Flashback Friday: Robert Lepsy

This week’s Flashback Friday case is Robert Richard “Dick” Lepsy, who disappeared from the small town of Grayling in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula on October 29, 1969. He worked at a supermarket, left on his lunch break and never came back. He had four kids.

An interesting thing about Lepsy’s case, left off his Charley Project page: there’s a theory that he was actually D.B. Cooper, who in 1971 hijacked a plane flying between Portland, Oregon and Seattle, Washington, ransomed the passengers for $200k (the equivalent over over a million dollars in modern money), parachuted his way to freedom and vanished without a trace. Author Ross Richardson has put forth this theory in his book Still Missing: Rethinking the D.B. Cooper Case and other Mysterious Unsolved Disappearances, which costs $14.99 in dead tree edition, or $4.99 on Kindle, or $0.00 if you have Kindle Unlimited. I suppose I ought to read it.

It’s hard for me to compare pictures, but I suppose if Lepsy lost a lot of weight he would resemble the D.B. Cooper sketch. I don’t feel like I ought to cover the whole skyjacker theory on his casefile until I’ve familiarized myself with it, which I haven’t, yet.

On the other hand, the articles about this have turned up several more pics of Lepsy which I do plan to add forthwith.

5 thoughts on “Flashback Friday: Robert Lepsy

  1. B September 16, 2016 / 5:53 pm

    Grayling is not in the Upper Peninsula, it’s in the Lower Peninsula.

    • Meaghan September 16, 2016 / 6:00 pm

      I always thought of the whole “northern part of the mitten” as being the UP as well. When I was 12 I spent a week or so at some state park up there and they called it “upper peninsula.”

  2. B September 16, 2016 / 7:42 pm

    In general, northern part of the mitten is considered “Northern Lower Michigan”…Upper Peninsula is geographically distinct and you’re not in it until you cross over the Mackinac Bridge (pronounced Mackinaw)

  3. michael w. September 18, 2016 / 10:28 am

    I live in Michigan. I could see where someone would be confused. The state’s first congressional district encompasses the entire Upper Peninsula as well as most of the northern part of the Lower Peninsula. It is (geographically speaking) one of the largest congressional districts by area in the entire country. The biggest is the entire state of Alaska, which was formerly represented by Nick Begich (profiled here on Charley). His successor (Don Young) is still serving in the seat, more than 40 years later. Begich’s wife twice ran for the seat and lost. However, Nick’s son Mark served a term in the U.S. senate representing the Last Frontier.

    Meghan: I can include a program on D.B. Cooper in the packet of goodies I”m sending you when you upload Austin Stephanos and Perry Cohen: 🙂

    • Meaghan September 18, 2016 / 10:51 pm

      Yeah, I still need to add those boys and when I do I look forward to your reward. Don’t bother with D.B. Cooper though; he’s never really attracted my interest.

Leave a Reply

