A few tiny updates, and a bit of thinking aloud

Sheldon Boyd has a new picture, as does Nicole Evelyn Silvers, and Shaliegh Sharrie Phillips has an updated AP, and Jesse Yancey‘s date of disappearance has been corrected; it had said May 31 but NamUs says it was actually May 28. I’ve also corrected his race; I had said he was white but NamUs says he’s Native American.

Now…is it just me or does Nicole Silvers’s disappearance look kind of suspicious? She was sixteen and the police claimed she was an emancipated minor. To quote this legal site:

A minor who is “emancipated” assumes most adult responsibilities before reaching the age of majority (usually 18). Emancipated minors are no longer considered to be under the care and control of parents — instead, they take responsibility for their own care… If a young person under the age of majority is emancipated, the parent or guardian no longer has any say over the minor’s life. An emancipated minor can keep earnings from a job, decide where to live, make his or her own medical decisions, and more.

In other words, if she was emancipated, Nicole did not need to run away.

There’s a bit of a rub, though — I saw a post on Websleuths from someone who said “According to her parents, Nicole was NOT emancipated.”

I don’t know what means — if she wasn’t emancipated why would the police claim she was? Was she in the process of getting emancipated? Or was it just a completely incorrect statement from the cops/media? I don’t know and I wish someone who does could get in touch with me. I haven’t said anything in Nicole’s profile about the disputed info because “info shared by police to the media” trumps “second-hand statement posted on Websleuths” in my mind.

5 thoughts on “A few tiny updates, and a bit of thinking aloud

  1. Justin August 21, 2016 / 11:24 pm

    I’ve heard of emancipation being reversed when it turns out the kid can’t handle it.

    Does the NCMEC have or has ever had any missing emancipated minors on their site?

    • Meaghan August 22, 2016 / 5:06 am

      Not that I know of, but I don’t know much about a lot of NCMEC cases. Nicole’s is on there.

      Emancipation is legally problematic; to my understanding, it’s a sort of chicken vs. egg thing. You have to be able to show that you can support yourself and make a go at living on your own, but the only way to do that really is to move out and get a job, and your parents can stop you from doing those things. And if your parents do allow you to move out and get a job, why bother to get emancipated?

      When I graduated high school, I was seventeen and a half. My mom told me that a high school graduate was emancipated even if they were under eighteen, but I don’t know for sure if that’s true or not. By the time I turned eighteen I was in Arkansas going to college.

  2. M August 22, 2016 / 1:50 pm

    Colorado does not have an emancipation statute under which minors may petition a court for legal autonomy which would release them from the control and authority of their parents. No independent cause of action exists in Colorado for the emancipation of minors. The issue of emancipation is fact-specific to the situation and applicable law. Issues relating to emancipation may be addressed as part of a separate legal action before the courts such as a dissolution of marriage or child custody case; or directly by the state or local agency providing a service or benefit.

    • Meaghan August 24, 2016 / 5:41 pm

      So…you’re saying people can’t emancipated in Colorado then? Is it possible she got emancipated in another state? What if a minor marries and becomes emancipated by way of marriage, but gets a divorce before they turn 18 — does that mean they become un-emancipated?

  3. Melinda August 24, 2016 / 8:58 pm

    I find the case of Shaliegh Phillips kind of sad, for some reason. It’s hard to believe that she was only 12 years old because she was so tall and looked much older…her hairstyle reminds me of the guy from Flock of Seagulls.

    I wonder why she left home? I wish there was more info on her. Like her parents or whether she had siblings, stuff like that.
    I hope she is still alive and doing well.

Leave a Reply

