Make-a-List Monday: Older children where a parent is suspected

This list is for kids over the age of ten where one or both of the child’s parents (or step-parents, or guardians) is a suspect or possible suspect in their disappearance, or the circumstances indicate they could be involved. I’m not talking about family abduction cases, I mean cases where they think the parent killed the child. I’m including murder-without-a-body cases.

Child abuse and neglect occurs at all ages, of course, but it’s my understanding that child abuse deaths in older kids are relatively rare. I don’t know much about this sort of thing but my guess would be it’s because older kids are both less fragile and more capable of defending themselves than infants and toddlers.

I’m grouping these kids in alphabetical order by age, and the suspect is in parentheses. In a lot of these cases, other family members — siblings or a parent — are also missing.

  1. Sheketah Michele Brown, 10 (father)
  2. Shakeima Ann Cabbagestalk, 10 (stepfather)
  3. Kristopher Charles Loesch, 10 (mother and mother’s girlfriend)
  4. Reagan Cordell Uden, 10 (stepfather)
  5. Karen Zhou, 10 (stepfather)
  6. Haleigh Breann Culwell, 11 (stepfather)
  7. Richard Lee Haynes Jr., 11 (father and stepmother)
  8. Adam Joseph Herrman, 11 or 12 (adoptive parents)
  9. Barry James Kephart II, 11 (father)
  10. Billy Sena, 11 (mother’s live-in boyfriend)
  11. Richard Loren Uden, 11 (stepfather)
  12. Terry Lee Westerfield, 11 (stepfather)
  13. Debra Jean Cole, 12 (mother’s live-in boyfriend)
  14. Crystal Gayle Dittmeyer, 12 (stepfather)
  15. Ivy Matory, 12 (stepfather)
  16. Jaliek L. Rainwalker, 12 (adoptive father)
  17. Doreen Jane Vincent, 12 (father)
  18. Melinda Karen Creech, 13 (mother)
  19. Kelly Jean Harris, 13 (stepfather)
  20. Rachel Marie Mellon, 13 (stepfather)
  21. Rachanda Lea Pickle, 13 (stepfather)
  22. Ricky Lane Thomas Jr., 13 (stepfather)
  23. Aundria Michelle Bowman, 14 (adoptive father)
  24. Toni Lynn McNatt-Chiappetta, 14 (father)
  25. Christina Marchell Richart, 14 (foster mother; her biological uncle’s wife)
  26. Monique Christine Daniels, 15 (stepfather)
  27. Tammy Sue Rothganger, 15 (stepfather)
  28. Jason Sims Jr., 15 (parents)
  29. Bethany Anne Sinclair, 15 (mother’s live-in boyfriend)
  30. Joyce Irene Cogburn, 15 (male temporary guardian)
  31. William Dale Gunn, 15 (stepfather)
  32. Josephine Yvette Cogburn, 16 (male temporary guardian)
  33. Margarette Ann Cuauhtli, 16 (adoptive father)
  34. Mindi Chambers, 17 (father)
  35. Alissa Marie Turney, 17 (stepfather; legally adopted her)

Honorable mention: Richard Gorham, 11. His mother’s live-in boyfriend is a suspect in his disappearance. However, Richard was living with his grandfather, Roland Himebrook, when he went missing. Himebrook disappeared too.

19 thoughts on “Make-a-List Monday: Older children where a parent is suspected

  1. londa January 16, 2017 / 4:42 am

    It took me 4 hrs to read through all these cases in the article theses are all pretty sad cases of missing kids keep up the good work of spreading the word on theses missing kids and adults for their families.

  2. Laura January 16, 2017 / 8:58 am

    Terry and Alan Westerfield, an old case from 1964. It’s thought the stepfather was responsible.

    • Laura January 16, 2017 / 9:21 am

      I guess Terry was 11, Alan was only 7. For some reason, I thought he was a little older.

    • Meaghan January 16, 2017 / 10:27 pm

      I will have to add them to the list. I don’t know how I forgot them. It’s such a sad case.

      • Laura January 17, 2017 / 6:49 pm

        I see that you added them, thanks!

  3. searcher2016 January 16, 2017 / 12:50 pm

    My daughter Aundria M Bowman (adopted name) Alexis Badger (name I gave her and use) is on the list. The adoptive father “Dennis Lee Bowman” the only suspect in this case tried to get the police to make me stop searching and telling the truth I was finding. He was asked to cooperate and clear himself of doing any harm to my daughter but he refuses. Her body has never been found but searches have been done and more are planned. Her case is about to get a lot of attention. Please check out and like her FB pg. “Find Aundria M Bowman.” to stay updated. Someone knows what happened to this teenager, someone who has been there all along!

    • hennylee January 17, 2017 / 10:21 am

      I am so sorry for your heartache… I hope you get the answers you need and deserve! I have joined the FB page as well. ‚̧

      • searcher2016 February 5, 2017 / 1:20 am

        ty HennyLee…please feel free to share her info. any time u like! If u have any questions about the case I’m happy to answer…again TY for caring!

    • diamondlil16 January 19, 2017 / 3:34 am

      My thoughts and prayers go out to you Searcher that this will be the year for Audrina/Alexis to be found and those responsible held accountable.

      • searcher2016 February 5, 2017 / 1:22 am

        TY DiamondLIL16…knowing ppl care keeps me moving forward! The system that was suppose to keep her safe failed on every level! NOW a MURDERER WALKS FREE…but we all know his name!

  4. theclaires January 16, 2017 / 6:43 pm

    The most likely age for child abuse deaths is 5 and under for the reasons you mention, and also because they aren’t required to be in school yet and are often not visible in the community (so no one sees their injuries).

  5. CHRISTIE M GROVES January 16, 2017 / 8:19 pm

    Searcher 2016, Sorry to hear about Aundria, did you hear of the Lori Eric Ruff case? I hope this is the situation with your daughter. Lori ran away from home at 17 or so and never looked back, it was similar in that she didn’t like her Mothers new husband. Sadly, she was overwhelmed with grief when her husband left her and killed herself, but we did find her true identity years later, don’t give up. I always tell people unless a child or adult has been driven away from a crime scene, they can be found within a 3-5 mile radius of where they were last. This is just a fact that comes into play time and time again when identifying remains. There are so many Mothers like yourself out there. I’m truly sorry and I will keep her in my thoughts when searching the remains. I’ve noted her BirthMark.

    • searcher2016 February 5, 2017 / 1:28 am

      TY Christie M Groves. I’m sorry Lori killed herself, but when the only person who u feel ever loved u leaves this world..I can imagine it’s very hard to hang on. My daughter never got the chance to leave and never look back. I know if she did she would have searched me out, but that hasn’t happened along with the fact the person names as suspect has said…”she’s dead and all the evidence is lost.” What u mention about the victim’s body being within a few miles of the crimes scene plays out perfectly here, I believe whatever is left of her physical body is buried right outside his back door!

  6. Alice January 17, 2017 / 4:02 pm

    Meghan,

    Did you hear the Yates girls were found? I know they’re not on this list, but it’s creepy in two ways. The first is that your last entry before they were found is about family abductions. The second is this is DAYS after Kamiyah was found!

    Oddly enough, BOTH CASES are instances where I thought an AMBER Alert could have saved them. Still working on my list…

    • diamondlil16 January 19, 2017 / 3:25 am

      Thanks Alice for the good news on the Yates sisters. It was one I wasn’t familiar with. Wonderful news for their father after 30 years. I read where he didn’t think arresting the mom was needed.

      • CHRISTIE M GROVES January 19, 2017 / 12:38 pm

        I figured he would not want her arrested as he seemed to understand his wrong doings that led her to this, but sadly, the state will probably charge her and she will be sentenced, they have to after the efforts they put forth and the illegality of it. I Really hope the girls call their Father. It’s not right to plot one parent against the other, I have dealt with this my entire life, but luckily I have the great resolve of in one ear out the other. He said, “I’ve never stopped looking for my daughters” I hope they hear that.

      • Meaghan January 20, 2017 / 1:05 am

        I don’t think he really cares about what happens to Elaine now. He just wants to know his daughters.

  7. Amy January 19, 2017 / 11:28 pm

    Taj Narbonne?? Wasn’t his related to father/stepfather?

    • Laura January 22, 2017 / 12:20 pm

      Yes, Taj’s case is another one where his stepfather, Clarence, was a suspect but nothing was proven. He was very abusive and Taj’s mother later divorced him and moved away. I think Clarence was sent to an institution if I remember right.
      I remember in the case of Cynthia Sumpter that her parents each accused the other of hiding her, but it sounded more like a bitter-divorced couple arguing.

Leave a Reply

