Car crash update

I wrote about how on Saturday an SUV pulled out in front of my car and I hit my head and my car is totaled. Well, I thought I’d give an update on what’s going on:

I got the police report on Monday and learned the driver of the SUV didn’t have a license, something I’m pretty angry about, but what can you do? The police will deal with that. My insurance company has uninsured motorist coverage and I thought I’d have to rely on them, but they were able to locate some insurance information for the actual registered owner of the SUV, who was not the same person as the driver.

I’ve been on the phone with the owner’s insurance and it looks like they’ll cover everything. I asked if the fact that he lent his car to an unlicensed person was going to be an in issue and they said “that would not be enough” for them to deny coverage. If she had taken the car without permission that’s one thing, but that doesn’t appear to be the case here. I suppose his rates are going to go up over this, but maybe that’ll teach him not to lend his car to unqualified people.

Meanwhile, the goose egg on my head is almost gone. I saw my family doctor yesterday and she thinks I’m doing all right, although she did schedule a “just to be sure” appointment for a month from now.

Today is my 31st birthday. I feel really happy to be alive.

25 thoughts on “Car crash update

  1. Lyndsie October 5, 2016 / 2:36 pm

    Happy Birthday! I’m glad you’re all right. Hope your birthday is a happy one.

  2. Emily October 5, 2016 / 2:36 pm

    Happy Birthday Meagan!

  3. Bridget October 5, 2016 / 2:38 pm

    Happy Birthday, I’m sorry to hear about your accident.
    You share your birthday with my baby sister well she isn’t a baby but my little sister.
    If the insurance company won’t cover the accident ask about resident relative for the person that was driving. Anyone whom he lives with can be held responsible.

  4. Lisa T October 5, 2016 / 2:50 pm

    Happy Birthday. May this year bring all the best to you and no more careless SUV drivers

  5. Baraby, William Q CIV USARMY USACC (US) October 5, 2016 / 2:52 pm

    Meaghan,
    That goose egg on your head could bring you a lot of money. That’s what insurance is for. You need to claim that with insurance. I pay 500 a month in insurance for my 4 cars, that’s what it is for. My son wrecked my car two years ago and the other lady hurt her ankle (it was already broken and in a cast). The claim with my insurance company is still ongoing. *I think they last offered her 50,000.00 and she refused it. Not sure how much she is trying to get but my insurance offers t0 the lady continually go up. Glad you are ok.

    Bill Baraby

  6. Jaime October 5, 2016 / 3:00 pm

    Happy Birthday!

  7. outfastco October 5, 2016 / 4:00 pm

    Happy Birthday!

  8. Anka October 5, 2016 / 4:25 pm

    Happy Birthday! Glad you’re feeling better.

  9. Janny October 5, 2016 / 4:26 pm

    HaPpY BiRtHdAy
    Glad you are okay and alive to celebrate this happy happy day.

  10. Marshall Loveday October 5, 2016 / 4:37 pm

    Hang in there, Meaghan! If you need help with deciding on your replacement vehicle, I would be happy to consult with you. I know a bit about the used car market…….

  11. M October 5, 2016 / 6:23 pm

    Happy birthday!

  12. diamond414x October 5, 2016 / 6:47 pm

    Happy Birthday to you, Meaghan. Glad you’re doing ok after the accident & I hope you have a wonderful birthday. 🙂

  13. Holycowgirl October 5, 2016 / 7:34 pm

    Very glad you’re okay. And a very specially happy birthday, too.
    Generally speaking the head can take a fair amount of bashing without damage to what’s inside; good idea to have yourself checked out, and keep an eye out for concussion.
    I’m infuriated too on your and everyone’s behalf about the uninsured driver. Who is probably registered to vote.

  14. Celeste Keenan October 5, 2016 / 7:53 pm

    Happy birthday Megan. I’m sorry that happened to you.

  15. Christine October 5, 2016 / 8:27 pm

    Happy Birthday & glad you’re ok from the accident!!!!!

  16. Lauren October 5, 2016 / 8:52 pm

    Happy Birthday! Wish you could spend it feeling better though.

    • Meaghan October 5, 2016 / 9:37 pm

      Hey, sore throat aside I feel pretty good. I’m alive. I’m not in the hospital with serious injuries. The other woman walked away without a scratch; my reflexes saved her life. If I had T-boned her I probably would have killed her and I don’t suppose a person ever gets over it if something like that happens, even if they weren’t at fault. So today is a good today.

      • Lauren October 6, 2016 / 12:11 am

        You are so right, it could have been a lot worse. I am so glad it wasn’t! What a scary experience though. By the way my family, several coworkers and I are all sick with sinus problems and sore throats too. Definitely something going around! Hope you are 100% soon and enjoying your Birthday!

    • Meaghan October 5, 2016 / 9:38 pm

      Yeah, I didn’t mention in the entry that I have a sore throat for some reason today. I don’t know if it’s hay fever or what. Not sneezing or anything, don’t otherwise feel sick, but I can barely talk.

  17. Ruth October 5, 2016 / 10:03 pm

    Happy Birthday🎂

  18. Melinda October 5, 2016 / 11:05 pm

    Happy birthday, Meaghan…glad you’re still with us! Maybe your throat is sore from shock. That happened to my mother years ago when I had a terrible accident and was losing a lot of blood. She was so shaken up that she lost her voice for a few days.

  19. Gypsy October 6, 2016 / 8:35 am

    I hope you had a wonderful birthday!

  20. diamondlil16 October 7, 2016 / 2:22 am

    Happy belated birthday wishes Meaghan! Did you go out for dinner or get some cool books for gifts? Are you a Libra? Both of my parents are, their birthdays are next week.

    Warm salt water gargle for the sore throat.

    Good that the insurance doesn’t seem to be a problem. The driver that hit me was using family vehicle and on a suspended license. I googled her name and she had lots of previous arrests and charges and also was unscathed. Took over 2 years for my attorney to get any money for my injuries, after he took his 35% I learned it’s probably better to just deal with the insurance companies and forget a lawyer.

    • Meaghan October 7, 2016 / 9:26 pm

      I Googled my driver’s name and couldn’t find anything except that she gave birth to a daughter named Tania two years ago.

Leave a Reply

