Some news in Chance Wackerhagen’s disappearance

Per this article, the police no longer believe Chance Wackerhagen‘s father, Lee “Dub” Wackerhagen Jr., murdered his live-in girlfriend and then abducted Chance. The two have been missing since Christmas 1993, after Lee’s girlfriend, Latricia White, was found shot to death in her home. At present, Lee is listed as Chance’s abductor in his casefile. But the cops have a new theory, that someone else killed Latricia and that Lee and Chance also met with foul play.

That’s something I had considered myself, because it seems like those two dropped off the face of the earth. I didn’t think Lee had the kind of skills and resources necessary to keep himself and his son off the radar for so long when he was wanted for murder, and it seems like Chance would have found some way to call home if he could have. (And perhaps he did. See casefile.) I thought both of them had probably died a very short time after Latricia did, but I didn’t know if it was a murder-suicide situation or if another person altogether had been involved.

Now that I have the police endorsing this new theory, I’m not really sure how best to update Chance’s casefile. Should I make a whole new casefile for Lee as a missing person in his own right, do you think?

The article also has a color version of my previous black-and-white photo of Chance. I have replaced the photo accordingly.

10 thoughts on “Some news in Chance Wackerhagen’s disappearance

  1. forthelost May 18, 2016 / 9:03 pm

    This is the first time it’s ever come up, but I thankfully addressed it in my FAQ. Chance will be taken off the site with a note.

  2. JoLayne Ward May 18, 2016 / 10:21 pm

    I don’t think Lee and/or Chance should be removed as missing persons. There’s no proof they’re dead so they should still be considered as “missing” until there’s something to prove otherwise.

    • Meaghan May 18, 2016 / 10:37 pm

      I’m not thinking of removing anything, I’m thinking if I should add a casefile now for Lee. Right now it’s only Chance I have listed as missing.

    • forthelost May 19, 2016 / 12:09 am

      I’m removing him from my site because he was listed as a family abduction. He doesn’t fit in any other category, and if the police now say he wasn’t abducted, I’ll take their word for it.

  3. Celeste Keenan May 18, 2016 / 11:39 pm

    Yes you should. Chance and Lee’s case should be listed as either an “Endangered Missing” or a “Lost/Injured Missing.”

  4. hennylee May 19, 2016 / 10:46 am

    I would think that Lee should also have a case file. Seeing as it is a good chance that he too may have met with foul play. If an UID ever comes to be it would be a reference point. Just my two cents 🙂

  5. diamondlil16 May 20, 2016 / 11:03 am

    I agree with the others to make a new case thread for the father Lee, as well as updating Chance’s case file with the new info from the investigation. Considering it involves a cold case homicide and two missing persons with the case being reexamined, it’s noteworthy for mentioning in your Twitter and Facebook page too Meaghan.
    It may help generate new tips. I’m sorry that forthelost doesn’t consider this opportunity.

    • forthelost May 21, 2016 / 11:14 am

      He’s no longer a family abduction, isn’t a case file (and his case is pretty open and shut, so no need to make one), his case is open, and he’s on NCMEC. Chance doesn’t fit into any of the site categories, so I can’t leave him up.

  6. Dew wood May 20, 2016 / 6:40 pm

    Yeah I would do one on Lee also. He’s just as missing.

  7. Kat May 24, 2016 / 11:50 pm

    Commenting well after the fact, but I saw this a bit ago and all I have to say is they are a little late on the pick up, yeah? Very sparse article on WHY they now, 23 years later, think that it could be anything different. Off topic in more old cases, Calvin Harris has been cleared, again, and Drew Peterson may have admitted to killing his wife. Fodder for updates at least…

Leave a Reply

