Ah, my old friend Contradictory Information

I was checking out Reddit’s Unresolved Mysteries section and found a discussion about Samuel Byrd, with a link to this 2014 article about Connecticut disappearances. The article provides a few more details about his disappearance — not much, but I had almost nothing to go on before.

The article claims Samuel disappeared in 1976, but the NCMEC gives the year as 1977. Frustratingly, in the “date last seen” for Samuel on his NamUs page, it says 1977, but in the “circumstances of disappearance” it says 1976.

Perhaps his family, who didn’t report him missing till around 2014 or maybe a year or so before, simply doesn’t remember the year, But he is said to have gone missing just after his high school graduation, and it should be easy to figure out when that was. This piece of information would suggest the later year, as most people graduate at age 18 or sometimes 17, and Samuel would have been 17 years and 11 months in June of 1977. However, people occasionally graduate at 16.

So I have one source that says 1977, one source that says 1976, and one source that can’t make up its mind.

*headdesk*

4 thoughts on “Ah, my old friend Contradictory Information

  1. lz October 13, 2016 / 10:46 am

    I would use 1977, honestly. I’ve never met someone who graduated high school at 16.

  2. sunfire October 13, 2016 / 12:22 pm

    I have, actually. My mother did. And I went to college with a really smart kid who graduated at about 14. I was 17 when I got out because my bday is in July. But in general, I think most are 18 when they graduate.

  3. Gypsy October 13, 2016 / 8:48 pm

    I was 17 because of my birthday. But I know many who graduated at 16 or before.

  4. Anonymous October 14, 2016 / 9:27 am

    Ok, am I crazy or doing the math wrong? If he was born in July of 1958, he would have been 17 yrs and 11 mos in June 1976. Your site and Namus state he disappeared at age 17 so this would mean he had to have disappeared in 1976. If it were 1977 he would be 18 and just about to turn 19. Right?

Leave a Reply

