Feeling a bit better today

I’m not so tired today, but I am still experiencing side effects from the increased dose of medication. I’m having trouble walking in a straight line. I haven’t fallen over or even lost my balance or anything like that, and I’m able to get to where I want to go, but it’s more of a C-shaped route than a straight here-to-there. I keep bumping into walls and doorways and furniture because of this.

It could be a lot worse, though. My body always takes a few days to adjust to medicine changes, and when I STARTED taking this particular medicine a year ago, I was shaking so bad it scared people. I couldn’t even eat properly because I couldn’t use a knife and fork and spoon; I kept dropping them. I couldn’t hold a glass to my lips to drink because my hands shook so bad I spilled it everywhere (and I usually dropped the glass too). It took like half an hour to write a very short blog entry explaining why I wasn’t get anything done, because the medicine made it so difficult to type. But I was patient, and eventually all that disappeared.

Compared to last year, these side effects are nothing. And I expect that within another few things I’ll be back to normal.

Anyhoo, I’ve been running cases through Newspapers.com and seeing what I can find. So far, not much, but what I HAVE dug up is pretty interesting. I’m also looking at those “have you seen these missing children?” newspaper pages they used to have in the eighties. It’s ludicrously inefficient but I was able to get one small but significant distinguishing characteristic for Taj Narbonne. You’ll see.

Oh, and I’ve got two cases to write resolved cases for, and eight cases to purge. And the day’s not over yet.

See y’all later.

 

11 thoughts on “Feeling a bit better today

    • diamondlil16 September 21, 2016 / 11:25 pm

      Thanks Natalie for this new update on Jessica’s case. Been following that since the beginning.

      Hang in there Meaghan.

    • Meaghan September 21, 2016 / 8:28 pm

      Wow. I wondered if they were EVER going to solve that case. This UID case AND Jacob Wetterling in the same month. w00t!

      • Meaghan September 22, 2016 / 2:25 pm

        Sorry, I posted a reply that was supposed to be an answer to a reply below about Taj’s teeth. My bad. I will delete it pronto.

  1. Melinda September 22, 2016 / 10:41 am

    Hi Meaghan…glad that you’re doing better. Health issues suck! About Taj Narbonne, the detail you’re referring to, is it his teeth being decayed? I never noticed that before.

    That could also point to him being neglected before he went missing. His case is another one that makes me sad because I was also an unwanted stepchild.

    • Meaghan September 22, 2016 / 2:22 pm

      I tried to reply to this on my Kindle Fire just when I was almost done it went kaput. Yes, teeth decay in young children can an indication of child/abuse neglect, but it can have other reasons:

      1. The parents child’s parents, either were not taught how to make nutritious meals for their (like, say, their own parents were like that, or they grew up in foster homes or the like), or they’re working very long hours to support their kids and just are just so exhausted they am not up to cooking a proper meal when they get home.
      2. I have heard that food stamps basically amount to like $5 per person per day. It would be VERY hard to a get a nutritious diet to stop a person being hungry all the time, on such a small amount of money. Furthermore, in some states, if you’re getting both cash assistance and food stamps, they will reduce your cash by however much you’re getting in food stamps — even though food stamps can’t pay for other necessities of daily like such as soap, toothpaste and brushes and floss, diapers, band-aids, menstrual pads, etc. Can a person in such a situation be blamed for wanting to spend what little they have on something like a greasy unhealthy cheeseburger that at least has protein, instead of a healthier but less filling salad?
      4. The kid himself (let’s just say “he” to simplify things) might be eating sugary snacks behind his parents’ back and not be brushing his teeth as regularly as he should, which would of course cause decay.
      5.And noooww…. there’s the tragic issue of dental care as it is in this country. In many places, particularly rural areas, there a shortage of dentists, and there aren’t a lot of college grads who want to sign up for dental school anymore. After all, dentistry requires many years of expensive training and education, which means having to pay back student loans (in the tens, sometimes the hundreds of thousands of dollars), and dentists don’t get either the pay or the prestige that medial doctors do. A lot of private insurers don’t have dental coverage as part of their medical plans, and in some states Medicaid doesn’t cover dental issues either. Though they totally should, because it’s common sense. Dental health plays an important role in overall body health.

  2. hennylee September 22, 2016 / 12:11 pm

    Glad you are feeling a bit better! ❤

  3. Kat September 22, 2016 / 2:44 pm

    On the dentist thing, you also have the case of my neighbours across the street, which is the reason of “parents just don’t give a **** and as long as the kids stay out of their way so they can watch tv and be on their phones, life is good”. I babysat this kid till I physically couldn’t anymore, and the parental supervision is nil.

    • Meaghan September 22, 2016 / 5:21 pm

      http://www.charleyproject.org/cases/l/lunsford_aliayah.html Aaliayah Lunsford’s siblings were removed from her family’s home by CPS shortly after the little girl disappeared. There were four at home at time, and were aged nine months to eleven years old. Aaliayah’s mom subsequently gave birth to twins, and those were taken as well. Last I heard she had nine children altogether. Parental rights have been terminated for both Mom and Dad, in part because,the children had irreversible tooth decay.

      My guess — and this is just a theory, mind — is the tooth thing was just an excuse and they were looking for any reason they could to keep the kids away from their parents.

  4. whereaboutsstillunknown September 22, 2016 / 11:58 pm

    Just another potential explanation for the dental stuff. Some people just get stuck with bad teeth. I unfortunately was one of them. I say “was” because I finally got tired of it and I have implants now. But as a child, I did receive regular dental care, but it didn’t prevent a few of my teeth from growing at an odd angle. It was painful because they were pushing against other teeth. It also meant I couldn’t get a brush or even floss in there. I had adult teeth coming in while my baby teeth were still there. I had a tooth crack way above the gum line and had to have surgery. Some of us are just cursed lol

Leave a Reply

