Delano Wilson’s father found not guilty of murder

I found out from the “No Body” Twitter feed that Delano Wilson‘s father, Willie Wilson who’d been charged with killing him, has been found not guilty. That’s quite unusual; even in MWAB cases, most people in this country that face criminal charges either plead out, or get convicted at trial. If you look at my list of convictions in MWAB cases, it’s more than three times longer than my list of acquittals. I think the rate of MWAB convictions is so high because, without a body, all other aspects of the case must be very strong, airtight as it were.

And apparently the case wasn’t airtight here. This article says the prosecution pointed out that Willie Wilson invented a story about his son being kidnapped, a story that was easily disproved, and said the only reasonable explanation why Willie dreamed up the abduction story is because he killed Delano. But there was almost no physical evidence to speak of,  or witnesses, and I’m thinking perhaps at least some of the jury members were like “I know he’s guilty, but…” The law says if there is reasonable doubt, the jury must acquit the defendant.

That poor baby was only six weeks old.

12 thoughts on “Delano Wilson’s father found not guilty of murder

  1. Chris October 11, 2016 / 12:49 pm

    I know its just a snapshot but based on your original page for Delano it is hard to understand how the prosecutors were not able to prove their case against his father.

    Poor little guy.

    • Meaghan October 11, 2016 / 12:57 pm

      I don’t know what sort of defense they used. But, if I were the defense, I might argue that perhaps Delano died in an accident or perhaps he was alive, having been given or sold to someone else. I would say that even if you assume Willie knew what happened to the baby, there is still insufficient evidence to even prove a murder took place at all, let alone prove that Willie committed murder. There were no witnesses and only a few traces of blood, and a man whose story stinks.

  2. Kat October 11, 2016 / 7:45 pm

    OT Top story on Daily Mail is a possible video of Kayla Berg. I’m not linking because it is 50/50 a hoax, but it is getting major attention, good for the case, not good if it is for real. Just google it or go to the DM site.

    • Meaghan October 11, 2016 / 7:46 pm

      Yeah, I saw it. I put an article about it on the Charley Project’s Facebook.

      My voice is back btw.

  3. Chris October 12, 2016 / 2:50 am

    Kat, you are right, the video was confirmed as fake.

    • Meaghan October 12, 2016 / 9:33 am

      I’m glad it’s not real.

  4. Kat October 12, 2016 / 1:06 pm

    I read it was fake earlier. I’m glad it wasn’t real as well. I guess it falls under freedom of expression or whatever, but this kind of stuff can really do some damage, and I wish it wasn’t out there. Bright side being Kayla’s case got some new light shone on it , maybe something will break now. There was something else in the news I was going to post but I totally forgot what. I’ll have to go check. My brain is full of family drama at the moment LOL.

  5. Kat October 12, 2016 / 1:08 pm

    Oh, and it’s ********* that Delano’s “father” got off. What, the baby just hitched somewhere? I get circumstantial evidence can be a Pandora’s Box to open, but this is where the intersection of law and common sense really brasses me off.

      • Kat October 12, 2016 / 5:47 pm

        No, I know, I get it. I just think that at some point common sense and the law divide. I do not think that child is alive. There are others as well, those kids are not safe. I just get frustrated. I’m clearly not the only one.

    • Candy a.k.a. Bee October 13, 2016 / 3:07 am

      I’m relieved that the video wasn’t real either. I read about the missing person flyers being used for a Halloween party and felt so bad for the Kesse family. Drew Kesse and his wife sent me many of Jennifer’s missing cards years ago to have the truck drivers at work leave on bulletin boards at truck stops etc since they went through several states. That was when they had no idea where she could possibly be. Or who would do a thing like that. Now the last I knew it had went quiet for a reason- I think that they are on the right path now. Suspect was not ‘forgotten’ like he wanted to be.

      They stay so strong through all of this to this day but I hated to know flyers of Jennifer were used like that. The best out of it will be the perp knowing that even with those circumstances, she is still not forgotten and he’d likely love if the media never showed her again. Too bad. Hopefully he will answer for that soon. And anyone else who knowingly did help him will as well.

      This is just my opinion based on a fresh look at who had motive for such a thing which info came from the site blink on crime last year. Then it had to go silent to not jeopardize anything but I think it is correct. The perps time will come. If he had no problem doing this then he is not going to worry or care to do it again if he feels no one is looking his way. It’s just such a sad case, you arent even safe when you’re simply working and like Jen life was really just beginning. Makes me sick and so sad for her dad mom friends brother boyfriend and her coworkers.

      May justice come soon for this family.

Leave a Reply

