Cogeadr?

I’m looking at the Cleveland Police Department website and they’ve got this missing guy with schizophrenia and it says he’s taking “cogeadr.”

That’s not a real medication; clearly the word has been misspelled. I have no idea what the correct word is; I tried Googling it and came up with zilch.

I called my own psychiatric clinic to ask and they’re not sure. The secretary said she’d pass the info on to the nurse to look up. Considering how that nurse NEVER calls me back when I have actual medical complaints (like “this new medication you put me on is making me walk like a drunk person, is that normal and will it go away?”), I have a feeling I’m not going to get a call back.

Muttergrumble.

9 thoughts on “Cogeadr?

  1. Shari December 6, 2016 / 11:22 am

    It is probably Cogentin…my son has schizophrenia and he sometimes uses it . It helps eith tremors caused by antipsychotics.

    • Meaghan December 6, 2016 / 11:26 am

      That sounds like a likely possibility. But I wonder how they got “cogeadr” out of Cogentin.

  2. Amber December 6, 2016 / 11:48 am

    I’m going to guess “Corgard” which is a medication for angina, only cuz when I google cogeadr medication, corgard comes up…

  3. Daniel December 6, 2016 / 4:13 pm

    Interesting to point out Cogeador is someone who has a limp, or walks with a limp in Spanish slang…..

  4. Sandra December 7, 2016 / 1:31 am

    Unlikely, but I’ll throw out that there’s a beta-blocker called Coreg CR. I know that beta-blockers are sometimes used in conjunction with antipsychotics in the treatment of schizophrenia (though I don’t know if Coreg CR specifically is ever used for that purpose).

  5. Perl December 7, 2016 / 10:46 pm

    I’ll throw in my guess, too – maybe Clozaril? One of the side effects is a dangerously low white blood cell count that could result in the body’s inability to properly fight infection. It’s very serious and the labs need to be checked at least monthly. Cogentin looks most like whatever they wrote but why mention it?

  6. Johanne Gill December 8, 2016 / 1:44 am

    Can I have the link to this missing person, Meaghan? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

