The Charley Project turned 12 yesterday

Twelve years ago yesterday, I officially launched the Charley Project. I had spent all summer and early autumn constructing the website. Michael was the one who suggested I name it after Charley Ross. At the time the site went live, I was living in a college dormitory room in Conway, Arkansas, I had just turned nineteen, and NamUs didn’t exist yet.

How time flies. Since then, in terms of the number of cases, the database has about tripled in size. I’m not sure whether, at nineteen years old, I thought I’d still be running the site solo at thirty-one. I think I probably never asked myself that question.

6 thoughts on “The Charley Project turned 12 yesterday

  1. Bryan Hires October 13, 2016 / 7:38 pm

    My name is Bryan Hires. My twin brother was James William Hires. The Info on his page about seeing him in California is wrong. It never happened. Can you take it down? Thank you.

    • Meaghan October 13, 2016 / 7:42 pm

      Sure thing. My apologies; thanks for bringing that to my attention.

  2. Gypsy October 13, 2016 / 8:50 pm

    I hope your page had a great birthday! You should be so proud. I am sure you have helped a lot of people.

  3. Lauren October 14, 2016 / 9:39 am

    Happy Birthday Charley Project! Thank you Meaghan for all that you do!

  4. michael w. October 15, 2016 / 3:52 pm

    Fun fact: Conway, Arkansas was one of the two cities that gave Conway Twitty his name, along with Twitty, Texas.

  5. Deb October 16, 2016 / 8:39 pm

    Wow! Congrats on 12 years! A lot of websites run by a single person do not make it nearly this long. Thank you for your continued commitment to this great site!

Leave a Reply

