A medley of a few things

I’m going to update today, finally, and resume updating regularly. This year hasn’t gotten off to a great start for me. The Headache has decided to resume kicking me around. Often the pain isn’t really that bad — sort of hovering in the “annoying” range — but it’s just that it. never. goes. away. and it really wears you down.

I had a frank and rather uncomfortable conversation with my family doctor, Dr. Han, about it all, and she basically said she did not think she was able to help me. Fortunately, there’s a new pain management clinic — been around less than a year — and she’s referred me to them. They’ll call me on Monday. At present I’m pain-free, but that’s only because of Vicodin.

On the other hand, mentally I’m doing much better. I had to have three medication adjustments between September and December. Finally I’m back on an even keel there.

You’ll recall that back in October I was interviewed by Ed Dentzel for the “Unfound” podcast. Well, I suggested that Ed interview Tad DiBiase, the “No Body” Guy. Ed did interview Tad and the interview is here. I recommend you check it out. Tad works gratis as a consultant for MWAB cases and I think that’s awesome, great community service. One of my personal mottoes is “Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.” Meaning: use whatever resources and talents you possess to improve that world. That’s what Tad does.

On the sixth I had my first Executed Today entry of the year: Floyd Hewitt, a sixteen-year-old who was executed for a horrific double homicide 90 years ago. It’s a very sad story; Floyd had the mental capacity of a ten-year-old and didn’t seem to understand the seriousness of what he had done. Nowadays, due to both his age and his mental disability, he would have gotten a life sentence.

55 thoughts on “A medley of a few things

  1. Vincent January 8, 2017 / 6:14 pm

    Meaghan, I visit CharleyProject every day. It is so interesting… Thank you for all the work that you have put into it.

    I finally have to tell you, though, how frustrating it is for me — because I am such a big fan — when I open your site and there are no new updates. Please, please, please, invite a few other people to help you post updates. You could give them basic training and make sure that they are competent and reliable before you hand any actual authority over to them. I’m sure that there are talented, dedicated people who would draft excellent updates and would love to contribute to CharleyProject.

    • Mia January 8, 2017 / 10:30 pm

      Why do you need updates every day? I’m. It being combative; I just don’t get why she has to update constantly in order to provide a proper website. Personally, if I had been running a site this long, I wouldn’t want to change things up. And there’s no guarantee that a team of people would be reliable… the DoeNetwork has a ton of volunteers and their updates are sporadic at best.

      • Mia January 8, 2017 / 10:31 pm

        I’m not being combative, that is.

      • Lauren January 9, 2017 / 3:13 pm

        I totally agree with Mia. I honestly would not expect an update more than once a month. This is not a full time job with pay here. Meaghan has a life too!

  2. P.M. January 9, 2017 / 5:08 pm

    I personally feel Vincent just really enjoys the site and looks extremely forward to updates. And maybe wants to be involved somehow. Of course I can’t speak for him but I am glad he enjoys the hard work Meaghan puts int the Charley Project. Admittedly I do also and am always happy to see an update and blog.

  3. michael w. January 11, 2017 / 3:55 am

    Coming out of self-imposed retirement for a one-off post to back up Vincent. Stop picking on Vincent. He just had the chutzpah to say what everyone with a brain was already thinking.

    Listen, I understand Meaghan has a life outside of here, as anyone would. I get that. But conversely, you have to look at the other side of the coin. According to her, she spends maybe 15 hours a week on this site. Most of that is spent doing things that have ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!! to do with The Charley Project, or missing people, or murdered people, or things of that nature. It’s a non-stop, endless parade of stories of her personal life (which range from the bizarre to the sad to the unintentionally humorous), the selfies and everything else, all of which is just rehash from the CP facebook page. And get this, I donated things to her to get case files updated, twice. And the last time, I didn’t get thanked or even a notification she received the materials. And I don’t think she ever used the materials to update the case files. And when I sent her a fb friend request, it was immediately declined.

    All of that it sad. But in case some of you still don’t get it, and I’m sure that some of you won’t (yeah, I’m looking at you Kat and Lauren), let me further put things into perspective for you. I tried for more than 5 months to get 2 case files added here. Austin Stephanos and Perry Cohen. Since they disappeared together, I’m not even sure two write-ups would be necessary, one could probably suffice and they other just copied and pasted with the name changed. I asked. I was polite. I was persistent. I offered donations when they were put up. I sent the donations even though they weren’t put up. I waited. And to this day, almost a half a year since they’ve been eligible to be put up, still nothing. And I’m not holding my breath.

    Being that some of you *STILL* don’t get it, let me try this: The backlog of work that needs to be done here is massive, to put it mildly. There are, according to Meaghan herself, about a THOUSAND case files that need to be added, and that isn’t even counting the ones that could be greatly expanded (like Steven Koecher, Maura Murray, Dottie Caylor, etc.) She could quadruple the amount of time she spends working on stuff and still never get anywhere near close to the vicinity of ever getting everything done. It will never happen. And until she does something about it (if she ever does), we’ll continue to watch updates dribble in at a snail’s pace, with most of the ones being added of the “few details are available” ilk.

    Now I understand some of you *STILL* won’t get it because you are boot lickers, the same way Trump supporters stood by him even thought he is a crazy, inexperienced, misogynistic, sexist, racist, sexually harassing, incompetent, lying, flip-flopping, self-serving, friend rewarding, thin-skinned thief who has mocked the disabled and given precious little to charity despite the fact he is worth about 10 billion. Nothing Trump did stopped the idiots from voting for him and by his own admission, he could shoot people in the street and his numbers would just go up. Listen, I’m on here because I care about missing people. I donated. I tried to help. I volunteered. I tried to get the door open to Meaghan taking on an assistant. It didn’t matter too much *who* it was, just that it was someone helping period. I got my hopes up. Things sounded like they were in motion. And then I didn’t hear anything for months. I sent another e-mail, More stalling. I gave up. I would almost half expect an e-mail response from her about this, but probably not since that would entail her actually getting around to it.

    Do you realize how insulting this is? This is supposed to be a site about missing people!! And instead, we are getting one million selfies and stories about headaches (here’s a hint: they’re almost certainly caused from sleep deprivation). I’m not a doctor but I work third shift and know a lot about it. When you don’t get enough sleep, you will get headaches. Your compliments about her personal appearance aren’t helping. She needs to start looking like somebody that might actually exist in today’s society and not a bizarre hybrid of 1970’s hippy and 1870’s Kansas prairie lady. If I passed her on the street, I would wonder how I slipped into a time warp. The only other place I’ve seen dresses like that was Little House on the Prairie. At least the hair coloring was more modern even if it was a totally unnatural color.

    I understand some of you will have a problem with my post, but I could care less. I decided it was more important to do my own research on missing people. The stuff I have come up with on more than a handful of cases is tremendous. I know things literally only a few people on Planet Earth know. I managed to talk to people. People who were actually involved in the cases when they happened. I moved on. I realized it was more important to get a hands-on feel for the cases than read some obsessive fanboi’s speculation on them and subsequent remarks about how their opinions are the right ones. You can’t read short case files on here and think you have all the answers. A lot of times there’s so much more info, info that is unknown to Joe Q. Public. Heck, look at how many people were ready to hang Dan Rassier and Jose Antonio Ramos for child murders when both of them have probably never killed anyone in their lives.

    • Mia January 11, 2017 / 11:23 am

      Maybe you should create your own MP site, guy.

      • michael w. January 12, 2017 / 2:11 am

        Some of us have full-time jobs.

      • P.m. January 12, 2017 / 6:44 am

        You go on this tirade then say “some of us have a full time job.”? I think Meaghan knew to stay clear of you. Thank goodness!

    • WhoaNelly January 11, 2017 / 12:57 pm

      Uhhh… I’m sorry, did I miss the part of this site where your help was requested? Meaghan doesn’t owe you an explanation about her activities, her health, her blog content, her taste in clothing, or why she hasn’t responded to your incessant demands to be included in the day to day workings of a site THAT YOU HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH. You sound like you’d steamroll the whole thing anyway. I don’t blame her for protecting the content she’s worked to create from crazies like you.

      This is a personal website, not sanctioned by law enforcement or any government entity. Yes, its content is important, but it’s still Meaghan’s own website and blog and it can be updated if and when she feels like it. Go make your own site and simmer down.

      • michael w. January 11, 2017 / 11:26 pm

        Umm, EXCUSE ME?! I have never demanded to be included in the “day to day workings of this site”. I was asked by Meaghan if I would be interested in the assistant position if and when it was offered. I have made contributions here that have produced actual results so stop talking like you know everything. I am not crazy, nor would I steamroll the whole thing and I don’t need to simmer down.

      • WhoaNelly January 13, 2017 / 10:30 pm

        It’s called tough love, Michael. Go look it up.

    • Meaghan January 11, 2017 / 1:21 pm

      I actually did get the materials, but I wasn’t sure you wanted to hear from me, because you’d rather abruptly cut off our correspondence. So I said nothing.

      I’m sorry about declining your friend request. Please send it again. If I had known it was you I wouldn’t have declined it. I get a lot of requests from people whose names I don’t recognize and I usually decline them because it seems half the time they turn out to be scammers.

      • michael w. January 11, 2017 / 11:34 pm

        I didn’t cut off our correspondence. I sent an e-mail stating I was withdrawing my name from any possible consideration and got a brief e-mail in return. I said nothing about “I never want to talk to you again” or anything of that nature.

    • Lauren January 12, 2017 / 1:53 am

      Michael thank you for pointing out some of your personal experiences with Meaghan and for explaining why you feel the way you do. I really don’t get how Trump plays into this but I don’t take issue with that. What I do take issue with is your disrespect towards Meaghan. Making fun of the way she looks is a total dick move on your part.

      • michael w. January 12, 2017 / 2:11 am

        It was in regards to how loyal Meaghan’s supporters are, as evidenced by your post. I’m hardly the only one who has criticized her appearance. Multiple people have. It’s called “tough love”. Look it up.

      • Lauren January 12, 2017 / 7:30 am

        Making fun of the appearance of a woman (a woman with autism at that) isn’t “tough love” it’s called being a bully. And you wonder why she doesn’t want you as a Facebook friend?

    • Meaghan January 12, 2017 / 10:59 pm

      I can definitely tell you, Mike, that my headache isn’t being caused by sleep deprivation. I have been dealing with this condition for six years and it really gets on my nerves when people assume they know all about it and if I just did what they said I’d be right as rain. If I could get rid of the pain by something as simple as getting more sleep, I think I’d have noticed this at some point in the six years and (exactly) three months I’ve been dealing with this affliction. So try again.

      And my average outfit consists of either jeans and a t-shirt or jeans, a turtleneck and a sweater/sweatshirt depending on the weather. I wasn’t aware this was all that unusual or outdated.

  4. diamondlil16 January 11, 2017 / 4:55 am

    Wow! Okay, I read your entire post Michael and while I can understand your frustration on some points, you did not need to throw in a political rant when your interest here lies with missing persons.

    I have myself wondered on the % of Meaghan’s “few details available ” cases/spotlight features. And thought if she did a List they’d be in the thousands likely. (and I have thought ‘why bother’ with those cases mentioning them again, maybe it would get some tips on twitter or facebook, but…)

    She has posted numerous times over the years about why she has to run her site herself. Not saying I agree with all her reasons, but it could be a control issue or that she doesn’t handle team work well, Type A, perfectionist.

    She has always meshed together her personal “diary” type entries along with case entries on her blog.

    Now she maybe could split the blog into two parts or more, Personal/Off Topic/Anything Goes then Crime & Punishment for her ETs and then just Case Updates, lists, features.

    Have you tried having the cases you mentioned put over on Jerri Dean’s site? I think she does the missing persons of America.

    Also, no need to have negatively commented on Meaghan’s style even if you find it eclectic, it takes away from your point of getting other cases listed.

    Also, the headache thing. It’s not just a lack of sleep. But since it got mentioned, and you added your opinion, I’m gonna go there and add mine, again.

    I do wonder if any of her doctors ask the simple things and check the simple things like:
    Dehydration
    Low calorie intake
    Low mineral and vitamin levels
    Hormonal problems
    Low blood sugar

    However, one should try to keep a good sleep hygiene, balanced and scheduled meals, etc as well as the person has to be compliant.

    A light box would likely benefit her, as well as vitamin D3 and getting outside daily in the sunshine, as well as everyone that lives in colder climates that reduces your time spent with skin exposure to the sun. Also B vitamins.

    Lots of natural things can be done with great effects that are much better than relying on opiates. All my opinion, I’m not a doctor.

    • Meaghan January 11, 2017 / 1:19 pm

      I actually do put my personal and Executed Today entries in the “tangents” category. You’ll find the categories to the right-hand side of the screen. That doesn’t stop them showing up on the main page, though. I don’t know that there is any way to prevent that.

      Regarding my headache(s): I know what is wrong, or at least what the diagnosis is, and I know it cannot be fixed. There are certain things that can aggravate the situation — sleep deprivation being one, yes — but the underlying problem is not fixable. It is better than it used to be, but it’s entirely within the realm of possibility that for the rest of my life on a regular basis this headache will crop up at random times and kick me around for days or weeks and then vanish again.

      I am more than a little concerned that if I let others into the actual workings of the Charley Project database, that a hostile takeover would not be far off. The MPCCN got hacked once, my own email has been hacked, and what happened with the Doe Network is an open secret — and see you see the results of that. I have already been warned by people in a position to know what they’re talking about that there are certain people who would really, really like to plant a virus or something in the database and wreck it. It doesn’t help much that I am actually an extremely timid, easily bullied sort of person, and I’m concerned also that I might wind up agreeing to do things with it that I don’t really want to do.

      I do feel that I OUGHT to open the doors. I’ve been trying to talk myself into doing so and not be such a scared little bunny about it. It’s just taking longer than I thought to do that.

      • diamondlil16 January 11, 2017 / 4:52 pm

        When I’m on my phone there is nothing to the right of the screen but the subject line of your entries are usually enough to let the reader know what the topic is going to be.

        Maybe you could try a test run. Pick a few regulars you have history with and just assign then cases from their state. See how that goes for two months and then go from there.

      • Meaghan January 11, 2017 / 5:05 pm

        On my own mobile devices the categories appear at the very bottom.

        I do have a high profile case I’m keeping back on purpose with the idea of using it as a sort of job interview: “Research and write this case and see if you can do it to my standards.”

        Now that I think of it I remember why I deleted Mike’s FB friend request. Mike has the same first and last name of what might be termed a VERY distant relative of mine — my half-sister’s son’s half-brother on his father’s side of the family. I remember thinking “why on earth do you want to friend me, I don’t even know you.”

      • michael w. January 11, 2017 / 11:51 pm

        Your concerns about a takeover if someone else got the password to the site may or may not be legitimate. In any event, it’s somewhat irrelevant because you can accept contributions from people without giving them the password. Journalists who submit articles to the newspapers editors don’t subsequently overthrow them.

  5. diamondlil16 January 11, 2017 / 5:22 am

    Michael, I just checked and I just have one mention for Perry and Austin here
    http://www.cherigriffiths.com/phpbb3/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=260&t=12301&p=123360&hilit=cohen#p123360

    but I too am just one person listing missing persons. However on that forum are lots of posts and links on Steven and Maura. I just listed a new entry Monday out of Connecticut, but did check for updates on some older cases. I know it’s not easy to keep up with so many news stories, but if you have more insight on cases, then blog about it and help get that info out there.

    I often get links from people here that give updates in the comments and see if I have that case listed on the forum.

    • diamondlil16 January 14, 2017 / 11:08 am

      Update on the Connecticut case I mentioned, the teen’s body was found yesterday. He had been missing since 12/26. An arrest has been made, it was a school friend arrested. A drug deal (marijuana) gone bad.

  6. michael w. January 11, 2017 / 6:50 am

    Dear DiamondLill: You raise some good points. I will address some of your remarks.

    In regards to Donald Trump, he is going to be a nightmare. He’s a victim shamer and victim blamer. Do you know what he did during the Orlando Massacre? Instead of expressing sympathy for the victims, their families, etc. he victim shamed the (entirely gay) series of victims by saying that if one of them had a gun, none of this would have happened. Not only is that entirely speculative, it’s insulting.

    About the control thing: Eventually there comes a time when you have to say enough is enough. Case in point: Last week, I moved to my own apartment. My mom consistently offered to help me pack and I refused every time. I wanted everything packed the way I wanted it, so that I would know where everything was, and wanted to do it all on my own. When the day arrived for me to move and I still had a frack ton of stuff left, I realized I couldn’t do it on my own and asked for her help. And she did. There comes a time when someone has to realize they cannot (no matter how much they want to), do everything on their own.

    The personal entries really belong on her personal fb page. As you suggested, if it doesn’t relate to missing people, it shouldn’t be on here.

    I have sampled other sites, such as the Doe Network. Didn’t really care too much for any of them. The Doe Network was always filled with spazzes always desperate to link up a dead body with a missing person, no matter how much the statistics were off. Last time I checked, people can’t grow 6 inches, for example, overnight.

    • Meaghan January 11, 2017 / 2:41 pm

      Oh, and I actually DID thank you on the Charley Project’s Facebook page when I got your second package. On December 30 I put up a photo of the discs piled on my desk with your note, and explained how you’d sent them to me.

    • diamondlil16 January 11, 2017 / 4:41 pm

      Michael – agree, not having help does get us in a bind to get something finished. And sometimes the help can cause further work later.

      With this site perhaps a stand alone entry for Submissions and Updates for readers to add info they have found and researched, or if emailed the subject line is clear about Case Update. If left in the comments at least you know others may read it.

      About Trump – what he has said doesn’t effect my day to day, as far as my taxes, my freedoms, or worrying if my husband’s job will be off-shored like the decisions made by Carly Fiorina and Meg Whitman did. I’ll think positive that things can be better when he takes office. He and his various wives have appeared to have raised very well-rounded productive children.

      I don’t know if it would be a better fit, but Jerrie Dean’s site http://www.missingpersonsofamerica.com/
      may be something that you’ll like to read and submit info to. She’s a retired fed and has been around on the web a long time too.

      Nany Grace is starting a new website but I haven’t searched for it yet. I think your donations to the charley project was very kind. However, you know your posts about it could’ve been kinder. Even with your stance, you have a right to your opinion in fashion and style, but things can be said a bit softer so it doesn’t read as a bash.

  7. diamondlil16 January 11, 2017 / 9:07 pm

    Here’s Nancy Grace’s new website, she has several areas for missing, crime, trials, cold cases.
    http://www.crimeonline.com/category/missing/

    But it doesn’t look like she has a forum area for discussion.

  8. Kathy January 11, 2017 / 9:11 pm

    Start your own site then and show her how it’s done. Why would she be obligated to accept your friend request on her personal account? Yes Trump is ass but why are talking about him? That has nothing to do with Meaghan and she probably doesn’t like him either.

  9. Liz January 11, 2017 / 9:51 pm

    Hey guys, Meaghan doesn’t owe you or missing people anything, not even an explanation or a FB friend. If you don’t like it stop bitching and go make your own site.

    I’ve been silently following you for over ten years, and I enjoy your site and am disappointed when you don’t have updates. But you have a life and it’s none of my business when you do and don’t post on your page.

    And P.S. I silently asked Meaghan to post my missing friend and she did without bribes. Get a clue.

    • diamondlil16 January 11, 2017 / 11:32 pm

      Liz, Meaghan has done me a favor or two when I’ve asked her to list a link on her fb page for a missing person awareness, fund raiser for some of the colder cases and she has. In hopes that those reading might want to attend the bike rally or bake sale or whatever it may be to keep the public aware that the person is still missing and the families may need some help.
      I’ve asked the board owner of the forum I post on to make a Facebook or Twitter to help get the info out there but she’s not interested. But there are many sites that help keep the stories going and they all have a place. I think its great that local law enforcement are now doing it as well. But many still don’t update if the case got resolved. argh

    • michael w. January 11, 2017 / 11:44 pm

      Classy. I’m certainly glad you’re friend was added.

      • diamondlil16 January 12, 2017 / 12:38 am

        Michael, do you have a specific interest on certain cases? Meaning an age group or a region, recent or cold cases? I’d be happy to have you list cases or update the ones we have at The Corner. I don’t own the site, Cheri Griffiths does (formerly of court tv/in sessions message boards), but anyone that joins can add links, photos, etc. and start a thread. It has areas for UNIDs, and for non-crime stuff I even had a “politics, polls and azzholes” thread at one time. We have other countries listed for missing persons too. You and I might not agree on my take on things in the other areas, but lots of room for you to add what you’d like to see. I even have a “bad tattoos and bad fashion” thread in the members only section. 🙂

  10. michael w. January 12, 2017 / 1:04 am

    Listen everyone. Honestly, This isn’t about me. Or you. Or Control. Or anything else. This is about missing people. This was what this site was designed for. I understand I didn’t create, own or administrate this website. And I’m perfectly fine with that. And In fact, I told Meaghan I was perfectly fine with the thought of her selecting someone else to assist, if she got to that point, if that’s what she decided to do (before I withdrew). Because, as I said, this isn’t about me. I’m not the most important element to this website. And again, I’m totally fine with that.

    What is the most important element are the missing people. It’s the reason we are all here. Therefore, it is frustrating to know 1,000 or so cases are sitting on the sidelines (in some cases for YEARS) while we go on constantly hearing about things that have nothing to do in any way, shape or form with missing people. As I said, your comments aren’t helping. They may be polite, but they’re not helping cases get added.

    15 hours (maybe) a week. That’s not even 2 full work days. And as I said, most of that is devoted to things that don’t add much if anything. I’ve already expressed my beliefs about the lists in another thread. Coming up with a list of all the people that disappeared while wearing a blue sweater isn’t going to be useful information to anyone at any point, I’m relatively certain. And then there’s the going around, trying to find news articles to add tiny bits of seemingly insignificant info to add to already existing case files. TAJ NARBONNE HAD DECAYED TEETH!!,l and trumpeting it up like it was the discovery of the Fountain of Youth. If anything, I think the poor kid would be horrified we’d be talking about it.

    I believe in keeping people’s spirits alive. Because, as sad as it is, let’s face the facts: most of the people in these case files are dead. And in some cases, long dead. I wish it weren’t the case. For many, this is the only thing they have left. Cases go cold, police stop investigating (if they ever did much to begin with), the public loses interest and even friends and relatives move on. This is all they have left. These people are dead, in many cases had their lives taken from them and lived their last moments under the most horrific of circumstances. And on that note, I find it distasteful when so much time is devoted to talking about macaroni and cheese and missing socks and lambskin gloves.

    I have been doing research on a man who was murdered several decades ago. I found out a ton of interesting info and posted it on another forum. It only garnered a couple brief responses, and most of that wasn’t even related to the victim himself. It was disheartening. His case has undoubtedly been swept under the rug and forgotten.

    Honestly, I don’t know why I’m even bothering. In a few days, everything will go back to normal and Meaghan will go back to trying to do the equivalent of vacuuming the White House with a dustbuster. I suppose I could be wrong, and in fact, I’d love to be proved wrong. I’d love to come on here and eat my words and find out Meaghan has taken on several assistants, the back log has been eliminated and everything is running like a well oiled machine, all is well and God is in his home. I could be wrong.

    But I doubt it.

    • WhoaNelly January 12, 2017 / 12:31 pm

      You seem to want a lot of credit for your efforts. Seems to me your concern about missing people is more about the accolades you think you deserve for your research. You really should join the DoeNetwork.

      • Liz January 12, 2017 / 11:41 pm

        WhoaNelly you forgot the microphone drop!! 🙂 This is literally the most insane rant I have had the displeasure to read here. And I think you nailed it on the head, he wants credit or something. Let’s hope he crawls under a rock somewhere or goes back to his cave.

      • WhoaNelly January 13, 2017 / 10:33 pm

        Liz, he contradicts himself so many times it makes my head spin. It’s amazing that someone has that much hatred for a complete stranger and that amount of time to constantly type novel-length comebacks. Actually, amazing isn’t the right word… disturbing is more like it. I don’t know Meaghan at all and I have no reason to stick up for her other than she’s a human being and deserves some respect. Michael just needs to STFU and GTFO. 🙂

  11. diamondlil16 January 12, 2017 / 2:24 am

    Clothing description is helpful to those outdoors that hike, bike, hunt, birdwatch, mushroom hunt, etc. that come across garments or remnants.

    The bigger thing is making outdoors people aware of the missing persons in their region. As I believe most people don’t follow missing persons or Amber alerts.

    Taj’s decayed teeth is helpful for those who stumble upon a jaw bone or their dog does, to rule out off the bat children with good dental hygiene. Or a school nurse, teacher, hygienist that may recall a kid that came in that had such poor teeth. But again, that is making the schools and dentists offices aware of these people.

    So, in my opinion more needs to be done in the local communities to spread awareness.

    Don’t give up on your cases, you can list them in more than one forum – reddit, topix, city data, CUE Center, Texas Equusearch, et al. and you’ll find people somewhere for discussion.

    As far as Meaghan’s back log, it is what it is. Lots still need to be added on NamUs and the NCMEC as well as well as state and federal levels. Perhaps offer to volunteer at one of those organizations.

    We all can contribute something to the missing, whether it’s forwarding a link, putting up posters, going on a search. I have personally stopped a police chaplain at a bank about a local case to see if they would speak to the father in jail, as well as went on a ground search for Nadia Kersh. Even went so far to talk with a dowser about a case in California then passed that info on to the family and LE.

    • Meaghan January 12, 2017 / 8:30 pm

      One of the things that all this list-making does is have me look over the cases again and catch typos or other errors, or I’ll think “hmm, I wonder if this case is even still current, let me check on that” or I’ll just start to run the names through databases trying to find updates as I’m writing the lists.

      Plus, I actually enjoy writing them.

      • diamondlil16 January 13, 2017 / 12:20 am

        I rely on lists in my offline life and I’ve done it for my hobbies, but made the mistake of doing that on the pc, and then the hard drive dies, motherboard, something and it never got backed up, even tho my hub is in IT. So there went my mp3s, books I’ve read, etc.

        Online I used to check monthly for updates, going by each state and then those we have in Canada, the UK and other countries. The very recent missing I’d check daily. It ate up too much time. Now I just check for the person’s anniversary month. So anyone missing in October, regardless of how long, I check. There are those that are just on my mind, so I check for any movement in their case.

        Then I will check for broken links in Info and Resources or add new ones for states that have just formed a cold case unit. Been doing this since 2008. Back then if I found nothing, I would call the PD or coroner to find out if the case was resolved. That’s when I learned that if a suicide, most papers don’t run that the person was found.

        On a few occasions law enforcement would ask me to email them the link to the news article or to the case thread.

        You’re right about reviewing again to catch typos, as it happens. What has frustrated me the most is news articles with no phone number listed for the sheriff’s office or PD and then I have to search for that before I post the case.

        I know facebook has really replaced many of the old message boards for crime, trials and missing persons. At some point I’ll probably walk away but hope it can be archived somehow.

  12. diamondlil16 January 12, 2017 / 3:48 am

    Michael, stop it. Pot meet kettle. You called what Trump says an insult, but criticizing Meaghan’s garments as “tough love”. Would you be fine if people posted negative things online about your mom, or sister or niece or whoever is in your circle?

    Your snark isn’t productive. And who does it benefit?

    Kindness Matters.

  13. michael w. January 13, 2017 / 1:13 am

    The remarks about Meaghan’s appearance were unnecessary. I apologize.

    However, you should ask yourself what’s going on. Is this a website about missing people, or is it a blog of someone’s personal life? What should it be?

    Meaghan has a control issue. When she makes a list and leaves names off, other people will chime in with the ones she forgot. She rarely if ever amends the list to add them. Because she didn’t think of them personally, she doesn’t want it changed. She admitted that the she hasn’t taken on help because of her “own selfish reasons.” That isn’t something I created. It’s in print here.

    If YOU went missing, wouldn’t YOU want your case file to be put up as soon as possible? Would YOU want your case sitting on the sidelines for YEARS while somebody talks about their personal life?

    Yeah, didn’t think so.

    I have even expressed the reason *why* I wanted Austin and Perry’s cases up. Because they are children, and children are the most innocent victims.

    I would like for one single person on here to defend Meaghan’s use of this blog for endless selfies and personal stories at the expense of not putting up new cases. Go ahead, try. Explain it to the victims, their families and friends. See how far you get.

    No seriously, try it. Stop the attacking, the whining, the lying, the off-topic nonsense and go and defend it.

    • Meaghan January 13, 2017 / 2:13 am

      If I may… I don’t see the non-MP aspects of this blog as being at anyone or anything’s expense. Knowing the way I am, if I did not write about personal things on this blog, that does not necessarily mean I would instead spend that time writing up cases. Just because a person gives up a habit that (for the sake of argument) is unproductive or a complete waste of time, doesn’t mean they’re going to replace that habit with some totally new and useful activity.

      The blog actually doesn’t take up that much time or effort anyway. I think you’re placing far too much emphasis on it.

    • diamondlil16 January 13, 2017 / 6:36 am

      Michael, it was nice of you to apologize.

      But the site for the charley project data base is different than her blog. Her blog for as long as I’ve read it off and on is a hodge podge of a little of everything.

      Take the top 10 subject entries, ranking 1 with the most entries
      1. Children 798
      2. Women 719
      3. Teens 693
      4. Day to day website business 645
      5. Tangents 630
      6. Men 603
      7. Minorities 472
      8. Located 399
      9. Lists 291
      10. Historical 199

      Looking at it this way, children do get the most blog entries.

      To answer your question, I’d want myself or a loved one listed first on local and state LE pages and then NamUs. No waiting weeks or years.

      I have encouraged a victim’s family to add their loved one to NamUs and stay off of message boards. (blogging wasn’t a big thing back then).

    • forthelost January 13, 2017 / 1:16 pm

      Austin and Perry are indeed children, and what probably happened to them is sad, but more publicity would do nothing -the chances are very good they drowned at sea.

      • diamondlil16 January 13, 2017 / 4:58 pm

        I agree with you on that, lost at sea, and it is sad.

        Have to say that Michael has brought out more discussion on a blog entry in a very long time!

    • Mia January 13, 2017 / 10:34 pm

      “Meaghan has a control issue.”

      IT’S HER FREAKING WEBSITE.

  14. Amy January 13, 2017 / 11:39 am

    Ok. I do not usually enter into fights with people who think they are “doing things in the name of public interest and chutzpah, but really come off like whiny bullies”, but here goes.

    Michael- honestly, if you think you can do a better site, have at it , mate. I have been in the missing persons volunteer biz for well over a decade and I can tell you, having help is great, but not needed. The other site I volunteer for has many people working behind the scenes, but updates are sporadic. Meaghan does a more than commendable job on Charley.

    If Meaghan’s interactions with you, as well as her clothing choices, bother you so much, why not find a different site to use for your missing person’s research? Even your apology rings false. An apology followed by an immediate criticism, is not an apology.

    As for insulting Meaghan and the other people who enjoy her site, by calling them “sheeple” and comparing Charley to some Trump supporter incident, all I can say is conspiracy theory much?

    Since this is Meaghan’s site and hers alone, she is free to put whatever she wants in her blog. You can access the data on Charley without EVER having to read her blog if you so choose. It’s all about choice. Remember choice?

    Yes, many of the cases do not have a huge amount of detail available. That is because many of the cases in general have little or no detail available. If you don’t understand how older cases work, perhaps you should delve into the history of missing persons cases pre- Adam Walsh. Most teen cases were considered runaways. Adults were hardly ever considered missing persons unless there was visible foul play. Minorities were almost never considered missing persons and reports were almost never taken on their status. If you disappeared from, let’s say, Atlanta, and an unidentified body was found 15 miles away in Roswell, the two police jurisdictions did not talk to each other. Conversations between police in different states was almost non-existent. That’s why we are identifying cases TODAY of people who went missing and remains were found from the 1960s/1970s. Thank G-d for mitochondrial DNA! You can’t research information on cases when there is no information. I’ve been trying to do it for years for another site and I often to send things to Meaghan, which, BTW, she adds to those cases. Maybe it is your delivery of such.

    To come onto someone else’s site and criticize them is tantamount to being the kind of grade school bully who ends up spending time in the principal’s office. I teach children everyday who aren’t allowed to show this disrespect to other children. Learn from them and perhaps try to private message Meaghan again with your site related comments. Better yet, don’t go away mad- just go away!!! See how easy that is?

  15. hennylee January 16, 2017 / 9:41 am

    VERY well said Amy!

    I am late to game on this one – but I am literally rolling my eyes at Michael’s posts. I may have given some of his points validity – if he hadn’t completely nullified them by bring politics and Meaghan’s appearance into it!

    As multiple people have said both on this thread and many times in the past… this is MEAGHAN’S Website and her blog… if you do not like and/or agree with the way that it is run – no one is telling you yo have to stay and participate in it. There are other websites out there – go look at them. Or if you think that you can do better start one yourself.

    I have been fortunate enough to get to know Meaghan over the last year – she is a very smart and interesting woman. I enjoy her blog having a mix of personal and Missing people entries…. I like to know the person.

    As others have said – it’s all about choice – You have chosen to “Stay here” – either be respectful or constructive – or make the choice to MOVE ON to a site that is run by someone who fits YOUR requirements.

    And as far as ANYONE who has comments to make about Meaghan’s clothing choices, looks etc. Are we really this childish?!?! The world is made up of a lot of different people with different choices and styles… thank goodness, because it would be an awful boring and somewhat scary world if everyone looked and dressed alike. Let’s not be elementary school kids poking fun of someone who dresses, act or looks different that us…. grow up.

    Meaghan – make the choices that YOU are comfortable with. in my opinion with the blog – continue doing what you are doing – those that enjoy it will be here – and those that don’t enjoy will find another blog /site to critique!

    • Meaghan January 16, 2017 / 9:49 pm

      Thank you very much, HennyLee.

      I agree that Michael W. does make some good points, and I don’t see him as a troll — he’s corresponded with me and twice he’s nailed me packets of valuable information. He’s an Irregular.

      The stuff about my clothes and my hair is really hurtful and uncalled for though. Comparing my blog followers to Trump supporters was REALLY hurtful and also wrong.

      Trump has behaved abominably and his supporters will overlook everything. But when I’ve screwed up, I’ve gotten called on it. For example, a few years ago on this blog I spoke of the death of an MP’s mom and said “another one bites the dust.” Several people, regular commenters, posted saying “that was really inappropriate, what on earth were you thinking there?” I had just been trying a creative way of saying “this person died” and I hadn’t known the phrase was wrong. I apologized immediately (unlike Trump).

  16. Jen January 16, 2017 / 11:32 pm

    Well. Meaghan just lost a long, long time Charley follower. Three Trump related comments in one short post that are based purely on opinion. This is not the forum for politics. I read this site even more frequently during this election to briefly escape the politics. Regardless of whose blog this is; when the admin continually pushes for acceptance, then talks from both sides of the mouth,well… Moving on.

    • Meaghan January 16, 2017 / 11:56 pm

      I’m not going to apologize for defending myself here in the comments from a man who insulted you and every other regular commenter as well as me. And I have never blogged about Trump on here and never will.

    • P.m January 21, 2017 / 2:25 am

      So what exactly upset you about what Meaghan had written? Can you explain please.

Leave a Reply

