Tips on Facebook

People send me “tips” about cases all the time, mostly through email. I really wish they wouldn’t. I try to actively discourage people from doing this, for obvious reasons, but what can you do?

I got a really intriguing private message on Charley’s Facebook page last night, though, that I did feel compelled to pass on to the NCMEC. A woman from Mexico, whose English wasn’t terribly good, sent me a series of messages saying she had found a missing boy in Mexico. He’s been missing for nine years. She said she’d also found his mother — where, she didn’t say, whether the mom was with him or what.

All of this is not very much by itself: she didn’t even say WHERE in Mexico this kid supposedly is. But intriguingly, the woman attached a series of what appear to be current photos of this young man.

I called the NCMEC and told them about it, and they actually had me email them all the photos and stuff. I hope something comes of this.

3 thoughts on “Tips on Facebook

  1. Aire June 7, 2016 / 10:56 am

    Is there a way for you to make it so that when someone clicks to email you, a pop up box shows up with a reminder and in all caps “DO NOT EMAIL IF YOU HAVE TIPS” or something like that, and they can click either “agree” or “disagree” and if they click “agree” it’ll lead them to the email page. If disagree, back to the home page. I’ve come across a few websites with this type of feature. Maybe have the short text in one or two languages too.

  2. Aire June 7, 2016 / 10:57 am

    Oh wait, I forgot that this post was about tips on Facebook, so it looks like my idea won’t be able to work. Yikes!

  3. Anastasia June 9, 2016 / 10:00 am

    For those that have tips obviously they should go to the contact information on the project page to give them. Was thinking that you might want to do a header for both the blog and the project to remind people of that. Maybe just for a little while if you are getting tons of tips right now. I love headers…can always change or remove them. The flashing red ones always catch my eye. Might be something to consider. On the flip side it is nice that people are caring enough to even reach out on tips. Seems like sometimes people just go “oh, well.”

Leave a Reply

