Make-a-List Monday: Great Lakes

This list is of MP cases that have some connection to the Great Lakes. Probable drownings being the most obvious kind, of course.

I nearly drowned in Lake Michigan when I was five. It was a hot summer’s day and I was in four feet of water, surrounded by happy vacationers at the public beach, but when you’re only three and a half feet tall and can’t swim and your family is all at their own beach a quarter of a mile away, things can go bad very quickly. Fortunately I was fished out and dragged ashore just before I crossed the point of no return, and a police officer who was present pounded life back into me.

Lake Erie

  1. Khristine Renee Smith
  2. Mel L. Wiley

Lake Huron

  1. Mistie Nicole Murray
  2. Charles Rutherford Jr.

Lake Michigan

  1. Michael Steven Bickel
  2. Michael Black
  3. Patricia Blough
  4. Renee Bruhl
  5. James Robert Hysong Jr.
  6. Sofia Khan
  7. Ann Miller
  8. David Randall Warner

Lake Superior

  1. John Lipuma
12 thoughts on “Make-a-List Monday: Great Lakes

  1. M. January 23, 2017 / 7:49 am

    Interesting that there are none from Lake Ontario.

    Did you enjoy the Mutter? I used to live next door and was there all the time. Here, from the Annals of Questionable Children’s Literature, I present you with a picture book about the “Soap Lady”. Sure to haunt the nightmares of any young recipient! https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/1891830244/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1485175597&sr=8-1&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_FMwebp_QL65&keywords=soap+lady&dpPl=1&dpID=61k5IqQ84pL&ref=plSrch

    • Meaghan January 27, 2017 / 10:49 am

      I did indeed enjoy the Mutter, although I was struck by the profound human suffering behind the exhibits. It was something I didn’t consider until I got there. The skull collection in particular struck me, the little bits of biographical detail with each one — a lot of Gypsies, executed murderers, suicides, disabled people — outcasts. Which is why they’re in a museum instead of being buried decently. At least they do get a bit of immortality that way.

      I think the creepiest exhibit was a set of conjoined twins with two bodies and one ginormous head with a rudimentary face on each side of the head, smiling vacantly at me. They had a whole nurseryful of dead babies.

  2. Amy January 23, 2017 / 9:49 am

    Brian Keith Fisher is from my hometown. (Erie) We live RIGHT on the lake. In fact I can look out the front door of my place of employment and have an amazing view! Anyway, I always wondered if that’s what happened to him. The last anyone knew, he left to go fishing (in February!) Most of the time out lake is frozen, However, you get odd years (such as this one) was 60 some degrees yesterday and out lake is far from frozen.

  3. Colleen January 23, 2017 / 4:20 pm

    The police department listed for David Warner should read Kenosha Police Department and not Warner Police Department. I have enjoyed reading your blog for several years now.

    • Meaghan January 27, 2017 / 10:50 am

      I’ll fix that. Thanks.

  4. Lisa January 23, 2017 / 7:42 pm

    I think Khristine Renee Smith likely went into Lake Michigan, as Kalamazoo is on the western side of Michigan.

  5. Sheila Roberts January 24, 2017 / 1:29 am

    I just read a book called Finding Everett Ruess by David Roberts. Everett disappeared back in1934 in Utah. In your resolved section Everett is listed as his remains being found in 2008 on Comb Ridge. According to this book, the DNA results that determined that the Comb Ridge body was Everett have since been found false and subsequent testing has determined that the body was not Everett’s. You may have already known all this, but I wanted to let you know in case you wanted to remove him from the resolved section. If there is a reason you have chosen to keep his case in the resolved section, I would love to hear what it is.

    Thank you,

    Sheila Roberts

    The Charley Project Blog wrote: > a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; } /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com Meaghan posted: “This list is of MP cases that have some connection to the Great Lakes. Probable drownings being the most obvious kind, of course. I nearly drowned in Lake Michigan when I was five. It was a hot summer’s day and I was in four feet of water, surrounded by “

  6. Karen January 24, 2017 / 2:04 am

    Meaghan is well aware of Everett Ruess’s case. She has written about him several times on this blog. I think she wants to concentrate on entering newer cases, not 80+ years old ones.

    That book’s author has quite the agenda. I personally believe that the full story remains hidden. It seems most probable to me that Ruess was murdered, not by Native Americans, but by white men who pretended to “befriend” Ruess. We will probably never know, unless his remains are found for real.

  7. J Floyd January 24, 2017 / 8:36 pm

    Sheila, I read the book also, and didn’t catch that Reuss is on the Charley Project resolved list. Good sleuthing. I wonder what really happened to him.

    • Liz January 26, 2017 / 10:38 pm

      Wow!! I always suspected the woman was kidnapped and had his babies in captivity. So sad. I hope they get identified. 😦

Leave a Reply

