MP of the week: Pamela Biggers

This week’s featured missing person is Pamela Pendley Biggers, a 52-year-old woman who disappeared from Panama City Beach, Florida on January 27, 2008. She actually lived in Hueytown, Alabama, a five-hour drive away, but was in Florida on business.

Pamela was under a lot of stress when she disappeared because her son was about to be deployed to Afghanistan. She was actually experiencing some serious signs of mental illness, including auditory hallucinations, and her doctor thought she might have developed schizophrenia or bipolar disorder, but Pamela refused to see a psychiatrist.

If she had in fact only just gotten bipolar disorder or schizophrenia, her case was highly unusual; those illnesses usually develop in the late adolescent or early adult years, and Pamela was middle-aged. That said, it’s not completely unheard of for a person to start manifesting symptoms later in life. It’s also possible that, if Pamela did have one of those illnesses, she had been dealing with symptoms for a lot longer than is supposed. I was diagnosed with severe depression at 23; two years later, my doctor changed his mind and decided I was actually bipolar. In fact, I’d been dealing with symptoms since I was a child and just did a good job of hiding it.

In any case, Pamela must obviously be considered an at-risk missing person. There were some leads placing her in Ohio after she disappeared, but I haven’t found a whole lot of news about this. The most recent article I could find is two years old.

3 thoughts on “MP of the week: Pamela Biggers

  1. Kat July 26, 2016 / 9:02 pm

    I remember when this happened, at that point they thought they would find her fairly quickly. I thought so as well. Now it seems she could have hitched out of the area or could be homeless somewhere. I hope she wasn’t picked up and harmed. As for her purported mental illness, there’s an exception to every rule, maybe she was it. Or it could have been something like a bad reaction to her medication. At any rate, it would be nice for her family to have some idea of what happened to her. It is odd she just vanished without the desk clerk seeing her…………

  2. Melinda July 26, 2016 / 9:14 pm

    Poor lady…the mental and emotional strain was probably too much for her to deal with. I’ve suffered with severe depression AND bipolar disorder for more than twenty years.

    There is still an enormous stigma against people with mental illness, and it is rarely treated with compassion and understanding.
    I had a so-called “therapist” be very cruel to me during a few sessions and I decided not to continue with treatment if I would have to deal with that.

    I feel that Pamela is possibly still alive but maybe she doesn’t want to be found. Or it’s possible that her illness is so advanced at this point, that she doesn’t even remember who she is. She could have even developed amnesia after a while. Her case is somewhat similar to that of Jim Kimball, a guy who went missing in 1993 after he showed symptoms of mental illness, much like you described Pamela.

    Some people have claimed to see Jim in different parts of the country but this can’t be verified. So maybe the same is true of Pamela. All we can do is hope that she is alive and safe, wherever she may be.

  3. diamondlil16 July 31, 2016 / 3:45 am

    I also remember when she first went missing. Someone had posted her missing person poster on rhe front doors of my local CVS. My local news carried the story frequently in the first few weeks. Some cases and faces just leave an imprint in my heart and my memory. She is one of them.

Leave a Reply

