Thinking aloud, 9/5/2016

  • Carol Ann Smith: Well, that looks incredibly suspicious, does it not?
  • Eric Grady Smith: Normally, when someone disappears on a hunting trip, I think “hunting accident/got lost and died of exposure.” But this case really puzzles me. It’s not as if Smith disappeared while hunting in the remote wilderness in some huge national park; he was on his own property. Searchers had a very good idea about where to look, and it can’t have been that large an area, yet they found no trace of him.
    Everyone emphasized how careful Smith was at work (although, ironically, the reason he’s blind in one eye is due to a workplace accident). Mining is a very dangerous profession, and at one point the mine Smith was in charge of won some kind of recognition for going an entire year without a single accident. He carefully followed the safety regulations, and whenever new laws were passed he studied them and made sure to apply them correctly. It seems like someone who was so stringent about safety at work would be that way in his personal life too, which, it seems, would make a hunting accident less likely.
    Yet there is, as far as I can tell, no evidence of foul play and no motive. Rather like the Miller Harlow case.
  • Lee Gregory Snellings Jr.: I wish I knew which mental illness Snellings was suffering from. His mom said he could be talked into anything and not recognize danger. Amber Schulze was also said to be “highly suggestible” due to a mental disorder, but I don’t know what was wrong with her either. I wonder if Lee was in an ATV accident, like Gerald Randall Marion (scroll down to the middle of the page). I didn’t find anything about his ATV turning up.
  • Thomas Walter Sprinkle Jr.: He makes the second Charley Project case I’ve got of someone missing an ear. (This is the first one.) I wonder if this was a suicide. I mean, the poor man was 79 years old, he had cancer, he was missing an ear, and then he finds out he’s being evicted. And he had threatened suicide before. Whatever happened, I think if we find Sprinkle’s van, we’ll find him.
  • Harry Lee Womack: A case with contradictory information: one article I found specifically said he suffered from dementia and seizures, but another said he had no medical conditions that would cause mental confusion. Oh-kay…
  • Howard Kenneth Woolwine: I wrote about him yesterday. I am going to call some people tomorrow and see about that photo. I decided to put him up anyway, but I’ve got grave misgivings as to whether the person in that photo is really him. I would have called around today, but I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t have been able to talk to anyone due to the holiday. Anyway… I’m thinking Woolwine might have hitched a ride with somebody. That would explain why the searchers never found him in spite of the fact that he could barely walk.
3 thoughts on “Thinking aloud, 9/5/2016

  1. Ilya Sitnikov September 5, 2016 / 9:51 pm

    The person on Howard Woolwine photo looks like someone in his 20s/30s….

    • Meaghan September 5, 2016 / 9:54 pm

      I agree. I also think he looks like he could be a Hispanic or maybe light-skinned black person. And the Virginia State Police have posted wrong photos of MPs before.

  2. diamondlil16 September 6, 2016 / 10:57 pm

    On the Eric Smith case, how big is his property? Lots of things can go wrong by accident in the woods. Was he known to use a tree blind? One could fall out of that, break something and tried to crawl and succumbed to the injuries. All kinds of poisonous insects and snakes. Eating something poisonous. Wild hogs can attack. Fall into any kind of hole, animal burrow, etc. and you can break an ankle or leg. Accidental drowning. Unless the entire property was searched high and low, search dogs, air, et al, he’s likely still out there, imo.

Leave a Reply

