Thinking aloud about Winifred Long

I updated Winifred Long‘s case today with info I snagged from a newspaper archive. The new information is pretty significant, I think.

The only obvious theory that presents itself here is that her husband killed her. I’m not saying that because I believe it — I believe nothing. I only think it would just be the simplest explanation.

Yet there is a problem with that: Mr. Long (his first name was Alvin, btw) was a war veteran and lost both of his legs to a grenade blast. His arms and hands worked just fine, well enough for him to make a living as a carpenter, so he could still have killed his wife. But I don’t think it would have been possible for him to dispose of the body so thoroughly without help.

And who knows, it could very well have NOT been him at all. Over a million couples get divorced per year; very few of those divorces result in murder. Perhaps Winifred met a random predator at the bus stop; perhaps he offered her a ride home in his car and that’s why she didn’t buy a ticket.

What I would REALLY like to know is this: did the police test-drive Winifred’s car? And if they did, did the car in fact have a faulty transmission?

7 thoughts on “Thinking aloud about Winifred Long

  1. Becky August 25, 2016 / 4:54 pm

    Its always *possible* something else happend to her and that’s why the husband gets away with it so often. Was she really a clerk typist at the Safeway supermarket or was she a checkout clerk?

  2. Marshall Loveday August 25, 2016 / 5:15 pm

    Another interesting case…..
    Did a Google on her, and clicked on another ‘missing persons’ forum (didn’t notice which one), and one of the comments was that she “…was last SEEN at the (? town) Greyhound Bus Station.” Were there any independent witnesses to her being at the bus station, or is this just someone making assumptions based on the estranged husband’s statement? Also. has the roommate been ruled out as a suspect?

    Seems that on these very old cases, it would be beneficial for the public to get most of the investigation details. Perhaps others may have some clues that fit.

    • Meaghan August 26, 2016 / 4:26 pm

      For what it’s worth, the roommate was a woman. The article referred to her by her husband’s name (you know, like “Mrs. John Smith”; I just forgot the actual name and am too lazy to look it up) but it didn’t say if the husband was also living with them.

  3. Doris Mallonee (@dorisday1961) August 25, 2016 / 10:56 pm

    I was wondering that about the car really being broken. I bet I’ve read dozens of these older missing women’s cases who were last seen by their husbands or boyfriends. Did the police back then never think it could be foul play by way of husband? Investigate a little? Look for blood splatter? I’m probably answering my own question. No, no and no.

    • Meaghan August 26, 2016 / 4:31 pm

      Domestic violence is not new — I’ve been reading a lot of historical true crime this year and there are so many instances of men murdering their partners. If I were to guess, I’d say the police did investigate Mr. Long and did their best to solve the case with what they had to work with, which wasn’t much. But I really don’t know.

      If Long was about the same age as his wife, or he’d be in his eighties by now. Possibly he died years ago.

  4. Glen Brushart August 2, 2017 / 1:37 pm

    Thank you for this webpage. Winifred (Winni) was my aunt. I’d love to see this cold case solved. I sent a message to Yuba County Sheriff’s office to ask if they could take one last look at this case since my family is getting on in years. All leads seem to point to the estranged husband, who I think is still alive.
    Thanks again for this great website,
    Glen

Leave a Reply

