MP of the week, a bit early

Yeah, so tonight I’m taking off for my dad’s place, and early on Monday morning we’re leaving and driving to Philadelphia to visit the Mütter Museum. It’s an anatomical museum with exhibits such as a piece of Einstein’s brain and this skull collection. Anyway, I don’t anticipate being back until Wednesday, so I thought I’d post my MP of the week early.

This week it’s Violet Watzulik, an elderly woman who disappeared from Sarasota, Florida on June 10, 2000. Violet’s son Carl claims she just up and left on an extended cruise and never came back, but the authorities have their doubts. You can see an article copied and pasted on this CrimeWatchers thread, to the effect that Violet’s daughter believes she is dead, and Carl is the self-described “number one suspect” in her case. He still lives in Sarasota and, from what I can tell, has no serious criminal record. I found one arrest in 2011, on a minor drug charge.

Violet was declared legally dead in 2006. She would be 100 years old now, if she was still alive, which I’m quite sure she isn’t.

4 thoughts on “MP of the week, a bit early

  1. diamondlil16 January 15, 2017 / 4:46 am

    I looked at link and the articles they had posted on the site. They also listed your entry as well. You had done Violet’s back in 2013 as a MP of the Week then too.

    If Violet only mentioned this man to her son, then I wouldn’t put much belief in his story.

    Enjoy your trip!

    • Meaghan January 15, 2017 / 5:07 am

      Darn, I totally forgot I’d listed her before. I didn’t mean to do a repeat. Oh, well.

      • Terri Selig January 15, 2017 / 5:26 am

        I think it’s ok to have repeats – it gets fresh eyes that way – and a new look at the case.

  2. Wrye January 15, 2017 / 9:07 am

    The Mutter museum is one of my favorite places in the world. Several of the exhibits are a bit disquieting, but everything is fascinating. Be prepared to spend at least a few hours- and have fun!

Leave a Reply

