More little updates

I’ve finished my updates for today — nothing terribly exciting, just a bunch of runaways and some small case details. (Does anyone think the conversation Shelia Diane Hughes had with her sister the night before her disappearance is incredibly creepy? Perhaps it meant nothing, perhaps they were just discussing mortality in general, I don’t know. But it seems very suspicious to me, given what happened later. I wish I knew the context of her statements.)

Anyway, as I often do, I made a little tiny few case updates of the kind I don’t usually add to the updates page:

  1. Lisa Jane Borden has a new picture, emailed to me by a Charley Project irregular whose name I don’t know.
  2. Amy Lee Fandel‘s age-progression has been updated. I’m not sure why hers was done and her brother Scott‘s was not.
  3. Edward Joseph Garlinghouse Jr. has an alias name and a few alias dates of birth, courtesy of NamUs. Edward, incidentally, is a hero, as you can tell by the circumstances of his disappearance. I thought I should mention that.
  4. Janteyl Danielle Johnson‘s name is pronounced “Jon-tel” so I added that in her distinguishing characteristics. I had thought it might be Jan-tayl or something.
10 thoughts on “More little updates

  1. Melinda September 7, 2016 / 8:46 pm

    That IS creepy, what she said. And I agree…it could just be one of those deep “meaning of life” conversations or there could be much more to it.
    Something tells me (like you also suspect) that it’s the latter.

    Shelia’s case is like many other cases of pregnant women who vanish because their husbands or boyfriends want them to abort and they refuse.
    Her boyfriend was the last person to be seen with her, so my suspicions are focused on him. The only problem is that he died so maybe we’ll never find out what happened.

    • Meaghan September 7, 2016 / 11:41 pm

      My boyfriend and I have a running joke that comes from my missing person obsession and fits with my dark sense of humor: often, when I leave the house for an errand of a few minutes, like to collect the mail from the box across the street, or retrieve something from my car, or travel two blocks from the house to the management office to pay the rent, I will say casually, “If I’m not back in a few hours you should probably call the cops.” I don’t say it every time or even most times, but I do at least every few weeks or so.

      It’s a joke, of course, and Michael knows it and just smiles. But suppose I DID disappear during that brief time period. Suppose someone grabbed me, like poor little Laura Ayala, lifted right out of her shoes. It is unlikely but it could happen to anyone.

      Of course the police would find my final statement incredibly suspicious, and probably would think Michael killed me and made up those last words in a clumsy transparent attempt to make it look like a kidnapping, even after he said this was an ongoing thing between us and didn’t mean I was afraid of someone snatching me. ESPECIALLY if he said that. I mean, why would the police, who are taught to believe no one and suspect everyone, especially the victim’s boyfriend, especially the last person to see the victim, believe THAT? People on online forums like Websleuths would make much of it too. There would be much ado about it, even though it really meant nothing.

      • Melinda September 8, 2016 / 7:37 am

        Yes, good point. It just seems like a weird coincidence, ya know?

  2. Sheri September 8, 2016 / 8:51 am

    I was just wondering. Do the families of missing persons have to pay for these age progressions or does someone do this for free? In the case of Amy Fandel, could her family not been able to afford both AP’s? Just curious.

  3. M.C September 10, 2016 / 12:58 am

    I think the times are off. Renard was pulled over at 1am but told the cop he dropped her off at 3am? Are you sure that you didn’t mean 10pm on the 1st?

    • Meaghan September 10, 2016 / 10:32 am

      No, the times are correct according to the source. She was with him at the traffic stop and he claims they parted ways two hours later.

    • Meaghan September 10, 2016 / 11:02 am

      Just to make it more clear, though, I changed that paragraph a little bit. Now it says:

      “The police stopped Simmons’s car at a road block in Pickensville, Alabama at 1:00 a.m. on September 2; Hughes was in the car at the time. This is the last time anyone saw her. Simmons later told authorities that he dropped her off at her home at approximately 3:00 a.m. on September 2. She has never been heard from again.”

  4. B.Fraser September 10, 2016 / 2:35 pm

    Regarding the brother & sister who are missing, I would think (why the brother has no age progression) the sister has the only age progression, because the family seems to think the sister is the only one who may still be living? It says this at the very bottom of the page for both the sister & brother. That’s my only guess.

    • Meaghan September 10, 2016 / 5:22 pm

      I doubt it. They do APs for obviously dead children all the time.

Leave a Reply

