MP of the week: Judith Osteen

This week’s featured missing person is Judith Dunton Osteen, a 60-year-old woman who disappeared from Old Town, Florida ten days before Christmas in 2007. Judith shared a home with her sister, who said she witnessed Judith being forcibly abducted by a strange man in the middle of the night.

The sister stayed in her bedroom for several hours afterwards, too scared to even call 911, and the abduction wasn’t reported until the housekeeper arrived in the morning. All things being equal, I would be suspicious of that story, but all things aren’t equal: Judith’s sister was developmentally disabled. I don’t know any details about how high-functioning she was, but I know that even high-functioning people with intellectual/developmental disabilities kind of fall apart in stressful situations.

There seems to be no obvious reason why Judith was taken from her home, though. It’s a strange case. I wish I knew more about it.

4 thoughts on “MP of the week: Judith Osteen

  1. Kat July 13, 2016 / 9:27 pm

    As in many cases, there’s a hell of a lot left unsaid. What happened to the sister? Were the relatives of the property investigated? Etc. etc. There are so many of these cases I go over and I’m astonished at how little is known. On the other hand…….shout out/props/awesome to whatever demographic I’m talking to now…….in just a few days, the case of Sandra Hopper was fleshed out to the point it was amazing. That is one example. Thanks to all of you who get curious and check things out. Many others have been described better too, over the years. I’m NOT speaking for Meaghan, I’m speaking for myself and long standing exhaustion that no one care….but I guess ya’ll do. What a wonderful thing.

    • Meaghan July 15, 2016 / 9:18 am

      I’m not even sure Judith’s sister is still alive. She was older than Judith, and Judith would be 69 now, so it’s possible her sister has passed away. I don’t know how to find out for sure because I don’t know the sister’s name.

      • lz July 15, 2016 / 10:09 am

        She was alive c. Feb 2008, because they interviewed her again, I found some people that might be her, but they were younger than Judith.

  2. Lucrezia July 15, 2016 / 2:07 pm

    On Websleuths there is a person nicknamed Mioyshi that seems to be Judith’s daugters friend. I assume they would know if the sister is still alive

Leave a Reply

