was asleep on the couch when Aleah was taken, and claims to have not heard anything.

    Many are speculating that her mother knows what’s happened to her.

    • Meaghan February 20, 2017 / 4:36 pm

      Aleah hasn’t been missing long enough to be on Charley. She has to be missing a year and it’s been only six months. I know the basics of her case though.

  4. Catherine February 19, 2017 / 9:44 pm

    I suggest Gary S. Bell.

  5. msmithca858 February 19, 2017 / 11:40 pm

    Have you considered Roger John Ellison or Michael Jefferson Adams to add to your list?

    On Sun, Feb 19, 2017 at 1:37 PM, The Charley Project Blog wrote:

    > Meaghan posted: “This week’s Select It Sunday case was chosen by Julie W.: > it’s her father, Leon Arthur Moncer, who disappeared from Bellaire, Ohio at > the age of 21. It was February 18, 1982 — 35 years ago yesterday. Leon’s > case has a number of odd aspects to it — some” >

  6. Beverly Hills February 20, 2017 / 12:34 am

    I’m shocked that you people are giving attention to a wife-beater such as this. How come the owner hasn’t updated Etan Patz’s casefile? That was supposed to happen on the 15th, it is now the 20th and still nothing. Just another example of how the owner can’t handle the workload. Time to hand the reins off to someone else! I would say “sell” the site, but she doesn’t even technically own it.

    • Meaghan February 20, 2017 / 4:30 am

      Uh, yeah I do own it. The entire thing is my intellectual property. And people have actually offered to buy it.

    • anonmousebites February 20, 2017 / 8:22 am

      So anyone who is less than perfect doesn’t deserve to be found? In that case this site would be empty.

      His daughter wants closure. That’s why she has contacted this site.

      This is a free website, run by one person. It’s not a service you had paid for.

      You know what the outcome of the Etan Patz case it. Does it really matter if Meaghan is late updating it?

    • HennyLee February 20, 2017 / 11:40 am

      Well Michael – I gotta say I am “Shocked” that you stick around when you are clearly not satisfied with the content of this website and/or blog.

      As it has been said to you in multiple other blog comments that you have posted on here with various names… While it has been said you have some valid points – at the end of the day this is Meaghan’s website and blog. AND lets also remember, you also have the right and ability to read and/or participate in the comment section – but you also have the right to move on and never look at the website again. If you feel you can do a better job, Why not start your own?? If you don’t like the way the website and blog are run – why stick around?? Is there really anything to be gained by trolling on here and constantly bashing Meaghan? I mean really??

      • Kat February 20, 2017 / 12:42 pm

        I really wish there was a “like” button on this site. But there isn’t, so I’ll say this, THIS. Times one thousand. Thanks, Hennylee!

      • hennylee February 20, 2017 / 2:56 pm

        Thanks Kat. 😉

      • Jaclyn February 21, 2017 / 1:09 am

        Hennylee, well said!

    • Shonda newell February 20, 2017 / 11:18 pm

      First of all yes he may have beat his wife but he left behind a 2 year old little girl who adored her daddy and he adored her that is why this case is important because my sister in law has not and will not give up til we find answers him beating his wife is irrelevant here!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Anka February 20, 2017 / 4:04 pm

    What made her ex wife think the man who hid in the shadows was him? I’d be scared to death if I were in such a situation. Did the girlfriend experience anything similar, anyone following her around?

    Meaghan, I’m sorry, I’m not sure what the criteria for Select-It Sunday are; would Anna Christian Waters be suitable? Or Robin Graham?

    • Kat February 20, 2017 / 7:54 pm

      Meaghan has had to remind me many a time and I think it goes as such…post 1985 is Select It Sunday, and pre 1985 is Flashback Friday. Though it might be the other way round. But I think I’ve got it right this time…………………….

  8. B February 20, 2017 / 6:50 pm

    I suggest Theresa Butler

  9. Lisa February 21, 2017 / 4:44 pm

    I’d suggest Jailen Rainwalker. (I think I spelled it right). I think it’s fairly obvious what happened to him, but there is nothing concrete at all.

    And bugger off, trolls. Meaghan does a fabulous job.

  10. Kat February 22, 2017 / 4:42 pm

    I’d like to see this man featured at some point, there are always cases I come across but forget to write down, so I just reread this tonight….

    http://charleyproject.org/cases/a/akopov_vyacheslav.html

    I feel like these days when cold cases with a lot of evidence or those dug into more thoroughly are highlighted in press, there are more answers. I wonder what became of this man’s family, the landlady, and those who lived with him…….lots information that could be brought forth, especially if they could do DNA. Anyway, my going on here……duly submitted LOL.

  11. Kat February 22, 2017 / 4:44 pm

    Oh and my best wishes/condolences/you rock! to Julie W. and Shonda N., I hope you do get some answers in this very bizarre case. It cannot be an easy road, not to be light but it is always nice to see family members here working the cases as well……..even as time passes, it reminds us that MPs are not forgotten.

Leave a Reply

