MP of the week: Alexis Dillard

This week’s featured missing person is Alexis Dillard, who is male. A KU senior, he vanished on December 11, 1992, after a night out drinking with his fraternity brothers in North Lawrence, Kansas. There’s a theory that he drowned in the Kansas River, possibly while trying to swim across. He was 22.

And yes, I’m aware that suspect Pedro Hernandez was convicted of Etan Patz’s murder and I’m aware I have to re-write his entire casefile. That’ll be my task for tomorrow.

9 thoughts on “MP of the week: Alexis Dillard

  1. Mion February 14, 2017 / 8:13 pm

    What do you think about Pedro Hernandez being convicted? I have my doubts and am not confident police had the right man.

    • Meaghan February 14, 2017 / 11:50 pm

      I don’t know much about it yet — I’ll research it more thoroughly tomorrow for revising Etan’s casefile — but my initial impression is that the case against Hernandez is weak. Jose Ramos strikes me as being a more likely suspect. But the jury was in the courtroom and heard the evidence; I have only read articles. I certainly HOPE they got the right guy.

  2. christie groves February 15, 2017 / 12:12 am

    I notice he is not in NamUs nor, is there a description of what he was last wearing other than shoes. I believe I may have a match for his remains, the links are all broke or the emails do not work for Sedgwick County where I found the UR John Doe, I emailed the Chief of Police in Lawrence. Hopefully, he will take action. I find matches all the time and have to pursue the follow ups and push these UR to MP’s through, it’s pretty frustrating. I’ll let you know what happens. If you want to get him in NamUs that would be great, follow up with his family if you can to get DNA in.

    • Meaghan February 15, 2017 / 12:30 am

      I don’t submit cases to NamUs, but there are plenty of other people hanging out in the comments section who do.

      • christie groves February 15, 2017 / 12:34 am

        Well, I will try to do it this weekend if no one else chimes in, it’s pointless to follow these cases if they are not in NamUs now way to link them, we have to work on getting them all in, there are so many, so we can find closure for the deceased.

  3. Marie Sutton February 27, 2017 / 9:51 pm

    I knew Alexis. I can ask the guys that were with him at the bar that night what he was wearing or to get in touch. I cannot trust my memory but for some reason I think I was told in the days we were searching for his body near the river that he was wearing a red JCrew jacket, jeans and a shirt under the jacket – Rockport boots for sure. So strange to google him and find this just days old post after not googling him ever before. His disappearance looms large in the lives of his classmates – he was two years older than me and incredibly kind, thoughtful, responsible. His parents probably still live in Wichita – for years they had billboards up asking for people to call with leads.

    • Marie Sutton February 27, 2017 / 10:04 pm

      definitely a JCrew jacket – I just can’t be sure of the color – if not red, I think navy but it’s been so long – I am pretty sure it was Adirondack style light jacket with rope laces on the front. If you need public support to hurry this along or funding for a private/faster DNA match — please let me know what to do and how. thank you.

      • CHRISTIE M GROVES February 28, 2017 / 7:01 pm

        I emailed the Sheriff this is what I wrote and he replied he has sent it over to his proper detectives for matching: “Dear Chief Khatib:

        I tried contacting Sedgwick County’s Sgt. Tim Myers and Sheriff J. Easter, but their emails don’t go through or they don’t have email, a very primitive website.

        Did you ever run the DNA on these two, Alexis Dillard missing fromLawrence, Kansas in 1992 against John Doe discovered on October 29, 1994 in Sedgwick County, Kansas. Neither men are in NamUs as of yet, I urge you to enter them as it would have more response turn over coming from you than I, since I have to constantly email and call to get my cases approved as I am not in the PD. I would rather be safe than sorry, and find closure for these two Men even if the UR is not related to the MP.

        I have attached the links for you to review.

        Please Let me know what comes of this, and if you need help entering them into NamUs the National Data Base for missing and unidentified persons.”

        Kind Regards,
        Christie Groves
        Seattle, WA.
        Forensic Analyst

        http://www.charleyproject.org/cases/d/dillard_alexis.html
        http://www.doenetwork.org/cases/587umks.html

        Christie,

        Thank you for the emails and information. I have forwarded to my detective commander to look into this.

        -Tarik

Leave a Reply

