A Facebook messaging convo

A few days ago I got a message from a stranger via the Charley Project’s Facebook page. It was a link to a Facebook page set up to publicize a certain missing person. He asked me to post it on Charley’s Facebook timeline.

The thing is, I had already become aware of that particular page and had posted it about a week or two before. I did not post it again, and because I am terrible at correspondence, I did not write to the person explaining that I had already posted it.

Last night I got another message from him. He was seriously PO’ed. He chastised me for not either posting the link or replying to his previous message and said, “I guess only certain missing people matter to you.” This was, I believe, a reference to this particular MP’s troubled past. She was involved with prostitution and hard drugs, and her kids were in foster care, and when she disappeared her family didn’t report it for months because she’d dropped out of sight so many times before.

What a jerk, I thought, and replied to his message explaining I had already posted the link and giving him the date I had posted it.

He immediately replied with a sincere apology for being a jackass. (It was partially my fault too; I should’ve told him I’d already posted the link.) It turns out this man was actually the cop assigned to investigate this woman’s disappearance. He’s been working her case for about a year and is using all avenues to try to find her, and had set up the Facebook page himself, and even got the local newspaper to run a feature article on her case.

My annoyance was immediately replaced with a certain mushy feeling.

I know a lot of people who disappear have problems in their lives, and I’ve seen a lot of times where families complain that because of said problems, the cops are prejudiced against the MP and aren’t doing anything to find them. But this particular officer is doing everything he could think of to find this woman, really going above and beyond the call of duty to be honest. He didn’t HAVE to set up a Facebook page. He didn’t HAVE to ask the press to publicize the case. But he’s trying to give her what she deserves, what every MP deserves, no matter what they’ve done or what sort of person they were.

4 thoughts on “A Facebook messaging convo

  1. Kat May 12, 2016 / 1:15 pm

    And he didn’t HAVE to act like a jerk, either. Seriously unprofessional, and if he knew anything about you or this site, or bothered to, he wouldn’t have acted like that. He sounds like the cops around here, who’ve been investigated by the headquarters of the SP, and yet still act like they are on a major power trip.

    • Meaghan May 12, 2016 / 1:18 pm

      I’m just glad he is basically fighting for this woman, even if he was a jerk about it. And he did apologize immediately when he found out I had in fact done what he asked.

  2. diamondlil16 May 13, 2016 / 12:11 am

    Glad things were smoothed over and that he did go to the effort to create one. I’m glad more police departments and agencies are adding missing persons to their own home sites. Speaking of Facebook, I don’t have an account, so I can’t go back to see older entries, even from earlier in the same month for Charley. Is that something that can be changed Meaghan, without me having to have an account?

  3. Peter Henderson Jr. May 13, 2016 / 10:43 am

    Meaghan,

    Given the state of social media today, I suspect the detective had never read your reports, but knows plenty about online social media comments, and felt you were just one of those opinionated people who love to trash folks without adding anything useful.

Leave a Reply

