MP of the week: Emily Paul

This week’s featured missing person is Emily Wynell Paul, a fourteen-year-old girl who ran away from Southport, Florida three and a half years ago, on April 13, 2013. She left a note saying she might come back after she turned eighteen. Emily will turn eighteen this coming March; here’s to hoping she does return.

As with most runaway cases, I don’t have a lot on her, but she did take her Xbox with her. I wonder if it was to sell.

(For me: I haven’t been doing all that great lately, hence my relative lack of blogging and updates. My medicine is being adjusted for the third time in as many months. I’m really hoping it works. I’ve been having godawful mood swings and falling apart over the least little thing.)

16 thoughts on “MP of the week: Emily Paul

  1. Christina December 21, 2016 / 2:51 pm

    Such a sad story. I hope she will come back after she turns 18.

  2. Justin December 21, 2016 / 9:01 pm

    When I hear about these young girls who run away and who vanish completely, my knee-jerk reaction is that they are either being trafficked or they are dead or both. Sometimes that’s not the case and they ran off with a friend/boyfriend for whatever reasons and nothing bad happened to them. But more often than not, I feel that they ended up in a bad situation.

    • Meaghan December 25, 2016 / 9:36 pm

      Well, most runaways — including most of mine, who have all been gone a long time and are therefore at the highest risk — return alive.

      When the incredible scandal broke about my seeing Michael and my parents flipped due to the age difference, I wanted to run away with him. He didn’t. He said it would ruin my life. (It would also have ruined his.) His resolve might have broken, though, if my parents hadn’t decided to let me keep seeing him. It was one of the few wise decisions they made — it wasn’t that they approved of him, or of our relationship, it was a “keep your friends close and your enemies closer” idea. They couldn’t get me to stop seeing him entirely without making drastic, not-good changes in my life, and they were afraid of what I would do if they tried.

  3. marsyao December 21, 2016 / 10:27 pm

    I notice two things in this case, first she was picked up by someone driving a car, that would mean she had a plan, and she knew a place to go, then she She left a note saying she might come back after she turned eighteen, that makes me think she was in a relationship with someone that her family would not approve and probably illegal.
    So the scenario I would think in this case is that this girl met an older man via internet, and man made her believe he loved her, and convinced her to run awway with him, and because this relationship is illegal, he may tell her this is just temporary arraigment, and when she become adult, then she can reunite with her family.
    If my guess is true, chance 9 of 10 he was telling her a lie, and some very bad things must have already happend to her.

  4. Mary December 22, 2016 / 4:26 pm

    A safe place? I wonder has anyone checked all of her friends and relatives’ homes?

    • Asha December 23, 2016 / 3:36 am

      A better question would be, who was abusing her in that home to the point she was compelled to believe she had to run off to parts unknown in order to escape the intolerable situation? Few people seem to understand that children run away not to get attention or be rebellious, but rather to escape hopeless and intolerable circumstances. A child an endure a private Hell of abuse and neglect behind closed doors, yet still smile for the camera and insist that they are fine. No sane person wants to live on the streets, but sometimes the streets are preferable to what one suffers behind closed doors.

      • Meaghan December 23, 2016 / 9:00 am

        Sometimes runaway children are fleeing abuse. Sometimes they’re leaving to be with someone they love. Sometimes they’re fleeing abuse, but wind up in an even worse situation after they leave.

        I can only hope Emily is alive and all right and not stuck in a situation she can’t get out of.

      • marsyao December 27, 2016 / 8:57 am

        And sometimes children run away because they were with wrong crowd and got used to a life style not approving by their parents. In this case I do not think Emily was running away from abuse, no child who ran away from abused parents would leave a note about her return when she was eighteen

      • Concerned cousin March 31, 2017 / 10:01 pm

        She is my family member and I can assure you she was not abused, but thanks for your assumption.

  5. Justin December 23, 2016 / 10:34 am

    You wondered if she took the Xbox to sell.

    I found this article at http://www.newsherald.com/news/20160413/we-will-never-give-up-hope-family-seeks-missing-teen-3-years-after-disappearance that says that she had been researching on websites on how to successfully run away. One of the things she did was “She took the items she had used for online communications, such as her Xbox, and she has never been back on her Facebook account.”

    Another article at http://www.wjhg.com/home/headlines/What-Ever-Happened-to-Emily-Paul-360817381.html states “Bay County Sheriff’s Officials say Emily packed a large suitcase. They believe she wheeled it to the roadway where she was picked up by a vehicle.” I think she was picked up as well as you don’t take a “large suitcase” if you are running away on foot.

    I have a feeling she was being coached by someone who was making sure that she covered her tracks and once they got their hands… well, I hope it was a boyfriend who cared about her. But I still think the odds are she was trafficked or murdered.

    • Lauren December 23, 2016 / 2:53 pm

      Well said. I totally agree.

    • Meaghan December 25, 2016 / 9:32 pm

      This FB page isn’t Emily’s, it’s one they made to publicize Emily’s disappearance. It also hasn’t been updated since April, but April of THIS year. If it had been April of a previous year it would say “April 11, 2015” or whatever year instead of just “April 11.”

      • Darlings December 30, 2016 / 1:39 pm

        Hi Meghan, i am not sure what you meant with your post, but i have not been stating anything opposite above: i did not say this is Emily’s fb page, it is a page for Emily, meaning about her missing. Also i do talk about April and i am aware that this is 2016, there was no intent to talk about other years.

        However, this one page has been regularly used prior April 2016 and hereafter it stopped. This is something i wonder about, it looks like something happened at that time, e.g.new information.

      • Meaghan December 30, 2016 / 5:00 pm

        Ah, okay. I misunderstood what you were saying.

        Maybe you could message them and ask why the page hasn’t been updated since April?

  6. Aram December 25, 2016 / 5:30 pm

    Sadly, to me this sounds like a trafficking case. The photos all look like typical social media selfies a 13/14 year old girl would take, and to not access social media after all this time is worrying.

Leave a Reply

