Charley is global on Facebook

The Charley Project’s Facebook page now has 6,698 “likes” as of this writing. I post whatever news I can find on MP cold cases there, including cases my actual database doesn’t have, and cases from outside the US. In fact many days I post more foreign news than American news.

I decided to check out the people that have “liked” me and record where they’re from, if I can find out. And here are the countries I found until the list got too long and Facebook basically didn’t want to deal with it anymore and stopped loading:

Australia, Belize, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, El Salvador, Estonia, France, Germany, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Macedonia, Mexico, Myanmar, Nepal, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, the United Kingdom, all fifty states in the United States plus Washington D.C., and Zimbabwe.

I am ludicrously proud of this. So many countries from all over the world, including many where English is not commonly spoken or the population is small (Grenada for example has only 100,000 people and change). So I thought I’d brag about it on here.

28 thoughts on “Charley is global on Facebook

    • Anne Knudsen June 16, 2016 / 5:53 am

      And from Denmark !

  1. Anne Knudsen June 16, 2016 / 5:51 am

    And from Denmark too !
    🙂

  2. Emma l June 16, 2016 / 5:54 am

    Hello from the UK

  3. Jessica June 16, 2016 / 8:51 am

    I used to live in the Netherlands, and have friends all around the world. Glad to share your posts whenever I can.

  4. hennylee June 16, 2016 / 10:19 am

    Hello from Massachusetts!! LOL that sounds really unexciting!

  5. Anka June 16, 2016 / 3:42 pm

    And greetings also from a Slovenian who currently lives in Wales…

    • Meaghan June 16, 2016 / 9:56 pm

      For my around the world book challenge for Slovenia I read “Forbidden Bread” by Erica Debeljak. She was an American who decided to give up her country, her culture, her language, her family, her friends, her career, etc etc etc to move to Slovenia and marry their poet laureate. Amazingly, it worked out. They still live quite happily in Ljubljana and have a few kids.

      One thing I particularly remember from the book is how after their first baby was born, the paternal grandmother insisted that it wear, like, five diapers at once.

      • Anka June 17, 2016 / 2:44 am

        Mrs Debeljak’s husband died in January this year, in a car accident. A very sad thing.

        I remember her writing about the cultural differences when bringing up a baby – she had the baby barefoot and everyone was saying to put some socks on him!

      • Meaghan June 17, 2016 / 5:13 am

        Oh, I hadn’t heard. How awful. They seemed to have had such a wonderful marriage.

        In college I knew a Slovenian student. (Embarrassingly, I got her country mixed up with Slovakia.) She once asked me to check over a paper she wrote about Madame Bovary, for mistakes in the English. The paper was perfect but for one small error: she wrote “neutral orgasms” instead of “mutual orgasms.” We both had a good laugh over that.

  6. Kat June 16, 2016 / 4:00 pm

    You should be proud, very proud, of what you’ve accomplished and how many people are benefiting from it! How amazing to see how far you’ve reached. Many congrats, and hello from PA, USA. Also unexciting, though you have no idea how exciting life can be with kids on summer vacation……..hahahaha.

  7. Lauren June 16, 2016 / 4:47 pm

    Greetings from California! You do great work Meaghan!

  8. Anonymous June 16, 2016 / 8:31 pm

    You have viewers from Zimbabwe? Under Robert Mugabe’s regime, that is pretty surprising.

    • Meaghan June 16, 2016 / 9:04 pm

      Just one that I could see. And he was Anglo. White guy with European sounding name.

    • Meaghan June 17, 2016 / 5:35 am

      I was a lot more surprised to see the Iraqi guy. You would think he would be a bit preoccupied at the moment.

  9. Reo Watanabe June 17, 2016 / 2:11 am

    Konnichiwa from Japan!

    One question, though. Do you know anything about Charley blocking specific ISPs, specifically UCOM/Arteria Network? When I try to access Charley from my house I can’t access it so I have to use Wayback Archives or Google cache.

    • Meaghan June 17, 2016 / 5:14 am

      No, but I will check with my host and get back to you.

    • Meaghan June 18, 2016 / 5:53 am

      Here’s what he said:

      Its possible that their network is being blocked. I would have to know their IP to investigate. Ask them to go to http://www.whatismyip.com and send it to me and I’ll look into it for you.

      Don O’Neil
      Lizard Hill Hosting
      http://www.lizardhill.com

      • Reo Watanabe June 19, 2016 / 4:06 am

        I could not access Lizard Hill for some reason (maybe because of the same reason why I can’t access Charley?), but I can say that my IP address is 221.248.82.229. My IP address does fluctuate a little, but overall they are under the same ISP (UCOM/Arteria).

        Again, thank you for your help.

      • Meaghan June 19, 2016 / 10:57 am

        I emailed Don your IP and told him you couldn’t access the Lizard Hill site either.

      • Meaghan June 19, 2016 / 2:00 pm

        His reply: “We’re not blocking that IP, it looks like her ISP is blocking us. She would have to contact her ISP to find out why they are blocking our IP range. Our IP range is 64.27.2.113-64.27.2.120.”

      • Reo Watanabe June 19, 2016 / 11:07 pm

        Just contacted my ISP. They didn’t seem to know what was causing the issue since they said that they never block any websites.

        (I think I should clarify that I am a guy)

  10. Aire June 17, 2016 / 3:02 am

    Hello from Switzerland!

    • diamondlil16 June 17, 2016 / 4:34 am

      Greetings from Alabama the Beautiful! My dad’s father’s family came from Eggiwil and settled in Missouri. In fact this month the family reunion is held in Boonville, Mo.

      Btw, if all your Facebook friends Meaghan would be so kind to mention a reminder to NEVER leave pets and children in hot cars, it would be much appreciated. We are having terrible heat indexes almost nationwide.

    • Meaghan June 17, 2016 / 5:33 am

      Aire, I have a friend who is ludicrously capitalist and libertarian and uses your country as an example of a terrible place to live. And I’m like, “So then why are they richer and healthier than us?”

  11. Maryse June 17, 2016 / 5:39 pm

    Avid reader of Charley project whilst I lived in Canada and continued once I moved to the UK.

  12. Rieke June 18, 2016 / 4:45 am

    Greetings from the Netherlands!!

Leave a Reply

